

DEALER CHECKLIST (Class A & B Dealers Only)

Established Place of Business Requirements. See Dealer Manual, Chapter 1 for more information:

_	Licensed location isn't a residence or any temporary quarters.		There is a minimum of 1,300 square feet of land space allocated for the display of at least 10 vehicles.
Ш	All books, records, and files necessary to conduct the business are maintained in the licensed location. *		There is at least 650 square feet for customer parking that is adequately surfaced and well-lit during business hours.
	The dealership is contained within a permanently enclosed building or structure.		There is an exterior sign displaying the name of the dealership permanently affixed to the building or land with
	There is at least 150 square feet of office space.	_	letters clearly visible from a highway.
	There is a working restroom and working utilities within the building or structure.	П	There is a repair facility on the premises, or the dealer has a written agreement with a local repair facility, within a 10 mile radius, to provide repair services and has posted the
	There is a working telephone listed in the name of the business on the dealer's license.		servicing agreement at the dealership.
	The premises must meet all applicable zoning and	ш	There are posted business hours of no less than 30 hours per week.**
	municipal requirements.		Only one dealer has established a place of business at the location.
* Dealers may store records at a secondary location owned by the dealer that is located within a 15-mile radius of the dealership after submitting a request through e-Services and receiving department approval. At least 15 business hours must be held between 8am-5pm, Monday through Friday.			
** Dealers may reduce their hours for up to 4 weeks per year by submitting a request through their e-Services account.			
Dealer Plate Use. See Dealer Manual, Chapter 1 for more information:			
_	alor Flate Coo. Coo Boalor Mariaal, Chapter		inoro information.
	Dealer-owned vehicles may be driven to and from repair facilities, storage lots and other locations where vehicles are being held prior to sale.		Dealer-owned vehicles may be driven by a prospective customer of a dealership for testing or demonstration purposes for up to 72 hours.
	Dealer-owned vehicles may be moved to locations where they may be bought or sold.		A person who has purchased a vehicle from a dealership may operate the vehicle with a dealer plate for up to 72
	Dealer-owned vehicles may be driven by employees, servants or agents of the dealership for any use related to the dealership's primary business of selling vehicles, except as a service vehicle.		hours after taking delivery of the vehicle.
Record Keeping Requirements. See Dealer Manual, Chapter 2 for more information:			
	Maintain records for each vehicle bought, sold, leased or exchanged by the dealer or received or accepted by the dealer for sale, lease or exchange.		Dealer records must be maintained and available for inspection for five years after the sale of the vehicle during established business hours at the licensed location. ***
	Records must be available for inspection by law enforcement and Michigan Department of State investigative staff upon request.		Dealers who maintain an electronic Police Book or other required records must be prepared to print a paper copy of the records if requested by law enforcement or Michigan Department of State investigative staff.

^{***} Dealers will receive notice for all general compliance inspections at least 36 hours in advance at the email address on record with the department. Notice will not be provided for complaint or disciplinary follow-up inspections.

a dealer engages: Title or other ownership documents (TR-42, TR-52L, Color copies are needed for titles subject to inventory BDVR-141, TR-208, etc.). loans. Black-and-white copies of front and back of conforming Copies of purchase agreements. titles for odometer disclosure records; both incoming Copies of installment sales or lease contracts. (bought) and outgoing (sold) copies must be maintained. Copies of processed RD-108s, RD-108Ls or RD-108s Copies of Major Component Parts Record (SOS-426). prepared for exported vehicles (see Chapter 8 for more ☐ Copies of broker fee agreements and broker purchase information). agreements. Police Book or washout system (see specific requirements Signed copies of the Vehicle Dealer Inventory Loan below and in Chapter 2 of the Dealer Manual). Notices (BLRD-1). ☐ Copies of salvage disclosure statements. Copies of separate odometer disclosure statements used Copies of Application for Original Michigan Salvage Title only when the title is held by an inventory lender or if the or Scrap Title (TR-12). vehicle has a rebuilt salvage title. Copies of Salvage Vehicle Recertification Inspection forms All documents related to the inventory loan transaction. (TR-13A, TR-13B). ☐ Dealer portion of the printed BFS-4 Temporary ☐ BFS-4 Temporary Registration log (now retained in the dealership's e-Services account). Police Book Entry Requirements – Hardbound, Washout or Electronic: Purchase number/ stock number. ■ Date vehicle acquired. ☐ Vehicle Identification Number (VIN). ☐ Title number. Who you purchased the vehicle from: Name, address, Identification information, including: Make, model, city, state and ZIP code (auctions are a special case). body style, color and, year. ☐ Date vehicle sold. Who you sold the vehicle to: Name, address, city, state, ZIP code. **Police Book Quick Tips:** Vehicles must be kept in date order. The date the vehicle is acquired is the date monetary value was exchanged and ownership changed. If you are waiting for a title from an auction, enter any identifying information into your Police Book the day the vehicle was purchased, and go back to that entry after you receive the title to complete the entry. It is important not to forget this step.

If a vehicle was purchased at an auction, the "Bought From" entry in your Police Book should be the last person on the title, not

Use the "Remarks" section when waiting for a title.

the name of the auction.

Class A and B Dealers Specific Records Maintained, depends on the activities in which