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 The Wage and Hour Division is currently 28 people under the 
Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs who administer 
4 Michigan statutes:

 The Payment of Wages and Fringe Benefits Act, Public Act 
390 of 1978, as amended

 The Workforce Opportunity Wage Act, Public Act 138 of 
2014, as amended, Michigan’s minimum wage and overtime 
law (MWL)

 Act 166 Prevailing Wages on State Funded Construction 
Projects 

 The Human Trafficking Notification Act Public Act 62 of 
2016, as amended

Who Are We?
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Services Provided by Wage and Hour

Claim investigations and collecting wages that are found 
due  

Providing free publications in English, Spanish, and 
Arabic on our website or by mail 

Answering  general information phone calls and emails 

Speaking Engagements

Educational Contacts to inform employers and 
employees about the requirements of Acts enforced by 
the Wage and Hour Division. 



C  U  S  T  O  M  E  R    D  R  I  V  E  N.     B  U  S  I  N  E  S  S    M  I  N  D  E  D.

Act 390
The Payment of Wages and Fringe Benefits Act

Applies to most Michigan employees

Regulates the payment of hourly, salary, piece rate, and 
commission wages on a regular basis: weekly, biweekly, 
semimonthly, or monthly

Governs payment of certain fringe benefits; vacation, 
sick pay, holiday pay, bonuses and authorized expenses  
as specified in written contracts or written policies
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Act 390 Continued

Allows payment of wages via U.S. currency, negotiable 
check or money order, and, when certain conditions are 
met, direct deposit or payroll debit card

Allows deductions authorized by law including taxes and 
court ordered garnishments, collective bargaining 
agreement, or employee’s written consent

Employers may deduct an overpayment without written 
consent under certain conditions

Prohibits an employer from receiving payment from an 
employee as a condition of or for continued 
employment
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Act 390 Continued

Mandates an employee receive a retainable pay 
statement at the time of payment indicating hours 
worked, gross wages paid, an itemization of deductions, 
and earning period

Requires employers maintain records for 3 years which 
indicate employee’s name, address, birthdate, 
classification, pay rate, total hours worked each pay 
period, total wages paid and a fringe benefit itemization

Provides protection for employees who file a claim or 
exercise a right protected by Act 390
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Generally Applies to:

 Employers who employ 2 or more persons 16 years 
old and older

 Individuals of employers covered by the FLSA when 
state requirement is stricter than federal requirement

Rate is $9.25 effective 1/1/2018 

Act 138 (MWL)
The Workforce Opportunity Wage Act
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Act 138 (MWL)
The Workforce Opportunity Wage Act

Every January beginning in January 2019, the state treasurer shall adjust
the minimum wage by an amount determined by the state treasurer based
on the consumer price index and the unemployment rate.

Wage and Hour shall post the adjusted minimum wage on its website by
February 1 of the year it is calculated, and the adjusted rate is effective
beginning April 1 of that year. An annual increase under this subsection
shall not exceed 3.5%.

An increase in the minimum hourly wage rate as prescribed in subsection
(2) does not take effect if the unemployment rate determined by the
bureau of labor statistics, United States department of labor, for this state
is 8.5% or greater for the year preceding the year of the prescribed
increase.
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Permits a youth subminimum wage equal to 85% of the 
minimum wage rate for employees 16 and 17 years of 
age; $7.86/hour effective 1/1/2018

Federal minimum wage is $7.25/hour which is less than 
the state subminimum wage for minors 16 and 17 years 
of age (apply stricter standard if covered by both 
federal and state minimum wage)

Allows tipped employees, such as wait staff, to be paid 
$3.52 /hour effective 1/1/2018 if they report in writing 
receiving tips that when added to their hourly wage 
equals minimum wage

Act 138 (MWL) Continued
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Act 138 (MWL) Continued

Permits a $4.25/hour training wage during the first 90 
days of employment for new hires 16-19 years of age

Requires an overtime rate, 1½ times the regular rate of 
pay, for hours worked in excess of 40 in a 7-day 
workweek by nonexempt employees

Requires 3 year retention of daily time records, 
including starting and ending times, computed to the 
nearest 10th of an hour (6 minutes) or finer measure

Mandates worksite posting of the General Requirements 
Poster
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Maintain records for 3 years:

 Employee name, address, and birthdate

 Occupation/classification and rate of pay

 Daily time records with starting and ending times 
to 10th of hour ( 6 minutes) or smaller increment

 Total hours worked each pay period

 Total wages paid each pay period

 Itemization of deductions

Record Keeping
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 Itemization of fringe benefits including written agreements

 Signed, dated tip statements each pay period

 Signed, written deduction authorizations

 Posting Requirements:

General Requirements – Minimum Wage

Record Keeping Continued and Posting
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 Claims for investigation are accepted under the  acts:

 Within 12-months of alleged violation under the Payment of 
Wages and Fringe Benefits Act

 Within 3 years of alleged violation under the Michigan 
minimum wage and overtime law

 Anonymous complaints are not accepted under Acts 390 and 
Act 138 

 A claim may be filed electronically online at 
www.michigan.gov/wageclaim or a form may be obtained at 
www.michigan.gov/wagehour or by calling Wage and Hour at 
855-4MI-WAGE (855-464-9243)

Claim Filing

http://www.michigan.gov/wagehour
http://www.michigan.gov/wagehour
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Claim Filing Continued

Approximately 4,000 claims are received annually

Claims are investigated on a first in/first out basis

Records are requested from both parties so maintain 
your own time record and tip statements, retain your 
paystubs, and submit them along with written 
agreements and other relevant information at the time 
of claim filing

On average 79% of claims are investigated within 90 
days and 87% of them are resolved informally

More than 2 million dollars per year is collected on 
behalf of Michigan workers
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Entities required to post Act 62 effective July 4, 2016

 Rest Stop and Welcome Centers

 Bus and rail transportation

 Public Airports

 Adult Entertainment establishments 

 Any entity that has been found by a court to constitute a 
public nuisance due to acts of prostitution or human 
trafficking
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 Be in English and Spanish, any other language deemed 
appropriate by the Department

 Be available for free on Wage and Hour Division website 

 A civil penalty may be accessed if required entity does not 
display poster

 Goal is to make sure poster is displayed where required 

Act 62 required poster 
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“If you or someone you know is being forced to 
engage in any activity and cannot leave, whether the 
activity is commercial sex, housework, farm work, or 
any other activity, please contact the National 
Human Trafficking Resource Center hotline at 1-888-
373-7888 or text 233733 to access help and services. 
The victims of human trafficking are protected under 
U.S. laws and the laws of this state.”

Act 62  Human Trafficking Notification Act 
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Wage and Hour can accept complaints that a required 
entity is not displaying the required posters

 Complaint can be made anonymously

Wage and Hour will need the name and address of the 
entity

 Claim about Welcome Centers or Rest Areas, we need the 
location, i.e.  I-96 near Howell 

Filing a complaint under Act 62
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Michigan Wage and Hour Division
Contact Information

• Mailing: 530 West Allegan St

• P.O. Box 30476

• Lansing, MI 48909-7976

• Telephone: (517) 284-7800

• (855) 464-9243 (4MI-WAGE)

• Website: www.michigan.gov/wagehour

http://www.michigan.gov/wagehour
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Youth Employment Standards Act

Public Act 90

Telephone: (517) 335-6041


