Skip to main content

What hours are Secretary of State offices open?

When you schedule an office visit, you will be able to select a time and day convenient for you.

We recommend scheduling a visit, so you can be served on time and be back on your way in about 20 minutes. When you schedule a visit, the system will walk you through everything you need to bring with you for your transaction, helping you to avoid having to make a return visit.

Visits may be scheduled up to six months in advance. To schedule your visit, go to Michigan.gov/SOS and select Schedule a visit or call 888-SOS-MICH (888-767-6424).

If you’re unable to schedule a visit, you can stop by an office and staff will serve you if there is availability, invite you to wait or return for the next opening the same day, or assist you in scheduling a visit convenient for you, often for the next day.

Offices are open from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Eastern Time (8 a.m. to 4 p.m. Central Time) on Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, and Friday, and from 11 a.m. to 7 p.m. Eastern Time (10 a.m. to 6 p.m. Central Time) on Wednesday. Some offices may close for lunch or may only be open on certain weekdays. All offices are closed on state holidays.

TIP: Scheduling your visit is the best way to minimize your time in the office.

Schedule an office visit

 

 

Updated Sept. 21, 2022