Riding a Motorcycle in Michigan
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Michigan Department of Insurance and Financial Services
Quick Facts

Anyone operating a motorcycle in Michigan must purchase liability coverage through a licensed insurer.
Motorcycle insurance is not the same as the no-fault benefits you are required to purchase to operate an
automobile. In fact, motorcycles are specifically excluded as a motor vehicle under Michigan’s no-fault law
and are not entitled to no-fault benefits except in certain accidents (see below). It is important to understand
the differences between automobile and motorcycle insurance to ensure you are protected.

Definition of a Motorcycle
The Michigan Insurance Code defines a motorcycle as a vehicle with a saddle or seat, no more than three
wheels, and has a motor that exceeds 50 ccs. A motorcycle does not include a moped or off-road vehicle.

Insurance Coverage
Liability coverage provides protection against bodily injury or death suffered by another person or damage
your motorcycle does to other people’s property.

Michigan law requires motorcyclists to purchase at least a minimal amount of liability coverage, which
includes:

e $50,000 for a person who is hurt/killed in an accident
e $100,000 for each accident if several people are hurt/killed
e $10,000 for property damage

Higher limits may be purchased to provide additional protection. Consider discussing your options with a
licensed insurance agent or insurer.

An insurer selling a motorcycle policy in Michigan must offer the choice to purchase optional medical
benefits. These medical benefits provide coverage to a motorcyclist if they are injured in an accident where
no other insurance coverage is available. Medical benefits can be purchased in increments of $5,000;
however, the maximum amount of coverage available is up to each insurer.

Under the Michigan Vehicle Code, an individual operating a motorcycle is required to wear a helmet unless
they carry at least $20,000 of medical benefits coverage. In addition, a motorcyclist must have at least
$20,000 of medical benefits for each rider choosing not to wear a helmet, unless the rider carries their own
medical benefits coverage of at least $20,000.
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An insurer may offer other optional coverages, such as collision and comprehensive coverage, to insure
physical damage to the motorcycle. Discuss your options with a licensed insurance agent or insurer.

Coverage in the Event of an Accident

If a motorcyclist is injured in an accident involving an insured motor vehicle, the motorcyclist is entitled to
receive Personal Injury Protection (PIP) benefits from the insurer of the motor vehicle. PIP medical benefits
pay allowable expenses for medical care, recovery, rehabilitation, wage loss, and replacement services, up
to the PIP coverage limit on the motor vehicle’s auto policy. PIP coverage also includes some funeral
expenses and survivor’'s benefits, which are paid to dependents of a motorcyclist if injuries from an accident
result in their death.

If, after a crash involving a motor vehicle, no PIP coverage is available, motorcyclists are eligible for up to
$250,000 in PIP benefits from the Michigan Assigned Claims Plan (MACP). The MACP is a statutorily
created organization, which provides assistance to people injured in an accident involving a motor vehicle
when there is no automobile insurance coverage available.

If a motor vehicle is not involved in the accident, an injured motorcyclist would seek benefits through their
health plan or the medical benefits purchased with their motorcycle insurance.

If you have questions about motorcycle insurance, the Department of Insurance and Financial Services
(DIFS) is here to help.

About DIFS

The mission of the Michigan Department of Insurance and Financial Services is to ensure access to safe
and secure insurance and financial services fundamental for the opportunity, security and success of
Michigan residents, while fostering economic growth and sustainability in both industries. In addition, the
Department provides consumer protection, outreach, and financial literacy and education services to
Michigan citizens. For more information please contact DIFS at 833-ASK-DIFS or visit
www.michigan.gov/DIFS.
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