

Temporary Marijuana Events

The intent of this bulletin is to provide the public and the marijuana industry with information regarding Temporary Marijuana Events.

Temporary Event License Required

Pursuant to the Marihuana Licenses Rule Set, a person that allows consumption of marijuana products on the premises of a nonresidential location and charges a fee for entry, sells goods or services while individuals are consuming on the premises, or requires membership for entry shall acquire a Designated Consumption Establishment or Temporary Marijuana Event license.

Eligibility for a Temporary Marijuana Event License

A person must apply for and be granted a Marijuana Event Organizer license to be eligible to hold a Temporary Marijuana Event.

Licensing Process

If a Marijuana Event Organizer plans to hold a Temporary Marijuana Event, the application for the Temporary Marijuana Event must be received by the Cannabis Regulatory Agency (CRA) at least 90 days before the first day of the event. This 90-day timeframe is to ensure the CRA has ample processing time to approve and issue a license for the event prior to it occurring.

The steps for obtaining a Temporary Marijuana Event license – which may be done separately or all at once – are as follows:

- Obtain Prequalification status apply using the Step 1 Prequalification application
- Obtain a Marijuana Event Organizer license apply using the Step 2 Marijuana Event Organizer license application
- Obtain a Temporary Marijuana Event license apply using the Temporary Marijuana Event license application

Questions can be sent to the Cannabis Regulatory Agency via email at <u>CRA-Adult-Use-</u><u>Marijuana@michigan.gov.</u>

Sales During Temporary Marijuana Events

Only retailers and microbusinesses issued an adult-use license under the Michigan Regulation and Taxation of Marihuana Act (MRTMA) are authorized to make sales of marijuana to customers during licensed Temporary Marijuana Events.



The Marijuana Event Organizer may also sell marijuana products at the Temporary Marijuana Event if the Marijuana Event Organizer separately holds a state license as a Marijuana Retailer or Marijuana Microbusiness.

Only persons age 21 years of age or older may purchase and consume marijuana products at a Temporary Marijuana Event. Prior to selling marijuana products to a customer, the licensee making the sale shall confirm – using valid identification as specified in the act and the rules – the age and identity of the customer.

COVID-19 Pandemic

All marijuana businesses need to be aware of and become familiar with:

- The Michigan Department Health and Human Services (MDHHS) Emergency Orders
- The <u>Department of Labor and Economic Opportunity Michigan Occupational</u> <u>Safety and</u> <u>Health Administration General Rules (MIOSHA) Emergency Rules</u>
- Any local health orders in their area related to the COVID-19 pandemic

A complete copy of the Michigan Regulation and Taxation of Marihuana Act Administrative (MRTMA) Rules can be found <u>here.</u>

More information on the CRA can be found at the agency website: <u>www.michigan.gov/CRA.</u>