
 
 

APPLICATION FOR APOSTILLED/AUTHENTICATED COPY— MICHIGAN DIVORCE RECORD  
Michigan Department of Health and Human Services 

 
 

PART 1 – APPLICANT INFORMATION (PERSON FILLING OUT THIS FORM) 
 

Applicant’s 
First Name ____________________________ Middle ____________________ Last ______________________________ 
 

Mailing  
Address _____________________________________ City _____________________ State _______ Zip _____________ 
 

Daytime Phone w/ area code *Required ________________________ Email ____________________________________     
 

PART 2 – DIVORCE INFORMATION (TO LOCATE RECORD ON FILE) 
The names of both spouses and year of divorce are required in order to complete the search. Do not leave these areas blank. 
If the month and day of divorce are unknown, we will search the entire year you provide. If you need additional years searched, 
please see Part 6 for fee information. 

DATE OF DIVORCE                       Month:                             Day:                                Year: 

SPOUSE A)                  Male  □        Female  □  
Full Name at time of application for Divorce or Annulment  
 
 
           First                          Middle                            Last 

SPOUSE B)                  Male  □        Female  □  
Full Name at time of application for Divorce or Annulment  
 
 
           First                          Middle                            Last 

 

PARENT/MOTHER’S NAME  
 
 
           First                          Middle                            Last 

 

PARENT/MOTHER’S NAME  
 
 
           First                          Middle                            Last 

 

PARENT/FATHER’S NAME  
 
 
           First                          Middle                            Last 

 

PARENT/FATHER’S NAME  
 
 
           First                          Middle                            Last 

 

COUNTY where Divorce or Annulment was granted                  

 

PART 3 – COUNTRY OF USE REQUIRED  

Apostille/Authentication is for use outside of the U.S.  
 

PART 4 – PURPOSE OF REQUEST  
 

PART 5 – APPLICANT SIGNATURE (PERSON FILLING OUT THIS FORM) 
 

By signing, I understand I am agreeing to pay for a search of State of Michigan Vital Records. This does not guarantee that 
a record will be found. Falsifying an application for a vital record and/or assuming the identity of another person is subject to 
criminal penalties. Per MCL 333.2894(b) and 445.65. 
 

Your Signature: 
(Must be original in ink, by hand) ______________________________________________________  Date: _______________ 
 
 

PART 6 – PAYMENT                    Application Fee includes one Certified Copy or a No-Find Letter 
Base Fee (Includes one year search) $42.00 $ 
Additional Years to Search  
(If exact divorce year is unknown) Specify Years _____  _____  _____  _____ $12.00 per year $ 

Additional Apostilled Copies Specify Quantity ________ $26.00 each $ 

Expedited “Rush” Processing Reduces in-office time. 
(Does not affect mail time to/from our office) $25.00 additional $ 

CHECK or MONEY ORDER made out to the “State of Michigan”  
(Request will not be processed if payment is not included in envelope) 

Total Amount 
Enclosed $ 

 
 

SEE NEXT PAGE FOR PROCESSING TIMES AND MAILING ADDRESS 
 



 
 
 
 
 

REQUESTING A MICHIGAN DIVORCE RECORD 
The Michigan Vital Records Office has records of divorces that occurred in Michigan and were filed with the state since 1897. 
Some records were not filed with the state. Divorce records are not restricted documents in Michigan. Anyone can request 
that a search be conducted if the application is completed, signed, and submitted with the required fee paid. NOTE: The State 
of Michigan will only have the record of divorce. If you need the actual judgement, contact the county where divorce occurred. 

 
 

PROCESSING TIMES FOR MAILED REQUESTS 
REGULAR SEARCH 
Approximately 4 to 6 weeks of in-office processing at MDHHS, plus an additional 1 to 2 weeks at the Secretary of State’s 
Office of the Great Seal. Then sent via regular mail. Completion time may vary, depending on volume of requests received. 

EXPEDITED “RUSH” SEARCH 
Approximately 2 to 3 weeks of in-office processing at MDHHS, plus an additional 1 to 2 weeks at the Secretary of State’s 
Office of the Great Seal. Then sent via regular mail. 

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION: Results are sent USPS First Class Mail, Pre-Paid envelopes will NOT be accepted 
If you find that the above processing times do not meet your needs, please visit www.michigan.gov/vitalrecords or call our 
Eligibility Unit at 517-335-8666 to speak with a customer service representative about available options. 
 

MAIL APPLICATION (WITH CHECK OR MONEY ORDER) 
 

REGULAR MAIL TO: 
Vital Records Requests 

P.O. Box 30721 
Lansing MI 48909 

RUSH MAIL TO: 
Vital Records RUSH 

P.O. Box 30721 
Lansing MI 48909 

 
 

ALTERNATIVE ORDERING OPTIONS 
ONLINE or PHONE  
To place an order through our authorized service provider, VitalChek, visit www.michigan.gov/vitalrecords or  
call 866-443-9897. Michigan Vital Records orders placed through VitalChek have Regular, Expedited, and Expedited + UPS 
delivery options available. Pricing will vary when ordering online or by phone and will include VitalChek’s processing fee. A 
credit or debit card is required for payment at the time of ordering. 
 

 
 
 
The Michigan Department of Health and Human Services (MDHHS) does not discriminate against any individual or group because of race, religion, age, 
national origin, color, height, weight, marital status, genetic information, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity or expression, political belief, or disability.  
 
DCH-0569-DIV-AUTH (Rev. 02/2025) By Authority of MCL 333.2882(1)(a)(b) and MCL 333.2891(1-4) (8)  
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