What Every Driver Must Know

Chapter 4: Traffic Laws

The U.S. Department of Transportation’s National
Highway Traffic Safety Administration estimates
that there are at least 3,400 deaths annually from
distracted-driving crashes in which drivers lost focus
on the safe conftrol of their vehicles due to manual,
visual or cognitive distractions.

While this statistic is significant, it may understate the
size of the problem since identifying the distraction
and its role in a crash can be difficult.

Most drivers understand the responsibility of getting
behind the wheel and avoiding risky behaviors.
Distracted drivers who drive "“in a careless or
negligent manner likely to endanger any person
or property” or "“in willful or wanton disregard for
the safety of persons or property” are subject o
prosecution under Michigan law.

Did you know that. .. ?

* In 1904, the speed limit in Saginaw was 8 mph for
cars and 10 mph for bicycles.

e In 1922, the Defroit Police Department began
keeping fraffic crash statistics.

e In 1945, the first chemical fest fo identfify
suspected drunken drivers was administered by
the Detroit Police Department.

Using a hand-held phone while driving is illegal
in Michigan and this includes reading, texting, or
making or answering a call. Exceptions are in place
for reporting crashes, crimes or other emergencies.
Drivers face a fine of $100 for a first offense and $250
for subsequent violations.

Anything that takes your eyes off the road, your
hands off the wheel or your mind off your driving
can be a big problem. Studies show that your brain
cannoft give full attention to more than one activity
at a time. Even seemingly simple tasks such as tuning
a radio can be risky, especially in bad weather or
heavy fraffic. In the estimated quarter of a second it
takes the brain to shift attenfion between two tasks,
a car moving at 65 mph covers 24 feet.

Here are some ways you can minimize in-vehicle
distractions.

Before driving:

* Designate a front-seat passenger to serve as a
co-pilot to help with maps or navigation system:s.
If you are driving alone, plot out destination routes
in advance.

e Be familiar with equipment in the vehicle. Practice
performing basic functions such as adjusting the
temperature or radio settings without taking your
eyes off the road.
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e Preprogram your radio stafions for easy access
and preselect a play-list on your portable device.

¢ Ensure all children are comfortable and properly
buckled up. Teach them the importance of good
behavior and remaining buckled up while in a
vehicle. Don't underestimate how distracting it
can be to tend to them in the car.

e Complete any personal grooming before you
start driving or affer you reach your destination.

While driving:

e Make driving vyour priority. A momentary
distraction can lead to a crash. Keep your hands
on the wheel and your eyes on the road.

* Avoid using mobile phones, texting devices, and
navigation and other electronic systems.

e |f you must use a mobile phone, make your call
while your venhicle is safely parked. Avoid calling
others who are driving.

¢ Donottake notes, read orlook up phone numbers.

e Avoid involved, stressful or confrontational

conversations.

e |f you must eat, choose easy-to-handle items and
make sure drinks are secured in cup holders.

e Take a break if you find yourself “lost in thought”
or fired.

Cell phone use prohibited for
all drivers - including teens

Michigan’s general cell phone law (MCL 257.602b)
prohibits all drivers from using a cell phone while
driving. This means you cannot hold or use a mobile
electronic device, such as a cell phone or tablet,
while operating a motor vehicle on a public road,
street, highway, or other public venue.

Under this state law, you cannot do the following. This
includes but is not limited to:

e Sending or receiving a telephone call.
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e Sending, receiving, or reading a text message.
* Viewing, recording, or fransmitting a video.

* Accessing, reading, or
networking site.

posting to a social

Emergency exceptions: Drivers (including all teens) are
allowed to use a mobile device while driving to text 9-1-1
or call a law enforcement agency, health-care provider,
fire department, or other emergency service to report:

* A medical emergency, traffic crash, serious road
hazard, fire, or a situation involving hazardous
materials.

e Someone driving in a reckless or unsafe manner,
or who appears to be driving under the influence
of alcohol or drugs.

* A crime being committed.

Non-emergency exceptions: Kelsey's Law (MCL
257.602c) prohibits teens with a GDL 1 or GDL 2 from
making or receiving non-emergency phone calls.
Under the general cell phone law, teens with a GDL
3 and all other drivers are allowed to use a mobile
device within the following parameters:

* A global positioning system (GPS) or navigation
feature aslong as information is not enfered by hand.

e A device in a voice-operated or hands-free
mode as long as you do not confinue fo use your
hands to operate it after completing either of the
following functions:

e Pressing, tapping, or swiping a single button
to acftivate or deactivate a function of the
device or to select a name or phone number.

* Accessing the permanently installed user
interfaces of the device that are integrated
into the motor vehicle's electronic systems.

* A device, such as a ‘dash cam,’ used specifically
to continuously record or broadcast video inside
or outside of the motor vehicle.

* A device thatis placed in a mount and used in a
manner already exempted.



Buckle up, it's the law!

Click It or Ticket: Under Michigan's seat belt and
child-safety restraint laws, a law enforcement officer
may stop a vehicle if the driver and occupants are
not properly buckled up.

Michigan law requires:

e All front seat passengers to be buckled up
(including the driver).

* Allpassengers younger than age 16 to be buckled
up, in all seating positions

e All children younger than age 8 or under 4 feet, 9
inches tall to be in an approved child-safety seat or
booster seat in all seating positions.

The Natfional Highway Traffic Safety Administration
reports that seat belts save more than 13,000 lives each
year and that buckling up is the single most effective
thing you can do fo protect yourself in a crash.

* Be responsible — make sure all passengers are
properly buckled up.

e Evenif the vehicle is equipped with air bags, they
are not a substitute for wearing a seat belt.

e Everyone in the vehicle will be safer when seat
belts are worn correctly — shoulder belt across
the middle of the chest away from the neck, with
the lap belt worn low across the hips below the
stomach.

e Drivers exempt from using a seat belt because
of a medical condition must carry a doctor’s
statement.

Protecting children and teens

Since the Michigan Child Passenger Protection
Law was enacted, use of child restraints and safety
belts has increased, while deaths and injuries have
decreased.

However, too many people still use child-restraint
devices improperly. Make certain  both the
child-safety restraint and your child are properly
buckled up before you drive.

What Every Driver Must Know

Michigan’s child passenger safety law mandates
that:

¢ Children are to be properly buckled up in a car
seat or booster seat until they are 8 years old or
4 feet 9 inches tall. Children must ride in a safety
seatf until they reach the age requirement or the
height requirement, whichever comes first. It is
suggested that parents or guardians consider
the height requirement rather than the age
requirement as a seat belt may not fit a smaller
child correctly. Children must be properly secured
in the child-restraint system in accordance with
the child-restraint and vehicle manufacturer’s
instructions and federal safety standards.

* Removing a child from a car seat to nurse while
the vehicle is moving is prohibited.

e Children younger than age 4 must be positioned
in arear seat if the vehicle is equipped with arear
seat. If all available rear seats are occupied by
children under age 4, the child may be positioned
in the child-restraint system in the front seat.

e A child in a rear-facing child-restraint system
may only be placed in the front seat if the front
passenger air bag is deactivated.

¢ Anyone under 18 years old is prohibited from
riding in the open bed of a pickup truck traveling
more than 15 mph. The law allows exceptions for
vehicles used by farmers, construction workers, the
military, participants in parades and authorized
emergency and rescue personnel.

Never hold a child on your lap or buckle a child with
another passenger info one seat belt. Always insist
children buckle their seat belts before starting the
engine.

Assistance with child-safety seat installation s
available at many community agencies, such aslocal
public health departments. To find a child passenger
safety fechnician near you visit cert.safekids.org and
select Find a Tech.

Avoid buying secondhand seafs as they may
not meet federal safety standards, may not work
properly, may have missing parts or instructions
and fthere is no way of knowing whether the safety
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seat has been involved in a crash. Any safety seat
involved in a crash should always be replaced.
Furthermore, if there is a recall, you may not receive
notification.

Children left unattended in
vehicles

Under Michigan law, it is illegal to leave children
younger than é years old unattended in a vehicle if
the amount of time or circumstances in which they
are left poses an unreasonable risk of harm or injury.
Parents or guardians who leave their children in a
vehicle under the supervision of someone age 13
or older who is not legally incapacitated are not in
violation of the law.

It is never safe to leave children or pets alone in a
vehicle. Teach children that vehicles are not play
areas, keep your vehicle locked when not in use,
and make sure children do not have access to keys.

Air bags

Air bags are designed to provide vehicle occupants
with extra protection in a crash. Depending on the
make and model, foday’s vehicles may have air
bags in a variety of locations, including the steering
wheel, dashboard, roof columns and door panels.
Sensors within the vehicle determine when an air
bag will deploy based on the type and severity of
the crash. For the best protection, always wear a
seaf belt, even in vehicles equipped with air bags.
Seat belts remain the best protection in rollover, side
impact and rear-end crashes.

¢ The front passenger air bag must be deactivated
if a child in a rear-facing child-restraint system is
placed in the front seat.

e Parents or guardians are encouraged to seat all
children ages 12 and younger in the rear seat of
the vehicle to avoid potential injury from an air
bag in the event of a crash.

e |t is recommended that drivers sit with at least
10 inches of space between the center of their
breastbone and the center of the steering wheel.

e |f you are pregnant, it is recommended that you
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wear your seat belt with the lap portion of the
belt correctly positioned over the hips (not the
stomach) and the shoulder portion across the
chest. Sit as far back as possible from the air bag.

Speed limits

Michigan’s Basic Speed Law means you must drive
at a “careful and prudent” speedin all
SPEED

driving conditions. Drive at a speed
that always allows you to stop within LIMIT
limit. Depending on conditions, it may
be slower than the posted speed limit.

the clear distance ahead. This speed is
Anticipate frouble ahead. Be ready to stop safely.

never faster than the posted speed

Watch for and obey regulatory speed signs. The
following summarizes some of the standard speed
limits defined under the Michigan Vehicle Code.

e 15 mph - In mobile home parks and some
municipal parks.

e 25 mph - In plafted subdivisions (showing
boundairies, streets, easements and other features
of surveyed lots) and condominium complexes.
Watch for signs when driving through business
districts, county, state and federal parks, on roads
adjacent to parks and playgrounds, and in school
and hospital zones as posted speed limits vary.

* 45 mph-In awork zone if posted. If a work zone is
not posted for 45 mph, then the speed limit is the
normal speed limit for that area.

¢ 55 mph - Unless otherwise posted, on all streets
that are not designated freeways and on all
highways.

e 70 mph maximum/55 mph minimum - On all
freeways unless posted otherwise. School buses
and frucks are restricted to 65 mph. On freeways
with speed limits less than 70 mph, school buses
and frucks are restricted to 55 mph.

Construction zones

Warning signs in construction, maintenance or other
designated work areas are diamond-shaped with
black lettering on an orange or yellow background.



A combination of signs, signals, lighting devices,
markings, barricades, routing and hand-signaling
devices may be used around road construction, utility
work, and maintenance and surveying operations.

Construction and maintenance signs may mean
part of a lane, an entire lane or the whole road is
blocked. These signs are also used when work is
being done adjacent fo the roadway, on shoulders
or in ditches.

Construction zones can be in place for a short period
of time, or last one or more construction seasons.
Drivers are made aware of such zones by signs
posted in advance.

Watch for warning sign messages and obey them
as directed. Drive defensively to avoid problems.
Be patient and everyone will travel through
the construction zone safely. Look carefully for
construction workers or moving equipment.

Construction workers also have the authority fo
direct traffic in work zones and their directions should
be followed even if they conflict with an existing
tfraffic control device.

When going through o designated work areaq,
pay attention to the posted speed limits. For most
construction, maintenance or surveying activities, the
speed limit is 45 mph unless posted differently. Work
zones may limit speeds fo 45 mph when workers are
present, yet allow fraffic to return to the normally
posted speed when workers are absent. This allows
tfraffic to move at full speed when safe to do so while
requiring motorists fo watch for workers and slow
down when construction is active in a work zone.

Fines are doubled for all moving violations in work
zones. In addition, motorists caught speeding in
construction zones face increased points on their
driving records.

Under the law, you will be assessed:

e Three points for speeding 10 mph or less over the
posted limit.

e Four points for speeding more than 10 mph but
not more than 15 mph over the limit.

What Every Driver Must Know

e Five points for speeding more than 15 mph over
the limit.

If you cause the injury or death to any person in a
work zone, you may face fines of up to $7,500, and
imprisonment of up to 15 years.

Merging in a construction
zone

One topic that raises a lot of questions for Michigan
drivers is merging in a construction zone. When two
or more fraffic lanes merge intfo one in a construction
zone, there will be white-and-orange barrels and
signs marking the merging lane. Drivers should follow
the directions on the signs, instructing them when
and how fo merge.

Different construction projects may use different
merging strategies, depending on the type of project
and the amount of traffic. Traffic patterns in the work
zone may change as the construction progresses.
Pay attention not only to the barrels, signals and lane
markings but to any consfruction workers using signs
or hand signals to direct the flow of traffic.

Maintenance vehicles

Michigan law allows state and local road agencies
tfo equip their maintenance vehicles with flashing or
oscillating green lights in
addition to the fraditional
amber lights. The green
lights willonly be activated
when road work is taking
place. Private contractors
are not allowed to display
green lights on their vehicles.

Motorists should know that when they see flashing
green lights on a local or state maintenance vehicle
to slow down and drive with caution.

Green was chosen because the human eye is most
sensitive to the green wavelength. This means green
lights appear brighter and can be seen from farther
away than other colored lights. This makes them
ideal for enhanced visibility in inclement conditions
such as in snow storms and clouds of road dust.
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Emergency vehicles

Yield the right of way to emergency vehicles
approaching from any direction with their red and
blue lights flashing, rotating or oscillating, and to
stopped emergency vehicles with their red, blue or
amber lights flashing, rotating or oscillating.

An authorized emergency vehicle includes:

* Ambulances, fire department and police vehicles,
privately owned vehicles of volunteer or paid fire
fightersif authorized by the chief of an organized fire
department, privately owned vehicles of volunteer
or paid members of a life-support agency.

e A vehicle owned and operated by a federally
recognized, nonprofit, charitable organization that is
used exclusively for assistance during an emergency.

¢ Road service vehicles, such as tow frucks or
state-owned courtesy service vehicles, with a
flashing, rotating or oscillating red or amber light,
that are clearly marked and readily recognizable
as a vehicle used to assist disabled vehicles.

When you see a stopped emergency vehicle:

¢ The law requires you to slow down to 10 mph
below the posted speed limit and move over a
lane if traffic and condifions allow. If you can't
move over, proceed with caution, keeping as
much space as possible between you and the
stopped emergency vehicle.

Failure to obey the law carries the following penalties:

* Involving authorized emergency vehicles: A civil
infraction, subject to two points and a $400 fine.

* Involving other authorized vehicles, such as solid
waste haulers, utility service vehicles and road
maintenance vehicles: A misdemeanor.

28
i
™= Chapter 4: Traffic Laws

* Youmay be charged with a felony if you fail to yield
or move over for a stopped emergency vehicle
and injure or kill emergency personnel.

When an approaching emergency vehicle has its
red and blue lights on and its siren sounding:

e Pull over to the edge of the roadway or highway,
clear of intersections and stop.

e Remain there until the emergency vehicle has
passed. Stay alert — more than one emergency
vehicle may be responding to the call.

* Keep a foot on the brake so the brake lights let
emergency vehicle drivers know you have stopped.

e Stay at least 500 feet behind any moving
emergency vehicle displaying flashing warning
lights and sounding a siren.

e Never pass a moving emergency vehicle
displaying flashing warning lights unless directed
fo do so by the emergency vehicle driver or a law
enforcement officer.

In 1925, the speed limit for school buses on
highways was set at 25 mph. In certain situations,
traffic was required to halt or slow to 15 mph when
a bus was stopped to load or unload students.

School buses

Use exira care around buses and in school zones.
Children may dart info the street or out from around
parked vehicles. Stop at least 20 feet from a school
bus with its red overhead lights flashing; it is picking
up or dropping off passengers. It is not necessary to
stop for a school bus stopped on the other side of a
highway divided by a barrier such as a concrete or
grass median, island or other structures that separate
the flow of fraffic. See Figure 4.1.

Fines for failing to stop for a school bus are double
what would normally be assessed for a moving
violation. Increased fines and imprisonment may
result for violations resulting in injury or death.



Figure 4.1. Because these roads are divided by a
barrier, the blue car does not need to stop even
though the school bus has its red overhead lights
flashing. Vehicles on the same side of the road as
the school bus are required to stop.

School bus signals

When the YELLOW hazard lights are flashing, proceed
with caution.

When the YELLOW overhead lights are flashing, be
prepared to stop.

What Every Driver Must Know

When the RED overhead lights are flashing, stop at
least 20 feet from the school bus. Remain stopped
until the flashing red lights are turned off or the bus
resumes its fravels.

The National Conference to Develop
Minimum Standards made a
recommendation in 1939 to paint school
buses “national school bus yellow.” In 1951,
Michigan passed the School Bus Color Law,
requiring that all new buses be painted
National School Bus Chrome Yellow for
greater uniformity and visibility.

Right of way

Many different traffic situations require you to yield
the right of way to other vehicles, bicycles and
pedestrians.

Right of way when turning

You must yield to other vehicles when:

* Making aright turn, including at a red light.

* Making a left turn, whether you are turning left out
of your driveway or from an alley, or completing a

left furn on a green light in an intersection.

* Making a left turn on a red light (See Figures 4.2
and 4.3)

29
i
Chapter 4: Traffic Laws b=



What Every Driver Must Know

<

shlal
{

Figure 4.2. When making a left turn on red from a
one-way street onto another one-way street, you
must first come to a complete stop and check for
traffic approaching from the right before turning.
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Figure 4.3. When turning left from a two-way sireet
onto a one-way street at a red light, you must come
to a full stop, scan for vehicles approaching from
the right, and yield the right of way to any vehicles
opposite you that are turning right at the intersection.
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Right of way at intersections

You must yield to other vehicles when:

* Youare approachingorstopped atanintersection
and the light has just turned green. If vehicles are
stillin the intersection when the light changes, you
must yield to them before proceeding.

* You are making a left turn at an intersection.
When the light is green, you may turn once all
oncoming fraffic has cleared. If you are still in the
intfersection when the light turns red, complete
your turn as quickly and safely as possible.

* The intersection has a stop sign or a flashing red
signal. You must come to a complete stop and
check for fraffic before proceeding. If there are
no traffic control devices, stop at the stop line or
crosswalk. If there is no stop line or crosswalk, stop
at a point that allows you to see all approaching
traffic without having to pull into the intersection.

¢ Youreach a four-way stop intersection with a stop
sign at each corner of the intersection. The driver
who arrived at the intersection and stopped first
has the right of way through the intersection. If
two or more vehicles reached the intersection at
the same time, the vehicle on the left should yield
to the vehicle on its right.

* You reach an intersection with a malfunctioning
tfraffic signal. Come to a complete stop and yield
to vehicles already at the intersection. Yield to the
vehicle on yourright if you bothreach the intersection
at the same time.

* You reach an intersection with a flashing yellow
arrow. Yield to traffic before completing your furn.

* At a T-intersection without any signals or signs, yield
the right of way to vehicles on the through road.

Be prepared to yield

* When approaching a YIELD sign. Slow down,
check for traffic and be prepared to stop.

* Wheneveryousee workersin highway construction
or maintenance areas. You also must proceed
with caution and be ready to yield whenever



you are approaching or passing a stopped waste
collection, utility service or road maintenance
vehicle with its lights flashing.

When an emergency vehicle is approaching with
its red or blue lights flashing, rotating or oscillating
and its siren or other audible device sounding,
immediately drive to a position parallel to and as
close as possible to the right-hand edge or curb
of the roadwayy, clear of an intersection, and stop
until the emergency vehicle has passed or an
officer signals that it is clear to proceed.

Police Vehicle
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e To through traffic when approaching a MERGE

sign. Adjust your speed as necessary to merge
safely.

Right of way and pedestrians

What Every Driver Must Know

children may unexpectedly dart out into the street.

To pedestrians with disabilities, including physical,
hearing and visual disabilities.

When turning at any intersection. This includes
all turns, whether or not there are lights or traffic
conftrol devices present.

When stopping at an intersection with a stop sign
or a flashing red light.

At an intersection with a flashing yellow light.
To a pedestrian in an unmarked crosswalk on
the driver’s side of the roadway when no fraffic

conftrol devices are present.

To a pedestrian who entfers a crosswalk before
the signal has changed.

To a pedestrian crossing the street from an alley,
driveway, building or private road.

Right of way and funerals

Funeral processions have the right of way over alll
other vehicles, except for fire frucks, ambulances
and police vehicles.

Vehicles in the funeral procession must display
the florescent orange flag with the appropriate
religious symbol (for example, a cross, a star of
David or the crescent and star).

It is a civil infraction to cut through a funeral
procession.

Drivers should be appropriately respectful of
funeral processions but they are not required to

pull over should they see a funeral procession on

As a driver, you must yield: the road.

e To a pedestrian in a marked crosswalk, at an

intersection or midblock. Passing on the left

e Use caution when passing another vehicle or

e To a pedestrian in the crosswalk, even if your bicyclist.

traffic light is green.

¢ On a two-lane highway, you should have a clear,

* To chidren near or in a school zone crosswalk unobstructed view of the left lane, and any traffic

when school is in session. Be especially cautious as
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in that lane should be far enough away o provide
you with the distance and time needed to pass
safely.

* Once you have started passing a vehicle, do not
cut back intfo the right-hand lane until you can
see the entire vehicle you are passing in your
rearview mirror.

e You must return to your lane before you get within
200 feet of any oncoming vehicles.

¢ Remember to allow exira room for passing when
pulling a trailer.

¢ Do not pass more than one vehicle at a time or
follow too closely when another vehicle is passing
slower traffic.

* When preparing to pass another vehicle by using
the center lane of a three-lane road, always use
extreme caution. Approaching vehicles may also
be preparing to pass. If you and an approaching
vehicle move into the center lane at the same
fime, a serious crash could occur. Using this lane
for passing or merging is prohibited if the center
lane is marked for left turns only.

If you are being passed by another vehicle,
do notincrease your speed orrace the driver
who is passing you. Allow the other driver to
complete the passing maneuver safely.

Passing on the right

Passing a vehicle on the right is allowed but don’t
drive on the shoulder or off the road to do so.
Passing on the right should only be done in certain
circumstances.

* When there is enough room on a two-lane road
and the vehicle you want to pass is furning left.

¢ On a one-way street with more than one lane.

¢ On a roadway with two or more lanes in each
direction.
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e At an infersection or point in the road specifically
widened for the purposes of passing.

When passing is prohibited
Don’t pass when:

e Asolid yellow line is on your side of
the center of the road.

DO
NOT
PASS

e “Do Not Pass” or "No Passing
Zone" signs are posted.

e You are approaching a hill or
curve that prevents you from
seeing oncoming fraffic clearly.

e You are within 100 feet of an intersection or
railroad crossing.

e Your view is blocked within 100 feet of a bridge,
viaduct or tunnel.

e Oncoming fraffic is close enough that frying
tfo pass would place you and other vehicles in
danger of crashing.

¢ You can't see clearly ahead.

¢ The centerlane of a three-lane road is marked for
left furns only.

¢ A vehicle has stopped at a crosswalk or
intersection to allow a pedestrian to cross.

¢ |n a construction zone.

¢ A school zone or posted school zone is in an
unincorporated area.

¢ A school bus has stopped to load or unload
passengers.

Lane usage

Like most of the world, U.S. motorists drive on the right
side of the road. But there's more to it than simply
staying to the right.



You must drive in the right-hand lane except when:
e Passing a vehicle in front of you.

e Stopped vehicles, a crash or other obstacles
make it necessary for you to cross the center line.
You must yield to any oncoming fraffic before
leaving your lane.

e The road is divided into three or more marked
fraffic lanes.

¢ On a one-way street with two or more lanes of
fraffic.

¢ Directedto moveintothe leftlane by tfraffic control
signs and signals on a multiple lane highway with
traffic tfraveling in both directions.

e Crossing the center line to make a left turn into or
from an alley, private road or driveway.

* Approaching a stopped emergency vehicle.
Make sure it is safe to pass before pulling out
around the emergency vehicle.

* Road construction is near or blocking the right
lane or right shoulder.

When driving on an interstate highway or full-access
controlled freeway, you must drive in the right-hand
lane. Exceptions for driving in the left lane are made
for the following situations:

» Traffic conditions or congestion make it impossible
to drive in the right lane.

¢ Weather condifions make it necessary to drive in
the left lane.

e There is an obstacle or hazard in the right lane.

* You must change lanes to yield to emergency or
construction vehicles.

e There is no fraffic immediately behind or in front of
you in the left lane.

Remember that . ..

* Slow vehicles must use the right lane except when

What Every Driver Must Know

passing or making a left turn.

e Weaving from lane fo lane fo speed through
fraffic is illegal.

* Only emergency vehicles and law enforcement
using their lights and sirens are allowed to drive
against the flow of traffic.

e It is ilegal to drive across median strips and
through barriers.

e |f aroad’s cut-through is paved and there are no
signs prohibiting its use, you may make a left furn
using the cut-through.

¢ You must enter or leave controlled-access roads
only at designated and posted entrances and
exifs.

Turning

Always use your turn signal when turning.

Before turn signals became standard equipment
on every autfomobile, drivers used hand signals o
indicate a turn or a stop. Today these hand signals
are used primarily by motorcyclists, scooter and
moped riders, and bicyclists. See Figure 4.4.

Figure 4.4. Hand signals for a left turn, right turn and
stop.

Right turns

e Turn from the correct lane and use your signal.
* Obey all traffic signs and signals.

* Yield the right of way to pedestrians, emergency
vehicles or other traffic at the intersection.

¢ Make sure fraffic is clear on your left before
turning.
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¢ Follow the general curve of the curb as you make
your right turn. Do not sfray into other lanes.

¢ Be aware that frucks and buses need more space
to make a right turn.
¢ When mulliple

right-turn lanes are present,

complete your turn by entering the lane that
corresponds to your turn lane. See Figure 4.5.

Figure 4.5. After checking for pedesirians and
bicyclists, the blue car may complete its right turn.
It should remain in the lane corresponding to its turn
lane. If it moves into another lane while turning, it
could cut off traffic in that lane and cause a crash.

Left turns

e Turn from the correct lane and use your signal.
e Obey all fraffic signs and signals.

* Yield fo pedestrians, bicyclists, emergency
vehicles or other traffic at the intersection.

¢ Keep your front wheels pointed straight ahead
until you start your turn.

¢ When multiple left-turn lanes are present,

complete your turn by entering the lane that
corresponds to your furn lane.
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¢ Check for all approaching traffic. See figures 4.6
and 4.7.

Figure 4.7.

Figures 4.6 and 4.7. Would you spot the hidden
vehicle if you were the driver? Always look carefully
for vehicles that may be concealed behind or
alongside of other vehicles. Take special care to
watch for motorcyclists, scooter riders and bicyclists
as their smaller sizes can make it easy to miss them
in traffic.

Changing lanes

¢ Left lane: Look for traffic behind you and on your
left with a head check, turn on your left-turn signal
and carefully move into the left lane.

¢ Rightlane: Look for traffic behind you and on your
right, furn on your right-turn signal and carefully
move into the right lane.



Roundabouts

Aroundaboutis a circularintersection where entering
tfraffic yields to vehicles fraveling counterclockwise
around a cenftral island. Vehicles entering from each

leg of the intersection must yield
QG) l}p

to fraffic approaching from the
LEFT LANE RIGHT LANE

left. This includes any bicyclists
or pedestrians who are present.
Vehicles exit the roundabout by
making a right turn onto the
desired road.

Approaching a roundabout:

e Look forroadside signs and pavement markings to
direct you into the correct lane before entering.

e Slow down and stay to the
roundabout’s center island.

right of the

¢ Asyou approach the yield line, look to your left.

* When an appropriate gap in fraffic appears,
enter the roundabout and merge with the flow of
the other vehicles.

¢ Never make a left turn to enter a roundabout; this
will place you in front of oncoming traffic.

Traveling in a roundabout:
e Always stay fo the right of the center island.
¢ Vehicles in the roundabout have the right of way.

¢ Do nofstop unlessitis the only way to safely avoid
a collision or other danger.

e If an emergency vehicle is heard or seen
approaching, do not stop. Leave the roundabout
at the nearest exit, pull over to the right and stop,
allowing the emergency vehicle to pass.

* Avoid changing lanes. Move into the lane you
need before entering the roundabout.

e Give special consideration to frucks, trailers and
other large vehicles. Avoid passing or driving next
to large vehicles, as they may need more than
one lane to navigate through the roundabout.

What Every Driver Must Know

* Refrain from passing other vehicles, bicycles and
mopeds.

* When entering or exiting a roundabout, watch for
pedestrians crossing the street.

Exiting a roundabout:

¢ Maintain a slow speed. If you miss your exit, drive
around the roundabout to your exit again.

* Indicate your exit by using your turn signal.

¢ Donotaccelerate untilyou are past the pedestrian
crossing at the exit.

Railroad crossings

Traffic confrol systems for railroad crossings include
all signs, signals, markings and illuminated devices
that permit safe and efficient movement of both rail
and roadway traffic.

When approaching any railroad crossing, slow down
and look both ways. Trains can fake a mile or more o
stop, and an approaching frain is closer and moving
faster than it appears. It could be fatal to ignore a
signal or try to cross in front of a train.

Whether you are on foot, on a bicycle orin a vehicle,
cross railroad fracks only at designated crossings.
Never walk down or stop on the tracks; it is illegal and
dangerous.

Railroad crossing advance
warning sign

This sign warns of a rairoad crossing
ahead. If a frain is coming, all vehicles
must stop no more than 50 feet or
less than 15 feet from the tracks.
Trains overhang the tracks by at least
three feet on each side and may
have cargo that extends even farther.

When you see devices that warn of railroad crossings
and possible oncoming trains:

¢ Slow down and be ready to stop.
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What Every Driver Must Know

e |f there is a stop sign at the crossing, you must stop
whether or not a frain is in sight.

¢ Be aware that, unless clearly marked otherwise,
school buses, vehicles carrying passengers for
hire, gasoline frucks and other vehicles carrying
hazardous materials must stop and make sure
no frain is coming, even if there is no stop sign or
railroad crossing signal.

Passive railroad crossing
control systems

Railroad crossings with passive control systems do not
have flashing lights or gates fo warn of approaching
frains. Instead, they use advance warning signs,
pavement  markings and
crossbuck signs with yield or
stop signs located just before
or at the rairoad tracks to
alert drivers to look for trains.

Slow down or stop as
necessary and yield to any
rail traffic. Do not cross without
checking the frack in both
directions for a train. Make sure all tracks are clear
before proceeding and never race a frain in an
aftempt to cross ahead of it.

Active ®
railroad
crossing
control systems

Active railroad confrol systems
inform road users of the presence
of a train.

@

These systems may include
combinations of gates, flashing-light
signals, message signs and bells or
other audible warning devices.

No matter what active control system
you encounter:

* Stop when the bells are ringing, the lights are
flashing, or the gate is down or in moftion.
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e Do not drive through, around or under any
activated railroad crossing system.

¢ Once the frain has passed, do not proceed unfil
the gates are raised, signals stop flashing, bells stop
ringing and you are sure that all fracks are clear.

Trains and vehicles DO NOT
MIX: Grade crossing safety
tips

e Never stop on railroad fracks.

* Always expect a frain at any crossing.

* Always look both ways down the fracks.

* Avoid changing gears while crossing rairoad
fracks.

¢ When there is snow on the road, proceed over
fracks with enough speed to prevent you from
becoming stuck at the railroad crossing.

* When approaching a crossing where nearby fraffic
signals may have caused vehicles to back up near
the crossing, never cross the tracks unless there is
enough space for your vehicle to completely clear
the far side of the tracks by at least 6 feeft.

If you are stuck on the tracks

Oncerailroad crossing lights and gates are activated,
or you hear the horn of an approaching train, you
have about 20 seconds before the train arrives. If
you remember these few tips, you may prevent a
tragedy at a railroad crossing.

* If the crossing gates are activated, or a train is
clearly approaching, IMMEDIATELY get everyone
out of the vehicle and as far away from the fracks
as possible. Call 911.

e |f crossing lights or gates are NOT ACTIVATED,
or there is no train in sight, get everyone out of
the vehicle and as far away from the fracks as
possible. Call the railroad’s emergency number
listed on the blue Emergency Notification Sign
posted near the crossing. Report the problem and
provide the crossing identification number shown



on the Emergency Notification Sign (six digits and
one letter). Railroad officials may be able to slow,
stop or divert an approaching train. Then call 911.

What is an Emergency
Notification System sign?

An Emergency Notification
System (ENS) sign, posted at
or near a highway-rail grade
crossing, lists a telephone
number along with the
crossing’s US DOT number and
is used to notify the railroad of
an emergency or a warning device malfunction.

REPORT EMERGENCY
FROBLEM

Parking

You know that familiar movie scene in which an
expensive sports caris parked on a grassy hill sloping
down toward a pond and the car suddenly rolls intfo
the waterl What's that about? A bad parking job,
that's what!

Whenever you park: - =
ONE
e Always turn off the engine. HOUR
e Set the parking brake. Do not rely PARKING
on the transmission to hold your ||9AM-T7PM
vehicle in place. | |

¢ Take the keys and lock your vehicle.
When exiting your vehicle after parking:

¢ Watch for bicycles, motorcycles, mopeds or other
vehicles that might be passing.

e Check the mirrors for traffic that may not see you
before opening the door. Use your right hand
fo open the door, so you will automatically look
over your left shoulder for oncoming cyclists and
pedestrians.

* When returning fo your vehicle, face oncoming
fraffic as you approach the driver’s side.

What Every Driver Must Know

Parking on a hill

e Turn wheels foward the curb when parking
downhill.

* Turn the wheels away from the curb when parking
uphill.

e |f there is no curb, turn the wheels so that the
vehicle will not roll into traffic.

* Always use the parking brake. The fransmission is
not designed to be used as a brake.

Parallel parking

Even though there are vehicles that will automatically
parallel park themselves, knowing how fo perform this
tfricky parking maneuver is still a good skill to master.

e Select a parking space on the passenger side of
your vehicle.

¢ Signal when approaching the space and check
your mirrors for traffic behind you.

e Pull along side of the vehicle that is parked directly
ahead of your parking space. There should be 2-5
feet between your vehicle and the parked vehicle.

e Brake, shift intfo reverse and check for traffic
approaching from behind.

¢ Release the brake and slowly back up, repeatedly
checking your mirrors for traffic. Look over your right
shoulder to help in positioning your vehicle.

* Asyou start fo back up, furn the steering wheel 1o
the right to start angling the rear of your vehicle
intfo the parking space.

¢ Once therear of the vehicle is mostly in the space,
start turning in the other direction to straighten
out. Making this “S" turn should place your vehicle
directly into the parking space.

* Adjust the vehicle's position as needed to center
it in the space. Do not park more than 6-12 inches
from the curb.

e Check for traffic before opening your door.
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What Every Driver Must Know

Disability parking

Disability parking spaces are reserved for people
with disabilities. Disabilities are not always apparent,
so evenif people are not using a cane or wheelchair,
that does not mean they are abusing the privilege of
disability parking.

Free parking is provided only to vehicles displaying a
disability placard with a yellow free-parking sticker.
The requirements for obtaining a free-parking sticker
are more narrowly defined than for a disability
license plate or placard.

To park in a disability parking space:

* You or your passenger must have a qualifying
disability. This is defined as blindness or any
condifion that significantly limits a person’s ability
to walk or that requires a wheelchair, walker,
crutch or other assistive device. The disability may
be temporary or permanent.

* You must have a disability license plate or parking
placard.

Never park in a disability parking space if none of
the vehicle’s occupants are disabled or if the person
with the disability is not accompanying you into the
store.

Van-accessible disability
parking

Van-accessible parking
spaces are wider than

standard parking
spaces. This provides
room for the van's

wheelchairliftandramp,
allowing the person with
a disability to easily exit
and enter the vehicle.
For this reason, it is extremely important not to park
on the blue-striped area of the van-accessible
parking space. Doing so may prevent the person
with a disability from getting in or out of the vehicle.
Itis also important to not block the ramp or curb cuts
used by people with disabilities.

&

38
i
™= Chapter 4: Traffic Laws

Parking violations

Communities may pass parking ordinances for local
streets that are stricter than state law. Signs will be
posted af the city limifs.

The owner of a vehicle parked illegally is responsible
for any parking fickets. If the vehicle is being leased,
the person leasing it is responsible. The following is a
partial list of “no parking laws.”

Never park:

* Where “no stopping.” “no standing,” “no parking”
or “no parking at any time" signs

are posted. 7 )
NO
* Within 500 feet of a fire or a crash.  |PARKING
ANY
e Within 15 feet of a fire hydrant. TIME
\ N\
¢ Within 20 feet of a fire station
driveway on the same side of the
street or, when marked, within 75
feet of the driveway on the other 8:30 AM
side of the street. (TO5:30 PM |

e Within 50 feet of the nearest rail of a
railroad crossing.

* Infrontof any driveway, alley, theater, emergency
exit or fire escape.

¢ Nextto aroad where you block the view of drivers
turning at an intersection.

¢ More than 12 inches from the curb. This means the
curb should never be more than a foot from your
parked venhicle.

* Against the flow of traffic.

*  Within 30 feet of a stop sign, traffic light or flashing
beacon, including a warning sign.

* In alane of a highway outside city or village limits
if there is a highway shoulder.

e On or under a bridge (unless otherwise posted),
on an overpass or in a tunnel.



¢ On a sidewalk, or in front of a public or private
driveway.

* Within an infersection, crosswalk or designated
bike lane.

¢ Within 20 feet of a marked crosswalk or 15 feet of
an intersection if there is no crosswalk.

What Every Driver Must Know

On the sfreet-side of a legally parked vehicle
(double parking).

So that you obstruct delivery of mail to a rural
mailbox.

At a transit stop.
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What Every Driver Must Know

Notes
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