June 22, 2020 Supersedes April 28, 2020

Temporary Marijuana Events

The intent of this bulletin is to provide the public and the marijuana industry with information regarding temporary marijuana events.

Temporary Event License Required

Pursuant to Rule 21 (3) of the Marihuana Licenses Rule Set (R 420.21(3)), a person that allows consumption of marijuana products on the premises of a nonresidential location and charges a fee for entry, sells goods or services while individuals are consuming on the premises, or requires membership for entry shall acquire a designated consumption establishment or temporary marijuana event license.

Eligibility for a Temporary License

A person must apply for and be granted a marijuana event organizer license to be eligible to hold a temporary marijuana event.

Licensing Process

If a marijuana event organizer plans to hold a temporary marijuana event, the application for the temporary marijuana event must be received by the Marijuana Regulatory Agency (MRA) at least 90 days before the first day of the event. This 90-day timeframe is to ensure the MRA has ample processing time to approve and issue a license for the event prior to it occurring.

The steps for obtaining a temporary marijuana event license – which may be done separately or all at once – are as follows:

- Obtain Prequalification status apply using the Step 1 Prequalification application.
- Obtain a Marijuana Event Organizer license apply using the Step 2 Marijuana Event Organizer license application.
- Obtain a Temporary Marijuana Event license apply using the Temporary Marijuana Event license application.



June 22, 2020 Supersedes April 28, 2020

Sales During Temporary Events

Only retailers and microbusinesses issued an adult-use license under the Michigan Regulation and Taxation of Marihuana Act (MRTMA) are authorized to make sales of marijuana to customers during licensed temporary marijuana events.

The marijuana event organizer may also sell marijuana products at the temporary marijuana event if the marijuana event organizer separately holds a state license as a marijuana retailer or marijuana microbusiness.

Only persons age 21 years of age or older may purchase and consume marijuana products at a temporary marijuana event. Prior to selling marijuana products to a customer, the licensee making the sale shall confirm, using valid identification as specified in the act and the rules, the age and identity of the customer.

<u>Licensed Temporary Events Under COVID-19 Executive Orders</u>

On June 5, 2020, Governor Gretchen Whitmer signed <u>Executive Order 2020-114</u> that created an enforceable set of workplace standards applicable to all Michigan businesses. On June 5, 2020, the Governor also signed <u>Executive Order 2020-115</u> that moves Regions 6 and 8 to Stage 5 of the <u>Michigan Safe Start Plan</u>. All other regions continue to remain in Stage 4. On May 18, 2020, Governor Whitmer issued <u>Executive Directive 2020-6</u> that directs each state agency to enforce workplace health and safety standards and take enforcement actions to ensure compliance.

In accordance with Governor Whitmer's Executive Orders and Executive Directive, the MRA is taking proactive steps to ensure licensees holding licensed temporary events implement infection-control practices to protect their employees and event attendees.

The following will remain in effect while the executive orders and ED 2020-6 are in effect.

Temporary Marijuana Events, licensed only for sale of marijuana products, must:

 Make signs, pamphlets, etc. to inform attendees of changes to Temporary Marijuana Events practices and explain precautions being taken to prevent infection. At a minimum, material(s) should substantially conform to the information provided here.



ADVISORY BULLETIN

June 22, 2020 Supersedes April 28, 2020

- Establish lines with markings for attendees to enable them to stand at least six feet apart from one another while waiting to regulate entry in accordance with the following restrictions:
 - Except in Regions 6 and 8, for indoor Temporary Marijuana Event locations:
 - Of less than 50,000 square feet of attendee floor space, must limit the number of attendees in the location (including employees) to 25% of the total occupancy limits established by the State Fire Marshal or a local fire marshal.
 - Of more than 50,000 square feet of attendee floor space, must limit the number of attendees in the location at one time (excluding employees) to 4 attendees per 1,000 square feet of attendee floor space.
- Post signs at location entrance(s) instructing attendees of their legal obligation to wear a face covering when inside the location. At a minimum, signs should substantially conform to the information provided here.
- Post signs at location entrance(s) informing attendees not to enter if they
 are or have recently been sick. At a minimum, signs should substantially
 conform to the information provided here.
- Install physical barriers at checkout or other service points that require interaction, including plexiglass barriers, tape markings, or tables, as appropriate.
- Train employees on the following topics:
 - How to manage symptomatic attendees upon entry or in the location.
 - Appropriate cleaning procedures, including training cashiers on cleaning between attendees.
- Limit staffing to the minimum number necessary to operate.
- Make hand sanitizer, disinfecting wipes, soap and water, or similar disinfectant readily available.
- For indoor locations, ensure that ventilation systems operate properly, and increase introduction and circulation of outdoor air as much as possible by opening windows and doors, using fans, or other methods.
- Regularly clean and disinfect public areas and restrooms.

In addition to the requirements listed above, Temporary Marijuana Events, licensed for sale or consumption of marijuana products, must:



ADVISORY BULLETIN

June 22, 2020 Supersedes April 28, 2020

- For indoor consumption, limit capacity to 50% of normal seating.
- Require six feet of separation between attendees.
- Make signs, pamphlets, etc. to tell attendees changes to Temporary
 Marijuana Event practices and explain precautions being taken to prevent
 infection. At a minimum, material(s) should substantially conform to the
 information provided here.
- Provide physical guides, such as tape on floors or sidewalks and signage on walls to ensure that attendees remain at least six feet apart in any lines.
- Post sign(s) at location entrance(s) informing attendees not to enter if they
 are or have recently been sick. At a minimum, signs should substantially
 conform to the information provided here.
- Post sign(s) instructing attendees to wear face coverings when feasible. At a minimum, signs should substantially conform to the information provided here.
- Train employees on how to manage symptomatic attendees upon entry or in the Temporary Marijuana Event.
- Close the Temporary Marijuana Event immediately if an employee/attendee shows multiple symptoms of COVID-19 (fever, atypical shortness of breath, atypical cough) and perform a deep clean, consistent with guidance from FDA and the Center for Disease Control. Such cleaning may occur overnight.
- Make hand sanitizer, disinfecting wipes, soap and water, or similar disinfectant readily available.
- For indoor locations, ensure that ventilation systems operate properly, and increase introduction and circulation of outdoor air as much as possible by opening windows and doors, using fans, or other methods.
- Regularly clean and disinfect public areas, locker rooms, and restrooms.

In addition to the requirements listed above, outdoor Temporary Marijuana Events, licensed for consumption or sale of marijuana products, except in Regions 6 and 8, must:

- Prohibit gatherings of any size in which attendees cannot maintain six feet of distance from one another.
- Limit in-person interaction with attendees to the maximum extent possible, and bar any such interaction in which attendees cannot maintain six feet of distance from one another.



ADVISORY BULLETIN

June 22, 2020 Supersedes April 28, 2020

- For locations, to the extent feasible, adopt specified entry and exit times for vulnerable populations, as well as specified entrances and exits.
- Provide and require the use of personal protective equipment such as gloves, goggles, face shields, and face coverings, as appropriate for the activity being performed.
- Adopt protocols to limit the sharing of tools and equipment to the maximum extent possible and to ensure frequent and thorough cleaning and disinfection of tools, equipment, and frequently touched surfaces.

Violations of the requirements applicable to temporary marijuana events may result in disciplinary action against the marijuana event organizer license or any other licenses held by a licensee participating in the temporary marijuana event and responsible for a violation of the act or the rules.

Please refer to Rule 25 of the Marihuana Licenses Rule Set (R 420.25) for additional information regarding temporary marijuana events. For information regarding licensing fees for temporary marijuana events, refer to Rule 26 of the Marihuana Licenses Rule Set (R 420.26). For information regarding temporary marijuana event sales, refer to Rule 27 of the Marihuana Licenses Rule Set (R 420.27).

A complete copy of the rules can be found <u>here</u>. More information on the MRA can be found at the agency website: <u>www.michigan.gov/MRA</u>. Executive Orders issued by Governor Whitmer can be found <u>here</u>.

Questions can be sent to the Marijuana Regulatory Agency via email at MRA-Adult-Use-Marijuana@michigan.gov.