The web Browser you are currently using is unsupported, and some features of this site may not work as intended. Please update to a modern browser such as Chrome, Firefox or Edge to experience all features Michigan.gov has to offer.
Michigan Liquor Control Commission Suspends Liquor License for Silver Beach Hotel for 19 Days
Media Contact: LARA Communications 517-373-9280
November 6, 2017 - At the Michigan Liquor Control Commission hearing last week in Southfield, MI, the Michigan Liquor Control Commission (MLCC) ordered the suspension of the liquor license and permits held by ASJJ Hotel Properties, Inc – doing business as Silver Beach Hotel – located at 100 Main St, Saint Joseph, MI.
Under MCL 436.1903(1), the Commission is required to impose a suspension or revocation of the liquor license if a licensee is found liable for three violations of MCL 436.1801(2) on different occasions within a 24-month period. For ASJJ Hotel Properties, four violations occurred within nine months:
- On January 27, 2016, the licensee sold or furnished alcohol to an 18-year old minor. The licensee’s employee neither demanded nor was shown proper identification and did not make a diligent inquiry to determine the true age of the purchaser. In addition, the posted liquor license was not signed as required by administrative rules.
- On March 17, 2016, the licensee sold or furnished alcohol to a 19-year old minor. The bartender did not ask the minor’s age, nor did he ask for the minor’s Michigan Driver’s License – yet he approved the sale.
- On June 4, 2016, the licensee allowed a fight on the licensed premises. The licensee sold or furnished alcoholic liquor to a person in a visibly intoxicated condition and allowed him to consume it upon the licensed premises. Saint Joseph Police Incident No. 16-001876 indicates the patron was so intoxicated that he had to be leaned against the police vehicle because he was unable to stand. The licensee also allowed alcoholic liquor, sold for consumption on the licensed premises, to be removed from the licensed premises.
- On October 27, 2016, the licensee sold or furnished alcoholic liquor to a 20-year old minor. The bartender asked for and checked the minor’s vertical Michigan Driver’s License, which clearly indicated “Under 21.”
ASJJ Hotel Properties – doing business as Silver Beach Hotel – has held a State of Michigan liquor license since February 10, 2003. After reviewing the record of the violations within a consecutive 24-month period which necessitated the penalty hearing, hearing arguments from ASJJ Hotel Properties, and reviewing the MLCC file, the Commission found that a 19-day suspension is warranted, to be served from Thursday, November 9, 2017 through Monday, November 27, 2017.
"Part of the Commission's legal responsibility is conducting these penalty hearings in order to suspend or revoke licenses, but also to make sure the health, safety, and welfare of the public is protected," said MLCC Chairman Andy Deloney. "According to the state liquor control code, the Commission is required to suspend or revoke a license in a situation like this. After reviewing the file and considering the entirety of the record, the Commission felt that this suspension was appropriate."
For more information about the MLCC, please visit http://www.michigan.gov/lcc
For more information about LARA, please visit www.michigan.gov/lara
Follow us on Twitter www.twitter.com/michiganLARA