Your Michigan chauffeur’s license

This guide explains Michigan’s chauffeur’s license requirements. The
information can also help you prepare for the knowledge test you must
pass in order to receive your chauffeur’s license.

You can take the written test at any Michigan Secretary of State office. Michigan..  criigyes
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No driving skills test is required, unless you have never been licensed. o cvtoer s
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The chauffeur's license is issued in standard and enhanced versions.

The standard chauffeur’s license costs $35. The enhanced version costs &= 0112167 g
$50 and is a federally approved identity and citizenship document that
allows you to re-enter the U.S. by land or sea from Canada, Mexico, ichigan.. R,
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For more information about standard and enhanced licenses, visit the : : =
Michigan Department of State website at Michigan.gov/SOS. oz

Requirements .....................................................................................................................................................................................................

Unless exempt (as explained later in this guide), a chauffeur’s license is required if you:

+ Are employed for the principal purpose of operating a motor vehicle with a gross vehicle
weight rating (GVWR) of 10,000 pounds or more.

Note: Michigan law considers someone to be employed for the principal purpose of operating a
motor vehicle “when the person’s employment customarily involves the necessary use of a motor
vehicle for hire or for transporting passengers for hire, or for transporting for gain or hire any
merchandise for display, sale or delivery” [MCL 257.6(2)].

 Operate a motor vehicle as a carrier of passengers or as a common or contract carrier of property.

+ Operate a bus or a school bus.

Medical eXaminer’'s CertifiCaAtION

A medical examiner’s certification is needed if you operate a motor vehicle:

+ With a gross vehicle weight (GVW), gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR), gross combination
weight (GCW), or gross combination weight rating (GCWR) of 10,001 pounds or more.

+ Designed to transport 16 or more passengers (including the driver).

+ Used to transport hazardous materials.

MICHIGEN TRUCKIN For more information or to obtain forms, contact the Michigan
IC IGASSOC|AT|ONlJ CKING Trucking Association at 517-321-1951 or visit mitrucking.org.
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https://www.michigan.gov/sos/license-id/license-and-id
https://www.mitrucking.org

Exemptions ......................................................................................................................................................................................................... .

Some drivers do not need a chauffeur's license:

« Afarmer or farmer’'s employee operating a vehicle exclusively in connection with the farming
operation.

+ Afirefighter or member of a fire department operating an ambulance.

« Afirefighter or police officer operating equipment used exclusively in connection with his or
her employment.

+  Utility company employees who drive trucks used to transport employees, materials, and tools.

+ Service or repair personnel who operate motor vehicles to carry their tools and transport
parts or appliances only incidentally in connection with their employment.

+ Emergency medical services personnel operating an ambulance.

+ County road commission employees and other local government employees who do not
drive their own vehicles and whose work consists of hauling road-building materials and
supplies for the road commission or for other municipal purposes.

* Michigan Department of Transportation employees whose work consists of operating
vehicles with a GWR of 10,000 pounds or more to transport highway and bridge maintenance
materials and supplies for state trunkline maintenance.

« A person operating a motor vehicle for a volunteer program who only receives
reimbursement for vehicle operating costs.

+ A person who operates a motor home for personal pleasure.

« A parent or parent's designee for the purpose of transporting pupils to or from school and
school-related events.

+ A person operating a taxi, limousine, or transportation network company vehicle. Note:
Michigan law requires limousine drivers to carry a current copy of their driving record in the
limousine, available for review if requested by a prospective passenger. (MCL 257.208b)
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Drivers who need a chauffeur’s license may also need a commercial driver’s license (CDL) to
operate:

+ Avehicle towing a trailer or other vehicle with a GVWR of 10,001 pounds or more when the
GCWR is 26,001 pounds or more.

+ Avehicle (including buses) having a GWR of 26,001 pounds or more.

+ Avehicle under 26,001 pounds GVWR that:
+ Is designed to carry 16 or more people (including the driver);
« Carries hazardous materials in amounts requiring placarding.

If you need a CDL, visit the department website at Michigan.gov/SOS or a Secretary of State
office for more information. CDLs are issued in standard and enhanced versions. Please note
that in some instances, even though a chauffeur’s license is not required, a CDL may be needed.

75-025 (01/25) 2


https://www.michigan.gov/sos/all-services/cdl-apply

Behind the wheel

Remember to park at least 30 feet from a stop sign or
traffic signal. Michigan law requires you to signal before
turning or changing lanes. Start signaling at least 100 feet
before you plan to turn. Doing so allows other drivers an
opportunity to slow down or change lanes to avoid a crash.

A truck with gross weight of 10,000 pounds or more,
traveling on a freeway with a maximum speed greater than
70 miles per hour, must not travel faster than 65 miles per
hour.

Stay in control ...................................................................................................................................................................................................

Safely operating a commercial vehicle requires more than just knowing how to shift its gears.
Driving, by definition, is a complex task that requires judgment, skill, practice and knowledge
of the rules of the road. But it becomes even more challenging, for example, when piloting a

34,000-pound rig down the freeway in an icy rain.

To safely drive a commercial vehicle, you must not only understand how to adjust your driving
to match traffic, road and weather conditions, you must know the law. For example, speed limits
for trucks will differ from automobiles, based on the commercial vehicle designation, weight
restrictions and the type of road being traveled.

When approaching a downhill grade in a truck, it is a good idea to shift to a lower gear
before starting down the hill. Otherwise, you may need to use the brakes too much, causing
overheating and possible loss of braking power.

To maintain the best control on a curve, slow to a safe speed before entering the curve, then
accelerate slightly through it. Braking in a curve is dangerous because you may lock the wheels
and cause a skid.

THhe road aEad

Following vehicles too closely is dangerous and, depending on the size of your vehicle, it may be
illegal. According to Michigan law, outside the corporate limits of a city or village, vehicles with
gross weights over 5,000 pounds (loaded or unloaded) must not follow each other closer than
500 feet except when passing.

Not only is it important to maintain a safe following distance, it is important to watch the

road ahead. To provide time to react to changes in traffic, you should look ahead at least 12
seconds’ worth of travel time. This can be done by selecting a fixed object on the road ahead
and counting “one thousand one, one thousand two...” until the front of your vehicle passes the
object. If you have not counted to “one thousand twelve,” you should be looking farther ahead.
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Long loads and vehicle height .............................................................................................................................................................

If a load extends 4 feet or more past the rear of a vehicle's bed or body, a red flag or cloth at
least 12 inches square (during the day) or a red light (at night) must be displayed at the extreme
rear end of the load.

Knowing how tall your vehicle is can help prevent crashing into objects overhead such as a
bridge or viaduct. The maximum height allowed for vehicles on Michigan roads and highways is
13 feet, 6 inches.
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You need to know what drivers behind you are doing and how close they are to your vehicle.
Not knowing could make it dangerous to change lanes, pass another vehicle or merge onto a
highway. Commercial vehicles with a capacity of 1,000 pounds or more must have one outside
rearview mirror on each side of the vehicle.

For rearview mirrors to be effective they must be properly adjusted. However, even careful
adjustment will leave blind spots - areas to the side and rear - that cannot be seen in the mirrors.
To offset this problem, turn your head to check what the mirrors do not show.

When there are problems ..................................................................................................................................................................... .

If you park a disabled vehicle on the shoulder of a road, warning devices must be set out. The
law requires that warning devices be placed 100 feet in front of and behind the vehicle, and at
the road’s edge within 10 feet of the vehicle’s front or rear end.

Some problems may not require stopping on the side of the road. For example, your vehicle’s
brakes may become wet after driving through deep water or during heavy rain. To dry wet
brakes, slow down and then apply the brakes gently until they work properly again.

The Michigan Department of State is an equal opportunity employer
and service provider. If you need an accommodation or have been
denied service, please call 888-SOS-MICH (767-6424). Hearing-impaired
customers may access the department’s telephone number by calling
the Michigan Relay Center at 711. An alternative format of this printed
material may be obtained by contacting the Michigan Department of
State at 888-SOS-MICH (767-6424).
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