MICHIGAN DEPARTMENT OF STATE
Disability Parking Placard Application

Directions:

Office Use Only:

Expiration
Date:

Placard
Number:

Applicants please complete and sign Part 1. Your physician, chiropractor, optometrist, nurse practitioner, or physician’s assistant must complete Part 2
and the certification on the bottom of this page. If you also qualify for free parking, your physician, chiropractor, optometrist, nurse practitioner,
physician’s assistant, or physical therapist must also complete Part 3. Organizations applying for parking placards to provide transportation services for
disabled persons complete Part 4. Completed applications may be presented at any Secretary of State branch office or mailed to the address on the

reverse side of this form. (Application cannot be processed without signed release of information and physician

Part 1: Release of Information and Signature

’s certification.)

| am applying for a disability parking placard as provided in Public Act 300 of 1949. | authorize the release of the medical information described below to the Michigan

Department of State. | certify the information is true and realize by making a false statement on this application | am subject to
this form.
PLEASE PRINT OR TYPE INFORMATION REQUESTED
Asterisks (*) indicate required fields.

the penalties described on the reverse side of

Name (First, Middle, Last)* Date of Birth* Michigan Driver’s License or State ID Card #*
Street Address* County* Disability Plate Number (if any)*

City, State, Zip* Daytime Phone Number* Last Parking Permit Number

Signature of Disabled Person* Today’s Date* Are you a Michigan resident?*

X YES NO

Signature of Representative (If presented by representative)* Representative’s Driver’s License Number*
X

Part 2: Medical Eligibility Standards and Physician’s Determination

The Michigan Vehicle Code [MCL 257.19a] states that a disabled person be determined by a licensed physician, physician’s assistant, chiropractor, nurse
practitioner, physical therapist, or optometrist identifying one or more of the following characteristics which affect your patient’s ability to walk.

Circle all letters that apply* Right Eye: Left Eye: Both Eyes:

a) Blindness. Corrected acuity level: 20/ 20/ 20/

b) An inability to walk more than 200 feet without having to stop and rest. Please provide the diagnosis for this

Visual field (in degrees):

ambulatory disability:

c) Patient must use a wheelchair, walker, crutch, brace, or other ambulatory aid to walk.
Describe:

d) Patient has a lung disease from which the forced expiratory volume for one second, when measured by spirometry, is less than one liter, or from

which the arterial oxygen tension is less than 60mm/hg of room air at rest.

e) Patient has a cardiovascular condition which measures between 3 and 4 on the New York Heart Classification Scale, or which renders the patient

incapable of meeting a minimum standard for cardiovascular health established by the American Heart Asso
Michigan Department of Health and Human Services.

f) Patient has an arthritic, neurological, or orthopedic condition that severely limits ability to walk.
Describe:

ciation and approved by the

g) Patient has persistent reliance upon an oxygen source other than ordinary air.

Physician’s Certification A parking placard will be issued solely on the physician’s evaluation

Patient’s condition is*: Permanent D Temporary If temporary, estimated duration: months (maximum 6 months)
Physician’s Name* Medical Specialty* Office Telephone*

Street Address* City, State, Zip* Office Fax*

| certify the person listed above is eligible for a disability placard as provided in Public Act 300 of 1949. | also
to obtain a disability parking placard is a misdemeanor and may result in fines, imprisonment, or both.

understand that making a false statement

Medical License Number** Physician’s Signature*

X

Date*

**|If the medical license was issued in a state other than Michigan, the Physician/Physical Therapist must submit a copy of their medical license.

NOTE: If the individual listed above is also eligible for free parking, Part 3 on the reverse side of this applica
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Part 3: Free Parking Application and Physician’s Certification (Complete Parts 1, 2, and 3)

The free parking application is completed only when the applicant qualifies for free parking. To qualify, your patient must be a Michigan licensed driver,
have an ambulatory disability described in Part 2, and have one of the following conditions. Economic need is not a consideration.

Circle all letters that apply:

a) The patient cannot insert coins or tokens in a parking meter or cannot accept a ticket from a parking lot machine due to a lack of fine motor control of
both hands.

b) The patient cannot reach above their head to a height of 42 inches from the ground, due to a lack of finger, hand, or upper extremity strength or
mobility.

c) The patient cannot approach a parking meter due to use of a wheelchair or other ambulatory device.

d) The patient cannot walk more than twenty feet due to an orthopedic, cardiovascular, or lung condition in which the degree of debilitation is so severe
that it almost completely impedes the patient’s ability to walk. (A condition requiring applicant to rest after walking twenty feet when not using a
wheelchair or other ambulatory device.)

| certify the person listed on the front of this application is also eligible for free parking as provided in state law [MCL 257.675]. | understand that
making a false statement to obtain a free parking sticker is a misdemeanor and may result in fines, imprisonment, or both.

Physician’s signature: X Date
(Physician / Chiropractor / Physician’s Assistant / Optometrist / Nurse Practitioner / Physical Therapist)

Part 4: Organization Request for Disability Parking Placards
PLEASE PRINT OR TYPE INFORMATION REQUESTED

Name of Organization FEIN County Telephone Number

( )

Street Address City, State, Zip

Describe the transportation services your organization provides to persons with disabilities:

Number of disability placards you are requesting: (No more than one per vehicle used to transport clients.)

I am applying for a disability parking placard as provided in Public Act 300 of 1949 and certify the above information is true.

Signature of Organization Officer Printed Name of Organization Officer Date
X
Organization Officer’s Driver’s License Number Position (Title) Within Organization

Note: If the organization ceases to provide specialized services to disabled persons, the parking placard must be returned to the Secretary of State for
cancellation.

Penalties
Michigan Vehicle Code Section 257.676 prohibits:
. Using a disability parking placard to park in a designated parking space unless the disabled person is driving or being transported.
. Altering, modifying, or selling a disability parking placard or free parking sticker.
. Copying or forging, or using a copied or forged disability parking placard or free parking sticker.

. Making a false statement to obtain a disability parking placard or free parking sticker or committing a deception or fraud on a medical
statement attesting to a disability.

. Knowingly using or displaying a disability parking placard that has been canceled by the Secretary of State.

A violation is a misdemeanor and punishable by a fine up to $500 or imprisonment for up to 30 days, or both. A law enforcement officer may
immediately confiscate a disability parking placard for improper use.

Return completed applications to any Secretary of State branch office or mail to: Michigan Department of State
Internal Services Section
PO Box 30764
Lansing, Ml 48918

If you have any questions regarding disability parking placards, please call the Department of State Information Center at 1-888-767-6424.

The personally identifiable information collected on this form will be used by MDOS to complete the requested transaction. MDOS limits the amount of personally identifiable information to
only that information which is relevant and necessary to complete your transaction. Please be aware that under the Federal Driver’s Privacy Protection Act, 18 U.S.C. 2751, et seq. and the
Michigan Driver’s Protection law, MCL 257.208c, your personal information may be provided to third parties without additional prior notice or consent when permitted or required by law.
As a public body, MDOS is subject to the Michigan Freedom of Information Act (FOIA), MCL 15.231 et seq., and information such as a name or address may be disclosed in response to a FOIA
request pursuant to law.

Authority granted under Public Act 300 of 1949, as amended.
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