
Michigan Graduated 
Driver Licensing 
An Outline of the Graduated 
Driver Licensing (GDL) and 
Driver Education Process 

The 
Decision to 
Begin Driver 
Education 

This resource provides an outline for the Graduated 
Driver Licensing (GDL) and driver education process 
and is intended for parents to keep and refer to as 
their teen goes through the steps. 

Parents are strongly encouraged to attend driver 
education parent meetings when available in their 
area and to read the free Michigan’s Graduated 
Driver Licensing: A Guide for Parents 
publication and refer to it as their teen goes through 
the process of learning to drive. 

Parents should also visit Michigan.gov/ 
TeenDriver for additional Michigan teen driving 
information such as the publications mentioned in 
this brochure, and additional information about GDL, 
driver education and how to find a certified driver 
education program in your area. 
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Tips for Parents: 

Keep this in an easily accessible 
place for reference! Also check out: 

Michigan.gov/TeenDriver 

Parent 
Checklist 

Getting a license is an important milestone for teens 
and parents, but being a beginning driver carries 
special risks. Parents are in the best position to 
determine when their teen is ready to begin driver 
education, progress to independent driving, and 
have increased driving privileges. Graduated Driver 
Licensing laws are minimums for young drivers. Parents 
need to determine their own additional family rules. 

Traffic crashes are the leading 
cause of death for teens. 
A teen’s first year behind the wheel is critical. 
Graduated Driver Licensing is designed to limit 
teens to safer driving environments while they build 
their skills and gain driving experience with the goal 
of reducing traffic crashes. 

Parents Need to be Good Role Models: 
Teens mimic their parents’ driving behaviors. 
Therefore, parents should obey all traffic laws, 
correct any unsafe driving habits, and refrain from 
using electronic devices while driving. 

Parents Need to Monitor Their Teen’s 
Driving: It takes 3-5 years for novice drivers to 
be exposed to the myriad of situations they will 
encounter. Parents who control access to the vehicle 
keys and ride along with them throughout their 
driving experience are in a better position to monitor 
their driving. Various types of monitoring devices and 
programs are available as well that flag and notify 
parents of risky behaviors. 
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Level 3 License: 
Teens must be age 17, 
have held a Level 2 
Intermediate License for 6 
months, and be 12 months 
crash and violation free. A 
new license is mailed 
automatically, unless the 
parent or guardian requests 
that their teen remain at 
Level 2. Teens with a Level 
3 License have no state-
imposed license restrictions. 

Applying for a Level 2 
Intermediate License: 

• Must be at least age 16 
• Must be 90 days crash and violation free 
• Parent or legal guardian must accompany 

their teen to the SOS office and sign the 
license application 

Documents required at the SOS office: 

• Proof of Social Security number, 
legal presence, identity, and Michigan 
residency, and a Level 1 Learner’s 
License, Michigan Driver Education 
Segment 2 Certificate of Completion, and 
a Driving Skills Test Certificate 

Parent’s Required Supervised Driving 
Time: The major reason for crashes among newly 
licensed drivers is inexperience. Driver education 
introduces teens to the mechanics of driving, but it is 
just the beginning of the learning process. From there, 
parents need to continue practice driving with their teens 
while they gain experience in all types of situations and 

conditions in order to reduce 
their risk of crashing. After 
teens are issued a Level 1 
Learner’s License, parents 
are required to log a minimum 
of 50 hours of supervised 
driving time with their teens, 
including 10 hours at night. 

Segment 2 Driver 
Education: Teens must 
hold a Level 1 Learner’s 
License a minimum of 3 

months. A driving log must be presented showing 30 of the 
50 hours of parent supervised driving time was completed, 
including 2 of 10 nighttime hours. Segment 2 includes a 
minimum of 6 hours of classroom instruction and a written 
exam. 

Driving Skills Test: Teens must hold a Level 1 
Learner’s License a minimum of 6 months. Parents must 
present a driving log and certify the minimum required 
supervised driving time was completed (50 hours including 
10 at nighttime). The driving skills test includes a vehicle 
inspection, basic controls skills test, and an on-road driving 
test. 

Level 1 Learner’s License 
Restrictions: Teens must be 
supervised at all times by a licensed 
parent, legal guardian, or designated  
driver age 21 or older. Seatbelts are 
required for everyone in the front 
seat and everyone under age 16 in 
the vehicle. Teens are prohibited 
from texting while driving and from 
using a hand-held cellphone while 
driving. 

Applying for a Level 1 
Learner’s License: 

• Must be at least age 14 and 9 months 
• Must pass a vision and health screening 
• Parent or legal guardian must accompany teen to 

the Secretary of State (SOS) office and sign the 
application form 

Documents required at the SOS office: 

• Proof of Social Security number, legal presence, 
identity, and Michigan residency, and a Michigan 
Driver Education Segment 1 Certificate of Completion 

See list of eligible documents at 
Michigan.gov/TeenDriver 

Segment 1 Driver 
Education: Teens must 
be at least age 14 years and 8 
months to begin Segment 1 driver 
education. The course is held over 
a minimum of 3 weeks, includes 
at least 24 hours in the classroom, 
6 hours of driving, 4 hours of 
observation driving time, and a 
written examination. Parents need 
to communicate with their teen’s 
driver education instructor to receive 

feedback on their teen’s progress. A Parent Driving Permit 
may be offered to allow teens to practice driving while 
attending Segment 1—learn the restrictions of the permit 
and specifics of what should be practiced. 

Level 2 Intermediate 
License Restrictions: 
Teens may drive without 
supervision, but they have 
restrictions. No more than one 
passenger who is younger than 
age 21. No driving between 10 
p.m. and 5 a.m. Exceptions to 
these nighttime and passenger 
restrictions include when 
additional passengers are 
immediate family members, when driving to or from work 
or as part of work, or to or from an authorized activity. 
No hand-held cellphone use. No texting. Seatbelts are 
required for everyone in the front seat, and everyone 
under age 16 in vehicle. 

Additional family rules to consider:  
No passengers, no nighttime driving, no electronic 
communication or entertainment devices, and require 
seatbelts by all in the vehicle regardless of age. 

Parent-Teen Driving Agreement:
Crash rates peak during the first 6 months that teens 
drive without supervision, making this an essential time 
for parents to provide guidance, oversight, and set limits. 
Parents who do this have teens that are less likely to 
receive traffic tickets or be involved in traffic crashes. 
Inexperience and immaturity combine to make young 
drivers especially at-risk at night, after drinking alcohol, 
with passengers, when unbelted, and when using 
cellphones. Parents are strongly encouraged to visit 
Michigan.gov/TeenDriver and complete the sample 
agreement that will help to keep teens safe. 
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Michigan.gov/TeenDriver 
Be sure to check out: 

GRADUATED DRIVER LICENSING (GDL) CHECKLIST 
Keep this checklist in an accessible place to help you prepare for each step of the GDL process 

DRIVER EDUCATION

STUDENT DRIVER

DRIVER EDUCATIONSTUDENT DRIVER
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SECRETARY
OF STATE1 

To begin Segment 1 
Driver Education: 

To apply for Level 1 
Learner’s License: 

Level 1 Learner’s 
License Restrictions: 

• Teens must be supervised at all times by a 
licensed parent, legal guardian, or designated 
driver age 21 or older 

• No hand-held cellphones 
• No textingAt least age 14At least age 14 • Seatbelts required for everyone in front seat, 

and everyone under age 16 in vehicleyears and 9 monthsyears and 8 months 
Pass a vision and Level 2 Intermediate 
health screening License Restrictions: 

Teens are permitted to drive without supervision, 
Things to bring to SOS: but with restrictions: 

• No more than one passenger under age 
21 except when additional passengers are 
immediate family members or when driving

Parent or legal guardian must 
accompany teen to sign to or from work or as part of work or an
application form authorized activity 

• No driving between 10:00 p.m. and 5:00 a.m. 
except to or from work or as part of work, or toProof of Social Security number, 

legal presence, identity, and 
To begin Segment 2 
Driver Education: 

or from an authorized activity 
Michigan residency • No hand-held cellphones 

• No texting 
Michigan Driver Education • Seatbelts required for everyone in front seat, 

Have Level 1 Learner’s 
License at least 3 months 

Completed 30 of the minimum 
50 hours of parent supervised 
driving time, including 2 of the 
10 hours required at night 

Segment 1 Certificate of 
Completion 

and everyone under age 16 in vehicle 

Additional family rules to consider: 
• No passengers 
• No nighttime driving 
• No electronic communication or entertainment 

devices (including no Bluetooth) 
• Seatbelts required by all in the vehicle 

regardless of age 

Have Level 1 Learner’s 
License at least 6 months 

Completed minimum 50 hours of 
parent supervised driving time, 

SKILLS
TESTING
FACILITY

To take the 
Driving Skills test: 

#MIGDL 

OF STATE 

To apply for Level 2 
Intermediate License:including 10 hours at night 

Must be age 
17 or older 

To earn Level 3 License: 

3 At least 
age 16 

90 days violation 
and crash free 

Things to bring to SOS: 

Parent or legal guardian must 
accompany teen to sign license 
application 

Have Level 2 Intermediate 
License for at least 6 months 

12 months violation 
and crash free 

Parent/guardian may request 
that their teen remain at 
Level 2 and not automatically 
advance to Level 3 

Proof of Social Security number, 
legal presence, identity, and 
Michigan residency 

Level 1 Learner’s License, Michigan 
Driver Education Segment 2 
Certificate of Completion, and a 
Driving Skills Test Certificate 




