APPLICATION FOR A CERTIFIED COPY— MICHIGAN DEATH RECORD
Michigan Department of Health and Human Services

PART 1 — APPLICANT INFORMATION (PERSON FILLING OUT THIS FORM)

Applicant’s

First Name Middle Last

Mailing

Address City State Zip

Daytime Phone w/ area code *Required Email

PART 2 - DEATH INFORMATION (TO LOCATE RECORD ON FILE)

The name of the person on record and year of death are required in order to complete the search. Do not leave these areas
blank. If the month and day of death are unknown, we will search the entire year you provide. If you need additional years
searched, please see Part 5 for fee information.

NAME OF DECEASED

(at time of death) First Middle Last

DATE OF BIRTH DATE OF DEATH

(mm/dd/year) (mm/dd/year)

DECEDENT'S

PLACE OF DEATH City County State

DECEDENT’S DECEDENT’S SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER
SEX Male O Female O - _

ANY SPELLING VARIATIONS
OF DECEDENT’S NAME

DECEDENT'S PARENT’'S NAME DECEDENT'S PARENT'S NAME

First Middle Last First Middle Last
DECEDENT’S
PLACE OF BIRTH City County State

PART 3 - PURPOSE OF REQUEST ‘
PART 4 — APPLICANT SIGNATURE (PERSON FILLING OUT THIS FORM)

By signing, | understand | am agreeing to pay for a search of State of Michigan Vital Records. This does not guarantee that
a record will be found. Falsifying an application for a vital record and/or assuming the identity of another person is subject to
criminal penalties. Per MCL 333.2894(b) and 445.65.

Your Signature:

(Must be original in ink, by hand) Date:
PART 5 - PAYMENT Application Fee includes one Certified Copy or a No-Find Letter
Base Fee (Includes one year search)

Must check one > 0 Short Form O Long Form $34.00 $
(without medical info.) (with medical info.)

Additional Years to Search

(If exact death year is unknown) Specify Years $12.00 per year | $
Additional Certified Copies Specify Quantity $16.00 each $

o ” . Reduces in-office time. -
Expedited “Rush” Processing (Does not affect mail time to/from our office) $12.00 additional | $
CHECK or MONEY ORDER made out to the “State of Michigan” Total Amount $
(Request will not be processed if payment is not included in envelope) Enclosed

SEE NEXT PAGE FOR PROCESSING TIMES AND MAILING ADDRESS




REQUESTING A MICHIGAN DEATH RECORD

The Michigan Vital Records Office has records of deaths that occurred in Michigan and were filed with the state since 1867.
Some records were not filed with the state; some records are missing from the pre-1906 files. Death records are not restricted
documents in Michigan. Anyone can request that a search be conducted if the application is completed, signed, and submitted
with the required fee paid.

Short Form versus Long Form — A short form record includes pertinent facts of who is deceased, when and where the death
occurred, but no medical information or manner of death. A long form record includes the full death registration including the
medical conditions reported and other circumstances which led to death.

PROCESSING TIMES FOR MAILED REQUESTS

REGULAR SEARCH
Approximately 4 to 6 weeks of in-office processing time, depending on volume of requests received. Then sent via regular mail.

EXPEDITED “RUSH” SEARCH
Approximately 2 to 3 weeks of in-office processing time, depending on volume of requests received. Then sent via regular mail.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION: Results are sent USPS First Class Mail, Pre-Paid envelopes will NOT be accepted
If you find that the above processing times do not meet your needs, please visit www.michigan.gov/vitalrecords or call our
Eligibility Unit at 517-335-8666 to speak with a customer service representative about available options.

MAIL APPLICATION (WITH CHECK OR MONEY ORDER)

REGULAR MAIL TO: RUSH MAIL TO:
Vital Records Requests Vital Records RUSH
P.O. Box 30721 P.O. Box 30721
Lansing MI 48909 Lansing MI 48909

ALTERNATIVE ORDERING OPTIONS

ONLINE or PHONE

To place an order through our authorized service provider, VitalChek, visit www.michigan.gov/vitalrecords or

call 866-443-9897. Michigan Vital Records orders placed through VitalChek have Regular, Expedited, Will-Call pickup and
Expedited + UPS delivery options available. Pricing will vary when ordering online or by phone and will include VitalChek’s
processing fee. A credit or debit card is required for payment at the time of ordering.

The Michigan Department of Health and Human Services (MDHHS) does not discriminate against any individual or group because of race, religion, age,
national origin, color, height, weight, marital status, genetic information, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity or expression, political belief, or disability.
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