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Aircraft Transfer Questionnaire

Issued under authority of Public Act 122 of 1941.

Name (If more than one owner, provide co-owner information) Social Security/Federal Employer ID Number Telephone Number

Street Address City State ZIP Code

Aircraft Make and Model Aircraft Serial Number Reference# Aircraft Year Aircraft FAA No
Contact Name Contact Telephone Number Contact Email Address

Answer the following questions completely. You may be asked to provide copies of specific documentation to support
your response. Any exemption claim or tax liability will be based on information available to us (including the
documentation you are asked to provide) and a bill for taxes due will be sent to you, if a liability is determined.
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. Date Of PUFCRASE ......ccieiiii e e re s s s e rr e e e r e nnn

2
3. State where aircraft was purchased ...........cooiiiiiiii i
4

. Did you purchase this aircraft from a registered dealer? ..............cccceeveeeriiiineeeeennceeeeen ] Yes [ No
If yes, submit a copy of the invoice or bill of sale that indicates the tax paid.

5. Did you already submit use tax to the State of Michigan for this aircraft registration? ....... ] Yes [ No
If yes, submit both of the following:
1. Copy(ies) of the tax form(s) submitted or a copy of your cancelled check (front and back).
2. A copy of a detailed bill of sale or purchase agreement that substantiates the condition of the aircraft
at the time of purchase and the purchase price. The FAA bill of sale is not acceptable.

6. Was this aircraft purchased for rental puUrpoSes? .......ccciiiiiiiiii i e ] Yes ] No
If yes, a lessor may elect only one of the following:
1. Pay use tax on receipts from the rental or lease of the aircraft, or,
2. Pay sales or use tax on the full cost of the property.

For tax years that begin after December 31, 2001, in order to make a valid election a lessor of tangible
personal property that is an aircraft must obtain a use tax registration by the earlier of:

1. The date set for the first payment of use tax under the lease or rental agreement, or,

2. 90 days after the lessor first brings the aircraft into this state.

If you are claiming to be a lessor of aircraft, please provide all of the following:
1. Copies of all the lease agreements for this aircraft.
2. A copy of your Michigan Use Tax Registration.
3. Copies of the flight logs for this aircraft.
4. Copies of advertisements and/or marketing agreements.

7. Will this aircraft be used solely for personal, nonbusiness purposes? ..........c.ccccvevviennnns L] Yes L] No
Provide an explanation on how this aircraft will be used.

8. What state were you a resident of when this plane was purchased? ............c.coceeviinnnn

9. When did the plane first enter Michigan? ............cooiiiiiiiiii s

10. Do you have an appraisal dated within 6 months from the purchase date for this aircraft? ] Yes ] No
If yes, submit a copy of the appraisal.

11. Attach a list of any recent improvements, additions, or repairs made to this aircraft after purchase. Include the
description of the improvement, the cost, and the date the improvement was made.
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12. Did you purchase this aircraft under one of the following claims of exemption?................ ] Yes [ No

| Relative Exemption Claim
Provide copies of documentation showing the relationship between you (the buyer) and the seller. Examples include marriage licenses,
birth certificates and certified letters of guardianship issued by a court.

Michigan grants an exemption from use tax when the buyer and seller have an immediate family relationship. The only qualifying
relationships are:

Spouse

Parent, natural or adoptive Stepparent, stepbrother, stepsister, stepchild

Brother or sister Father-in-law, mother-in-law, brother-in-law, sister-in-law, son-in-law,
Grandparent or grandchild daughter-in-law, or grandparent-in-law. Step in-laws are not eligible

Child, natural or adopted Legal ward, or legally appointed guardian with a certified letter of guardianship

] Exemption for Agricultural Use

Submit copies of your Pesticide Applicator’s license issued by the Michigan Department of Agriculture and the Special Airworthiness
Certificate issued by the FAA that restricts usage of this particular aircraft to agriculture and pest control.

| Transfer of an Aircraft to or from a Business

Provide copies of tax receipts and business documents such as corporate meeting minutes or dissolution papers. Refer to Revenue
Administrative Bulletin 2020-20 on our Treasury website at www.michigan.gov/treasury for additional information.

The transfer of an aircraft to or from a business may be exempt from use tax under the following three criteria:

1. Sales or use tax was previously paid to Michigan on the aircraft (or the aircraft was determined exempt from Michigan
sales or use tax), AND,

2. The aircraft is being transferred as part of the organization, reorganization, dissolution or partial liquidation of a
business, AND,

3. The beneficial ownership is not changed (i.e., no one can profit from the ownership transfer).

| Claim of Resale

Submit copies of each document listed.
1. A valid Michigan sales tax license.
2. Evidence to support at time of purchase, the purchase was intended for resale.

"] Inheritance
1. Submit a copy of the will or trust that names you as the beneficiary of the aircraft.

Domestic Air Carrier Exemption under MCL 205.54x

Submit copy of FAA aircraft registration.

Submit copy of FAA 135 Air Carrier or Operating Certificate.

Submit evidence showing entity’s availability to the public as an air carrier or cargo transport.
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] Non-Profit Exemption
Refer to Revenue Administrative Bulletin 2020-25 on our Treasury website at www.michigan.gov/treasury for additional information.

1. Submit copy of entity’s articles of incorporation.
2. Submit statement of purpose for aircraft.
3. Submit copy of IRS non-profit approval letter.

Return this form to the address below. Direct questions to Aircraft Unit, Discovery and Tax Enforcement at 517-636-4120.

Post Office Mail Address: Express Mail Address:

Michigan Department of Treasury Michigan Department of Treasury
Discovery and Tax Enforcement Division Discovery and Tax Enforcement Division
PO Box 30140 7285 Parsons Drive

Lansing MI 48909 Dimondale M| 48821
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