Michigan Department of State

Registering Your Moped

Mopeds and motorcycles are registered differently under Michigan law. Some
retailers may sell what appears to be a moped, but is actually a motorcycle.
Michigan law (section 257.32b) defines a moped as a unit that meets all of the
following:

® The engine does not exceed 100 cc’s piston displacement,
® The power drive system does not require the operator to shift gears, and

® The top speed is 30 miles per hour or less on a level surface.

If a unit exceeds any of these criteria it is classified as a motorcycle. Motorcycles
for on-road use must be sold by a licensed dealership and be titled and registered.
Operation of a motorcycle requires insurance, a motorcycle endorsement, and
helmet use under certain conditions.

Equipment: The Michigan Vehicle Code requires all mopeds to have:

® A headlight mounted 24 inches to 54 inches from ground height (required
by Section 257.685) powerful enough to illuminate objects at least 100 feet
ahead (required by Section 257.702).

® Brakes on both wheels as required by Section 257.705(1)(b).

® A horn audible from at least 200 feet away as required in Section 257.706.

e A tail light as required in Section 257.686.

® A brake light as required in Sections 257.697 and 697b.

® A muffler as provided in Section 257.707 (not required for electric powered mopeds).
® A rear view mirror as required in Section 257.708.

® A permanently mounted seat as required in Section 257.658(1).

® Handlebars no higher than 15” from the lowest point of the seat to the
highest point of the hand grips (Section 257.661a).

Moped Certification I Clear Form I

| certify | wish to register the unit described below as a moped and that it meets
the Michigan definition of a moped. | also certify the unit has all of the on-road
equipment listed above required for legal operation on public roads.

Year Make VIN
Owner’s Printed Name Owner’s Signature
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