The web Browser you are currently using is unsupported, and some features of this site may not work as intended. Please update to a modern browser such as Chrome, Firefox or Edge to experience all features Michigan.gov has to offer.
Make the Right Play This Super Bowl Sunday - Serve Responsibly
Michigan’s Liquor Control Commission offers safety tips for liquor licensees
Media Contact: LARA Communications 517-373-9280
February 2, 2017 – As football fans across the state celebrate the big game this weekend, the Michigan Liquor Control Commission (MLCC) is reminding liquor licensees to serve patrons responsibly.
During the Super Bowl, there is always an expected increase in business at restaurants and bars. That’s why MLCC Chairman Andy Deloney is offering the state’s 17,000 liquor licensees tips to help ensure a safe Super Bowl weekend.
“I encourage fans heading out for the big game to do so responsibly,” said Deloney. “Michigan has thousands of winning local establishments that will be carrying all the action, and they share responsibilities toward keeping fans safe. That means keeping themselves and their employees informed of state laws, not overserving patrons and serving only to those of legal drinking age.”
Tips for liquor licensees:
- Watch out for overcrowding; this can lead to problems like altercations and obstructed exits, and is a safety and fire hazard. Know your establishment’s capacity level.
- Know the signs of intoxication. Do not sell or serve alcoholic beverages to a person who appears intoxicated and do not allow an intoxicated person to consume alcoholic beverages on the licensed premises.
- Establish a policy and procedure for staff to check identification; licensees have a legal obligation to determine whether a patron is 21 years or older before selling or serving alcohol to them. Asking for valid identification is easy and will prevent violations.
- Keep order and control of the premises by constant observance of customers and situations. Remember, this is the licensee’s responsibility.
- Establish a policy and procedure for staff to report suspected illegal activity to management.
The MLCC works to ensure no licensee in Michigan illegally sells alcohol – directly or indirectly – to anyone under the age of 21. That’s why the MLCC has teamed up with the “21 to Buy, Not Supply” campaign to promote awareness of the illegal transfer or sale of alcohol to the underage and its consequences. Many may not know that providing alcohol to minors is a major offense that can lead to $1,000 in fines and up to 90 days in jail. While some may be tempted to let minors drink during the big game, the punishment – and the danger – is not worth the risk.
For more information about LARA, please visit www.michigan.gov/lara