APPLICATION FOR A CERTIFIED COPY— MICHIGAN DIVORCE RECORD
Michigan Department of Health and Human Services

PART 1 — APPLICANT INFORMATION (PERSON FILLING OUT THIS FORM)

Applicant’s

First Name Middle Last

Mailing

Address City State Zip

Daytime Phone w/ area code *Required Email

PART 2 — DIVORCE INFORMATION (TO LOCATE RECORD ON FILE)

The names of both spouses and year of divorce are required in order to complete the search. Do not leave these areas blank.
If the month and day of divorce are unknown, we will search the entire year you provide. If you need additional years searched,
please see Part 5 for fee information.
DATE OF DIVORCE Month: Day: Year:
SPOUSE A) Male O Female O SPOUSE B) Male O Female O
Full Name at time of application for Divorce or Annulment Full Name at time of application for Divorce or Annulment

First Middle Last First Middle Last
PARENT/MOTHER’S NAME PARENT/MOTHER’S NAME

First Middle Last First Middle Last
PARENT/FATHER'S NAME PARENT/FATHER’'S NAME

First Middle Last First Middle Last
COUNTY where Divorce or Annulment was granted

PART 3 - PURPOSE OF REQUEST
PART 4 — APPLICANT SIGNATURE (PERSON FILLING OUT THIS FORM)

By signing, | understand | am agreeing to pay for a search of State of Michigan Vital Records. This does not guarantee that
a record will be found. Falsifying an application for a vital record and/or assuming the identity of another person is subject to
criminal penalties. Per MCL 333.2894(b) and 445.65.

Your Signature:
(Must be original in ink, by hand) Date:

PART 5 - PAYMENT Application Fee includes one Certified Copy or a No-Find Letter

Base Fee (Includes one year search) $34.00 $
Additional Years to Search .

(If exact divorce year is unknown) Specify Years $12.00 per year $
Additional Certified Copies Specify Quantity $16.00 each $

o » ; Reduces in-office time. "

Expedited "Rush” Processing (Does not affect mail time to/from our office) $12.00 additional | $
CHECK or MONEY ORDER made out to the “State of Michigan” Total Amount $
(Request will not be processed if payment is not included in envelope) Enclosed

SEE NEXT PAGE FOR PROCESSING TIMES AND MAILING ADDRESS




REQUESTING A MICHIGAN DIVORCE RECORD

The Michigan Vital Records Office has records of divorces that occurred in Michigan and were filed with the state since 1897.
Some records were not filed with the state. Divorce records are not restricted documents in Michigan. Anyone can request
that a search be conducted if the application is completed, signed, and submitted with the required fee paid. NOTE: The State
of Michigan will only have the record of divorce. If you need the actual judgement, contact the county where divorce occurred.

PROCESSING TIMES FOR MAILED REQUESTS

REGULAR SEARCH

Approximately 4 to 6 weeks of in-office processing time, depending on volume of requests received. Then sent via regular mail.
EXPEDITED “RUSH” SEARCH

Approximately 2 to 3 weeks of in-office processing time, depending on volume of requests received. Then sent via regular mail.
ADDITIONAL INFORMATION: Results are sent USPS First Class Mail, Pre-Paid envelopes will NOT be accepted

If you find that the above processing times do not meet your needs, please visit www.michigan.gov/vitalrecords or call our
Eligibility Unit at 517-335-8666 to speak with a customer service representative about available options.

MAIL APPLICATION (WITH CHECK OR MONEY ORDER)

REGULAR MAIL TO: RUSH MAIL TO:
Vital Records Requests Vital Records RUSH
P.O. Box 30721 P.O. Box 30721
Lansing MI 48909 Lansing MI 48909

ALTERNATIVE ORDERING OPTIONS

ONLINE or PHONE

To place an order through our authorized service provider, VitalChek, visit www.michigan.govl/vitalrecords or

call 866-443-9897. Michigan Vital Records orders placed through VitalChek have Regular, Expedited, Will-Call pickup and
Expedited + UPS delivery options available. Pricing will vary when ordering online or by phone and will include VitalChek’s
processing fee. A credit or debit card is required for payment at the time of ordering.

The Michigan Department of Health and Human Services (MDHHS) does not discriminate against any individual or group because of race, religion, age,
national origin, color, height, weight, marital status, genetic information, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity or expression, political belief, or disability.
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