
 PERMIT NUMBER 

APPROVED BY DATE 

1.  NAME (First)  (Middle) (Last) 2.  BIRTH DATE (Month) (Day) (Year) 

 

AR-0135 (8/2022) By Authority of Public Act 300 of 1974 
Michigan Department of State 

APPLICATION FOR MOTOR VEHICLE 
MECHANIC TRAINEE PERMIT 

DEPARTMENT USE ONLY 

 
Read instructions before completing. 

Please TYPE or PRINT. 
 
 
 

3.  HOME ADDRESS (Street) (City) (County) (State) (Zip) 
 

 
4.  CONTACT TELEPHONE # 5. DRIVER LICENSE OR ID NUMBER 6. EMAIL ADDRESS 7. SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER   

8.  If you are now employed or soon will be employed at a repair facility, give name and address of facility: 9.  Number of months employed at facility: 

10.   A.  Circle the highest school grade completed:    8 or under 9 10 11 12 GED College: 1 2 3 4 
 

B.  Number of months of motor vehicle mechanic education or training you have received: 

Other Training: 

11.  CHECK THE REPAIR CATEGORIES IN WHICH YOU ARE APPLYING FOR A TRAINEE PERMIT. 
NOTE: The original mechanic trainee permit, issued in specific repair categories, will expire at the end of 24 months and will not be renewed or reissued. 
The mechanic trainee must work under the direct supervision of an appropriately certified mechanic in only those categories specified on the permit. 
(See additional information on the back of this application.) 

 
Automobiles and Light Trucks (Vehicles under 14,000# GVW) L.  Collision-Related Mechanical Repair 

M.  Motorcycle 
B.   Engine Repair N.  Recreational Trailer 
C.   Automatic Transmission 
D.   Manual Transmission Heavy-Duty Trucks (Vehicles 14,000# GVW or more) 
E.   Front End, Suspension and Steering Systems 
F.   Brakes and Braking Systems Q.  Engine Repair - Gasoline 
G.   Electrical Systems R.  Engine Repair - Diesel 
H.   Heating and Air Conditioning S.  Drive Train 
I.   Engine Tune-Up/Performance T.  Brakes and Braking Systems 
J.   Pre-1973 Vehicles U.  Suspension and Steering Systems 
K.   Unitized Body Structural Repair V.  Electrical Systems 

 

12.   ARRESTS OR CONVICTIONS  --  Have you been arrested or convicted of an auto-related crime, other than a traffic violation, in Michigan or any 
other state within the past 10 years?    NO    YES   If your answer is YES, give complete details of all arrests or convictions in the past 10 
years.  Attach an additional sheet, if necessary. 

 
Details:     

 
 

Date of Arrest(s) or Conviction(s): 
 

Court(s): City and State: 
 

13.  FEE - A FEE OF $20 MUST ACCOMPANY THE APPLICATION FOR MECHANIC TRAINEE PERMIT.  Enclose a check or money order made 
payable to STATE OF MICHIGAN. Mail application and fee to: 

MICHIGAN DEPARTMENT OF STATE 
BUSINESS LICENSING SECTION 
LANSING, MICHIGAN 48918 

NOTE:  NO FEE IS REQUIRED IF YOU ARE ALREADY CERTIFIED BY THE STATE OF MICHIGAN AND YOUR CERTIFICATE IS NOT EXPIRED. 
IF CERTIFIED, ENTER YOUR MECHANIC NUMBER:   M   . 

 
14.  CERTIFICATION AND SIGNATURE 

I certify to the truth and accuracy of representations made in this application, including all statements attached hereto, and further agree that any 
legal process affecting me served on the Secretary of State or his/her deputies shall have the same effect as if personally served on me, and 
hereby authorize the release of all criminal history information that pertains to me on file with the Michigan State Police or at any court of record. 
Any misleading, incomplete, or false statement may be grounds for revocation, suspension, or denial of a mechanic trainee permit. 

 
 
 
 

Signature Date 



INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING APPLICATION 
PRINT OR TYPE ALL INFORMATION 

 
Item 1…...Enter your last, first, and middle names. 

Item 2……Enter your birth date. 

Item 3……Enter your home address. 
 

Item 4……Enter your contact telephone number 
 

Item 5……Enter your driver license or State of Michigan ID number. 

Item 6……Enter your email address 

Item 7……Enter your Social Security Number (SSN) 

Item 8……If you are presently employed at a motor vehicle repair facility, enter the name and address of the facility. 

Item 9……Enter the number of months employed at the facility. 

Item 10…..A. Circle the highest grade you completed in school. 
 

B. Write the number of months of education or training you have received in automobile or heavy-duty truck 
service and repair while attending high school, trade or technical schools, or college. If you have 
participated in an apprenticeship program, or attended short courses in automotive service and repair 
offered by automotive or equipment manufacturers, etc., list the information in the “Other Training” space. 

 
Item 11…..Check the repair categories in which you are applying for a mechanic trainee permit. 

 
You may make application to become a trainee in one or several categories of repair at the same time. By the 
end of the two-year period you must become certified in all of the repair categories in which you were a trainee 
or stop working in those categories. 

 
Note: A trainee permit may be reissued only in the following Automobile and Light Duty Truck specialty 
categories if the applicant did not have a trainee permit in these categories during the previous three years: 
Engine Tune-up/Performance, Electrical Systems, or Brakes and Braking Systems. 

 
It is not necessary to apply to become a trainee in all repair categories at the same time. You may make 
application (at a later date) to become a trainee in other categories of repair during the term of your initial 
trainee permit, after receiving certification in the categories in which you were a trainee, or at the end of the 
initial two-year trainee period. 

 
Item 12…..You must indicate whether you have been arrested or convicted of an auto-related crime within the past 10 

years. If so, you must provide complete details of each arrest and conviction. 
 

Item 13…..THE FEE FOR A MECHANIC TRAINEE PERMIT IS $20. Make check or money order payable to STATE OF 
MICHIGAN. Applications received without the $20 fee will be returned. 

 
NOTE: NO FEE IS REQUIRED IF YOU ARE ALREADY A STATE CERTIFIED MECHANIC AND YOUR 
CERTIFICATE IS CURRENT. IF CERTIFIED, ENTER YOUR CERTIFICATION NUMBER IN THE SPACE 
PROVIDED. 

 
Item 14…..You must sign the application attesting to the best of your knowledge and belief that the information presented 

on the application form is true, correct, and complete, and authorizing the Department of State to obtain 
criminal history information from the Michigan State Police. 

 
AFTER YOU HAVE COMPLETED THE APPLICATION, ENCLOSE CHECK OR MONEY ORDER AND MAIL TO: 

 
Michigan Department of State 
Business Licensing Section 
Lansing, MI 48918 

 
 

Questions? Contact the Business Licensing Section:     By phone: 1-888-SOS-MICH (1-888-767-6424). 
        By email: Licensing@michigan.gov  

mailto:Licensing@michigan.gov
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