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Homeowners Insurance: Are You Eligible? 
 

The Essential Insurance Act guarantees that 
auto and home insurance will be available to 
most Michigan citizens. The law states that you 
are eligible for home insurance if you live in and 
rent or own one of the following: a house, a 
condominium, a cooperative unit, a room, or an 
apartment.  You are also eligible if you own and 
live in a dwelling having more than 1 but not 
more than 4 separate living units (such as a 
duplex). 

Reasons for Denial 
Under this new law, you cannot be denied 
insurance solely because of the age of     your 
house, its location, or the type of neighborhood 
you live in.  There are times when a company 
can refuse to insure you.  You can be turned 
down for insurance if: 
 
1. Within the past five years, you have been 

found guilty of a crime (or an attempt to 
commit a crime) of arson, the use of 
explosives, or destroying property. 

 
2. Within the past five years, you have been 

denied payment of a claim because there 
was evidence of arson or fraud on your part. 

 
3. The property you want to insure is used for 

illegal or dangerous purposes. 
 
4. You refuse to purchase the minimum 

required amount of coverage required for 
the type of policy you want to buy. 

 
5. Within the past two years your home 

insurance has been cancelled because of 

non-payment of premium.  This can be 
overlooked if you pay the entire premium on 
the policy you are buying in advance. 

6. The value of the property you want to insure 
does not meet the minimum requirements 
for the type of policy you want to buy.  The 
law requires that if you want to buy a repair 
cost policy through the regular market, the 
insured value of your home must be at least 
$15,000. If you want to buy a replacement 
cost policy through the regular market, the 
insured value of your home must be at least 
$35,000. 

 
7. The taxes on the property you want to 

insure are over two years past due. 
 
8. The insurance you want to buy requires you 

to be a member of a group, club or 
organization and you do not join that 
organization. 

 
Insurance companies also use certain 
guidelines, called underwriting rules, to help 
decide whether they will insure or continue to 
insure you. These rules may be somewhat 
different for each company, but each company 
must apply its rules in the same way to 
everyone. 

 
These rules may be based on several factors 
such as how well your property is kept up and 
the amount and/or kind of insurance claims you 
have made in the past. 
 
If a Company Refuses to Insure You 

 

 

1. You are entitled to a WRITTEN explanation 
of the reasons. 
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2. If you think the reasons are unfair, you are 
entitled to a private, informal conference 
with a management representative of the 
company. 

 
3. If, after this conference, you are still not 

satisfied, the matter can be reviewed by the 
Department of Insurance and Financial 
Services (DIFS). 
 

If you are unable to find insurance through a 
regular company, or can only find it at an 
extremely high price, you may want to apply to 
the Michigan Basic Property Insurance 
Association (MBPIA). This organization is 
designed to provide insurance to those persons 
who have difficulty finding it through regular 
companies. Your agent can apply to MBPIA for 
you. Additional information on the MBPIA can 
be obtained from the Insurance Counselor 
entitled, “The Michigan Basic Property 
Insurance Association.” 
 
If You Are Eligible 
 
1. Be sure to shop around for the best 

combination of price, coverage and service. 
 
2. Your agent should provide you a premium 

quote from among the companies he or she 
represents.    

 
Upon your request, your agent must also 
provide you with additional quotes and must 
submit an application for you to any 
company he or she represents. 

 
3. You are eligible for a wide variety of 

coverages.  Be sure to ask for coverage for 
your specific needs. 

 
4. There are two types of homeowners 

policies: replacement cost policies and 
repair cost or market value policies. 

 

 
A replacement cost policy is what most 
people mean by “homeowners insurance.” It 
allows you to repair, replace or rebuild your 
damaged property to its original condition 
with new materials of the same size, kind 
and quality. 

 
A repair cost policy allows you to repair, 
replace or rebuild your damaged property to 
a condition similar to what it was before the 
damage, using modern materials. A repair 
costs policy generally provides less total 
insurance than a replacement cost policy for 
about the same price. 

 
Be sure to choose the type suited to your 
needs. The Insurance Counselor entitled 
“Homeowners Insurance: Replacement vs 
Repair Cost Policies” gives more information 
about these two types of policies. 
 
If you have any questions about your home 
insurance, contact your agent or company. If 
they cannot answer your questions, contact 
DIFS at the address or phone number on the 
bottom of this sheet.  
 

About DIFS  
The mission of the Michigan Department of 
Insurance and Financial Services is to ensure 
access to safe and secure insurance and 
financial services fundamental for the 
opportunity, security and success of Michigan 
residents, while fostering economic growth and 
sustainability in both industries. In addition, the 
Department provides consumer protection, 
outreach, and financial literacy and education 
services to Michigan citizens. For more 
information please contact DIFS at 877-999-
6442 or visit www.michigan.gov/DIFS 
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