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This brochure gives an overview of the most
common type of vehicle lease—a closed-end
lease.With this type of lease, you may return the
vehicle at lease end, pay any end-of-lease costs,
and “walk away.”This brochure also provides you
with a comparison of leasing and buying.

The federal Consumer Leasing Act gives you the
right to information that helps you understand and
negotiate your lease. A number of leasing options
are available. Look for the lease that best fits your
needs, your budget, and your driving patterns.

Inside is a sample form like the one your dealer or
leasing company must give you before you sign a
lease.

���������������������������
����������������������

At the beginning of the lease, you may have to
pay your first monthly payment; a refundable
security deposit or your last monthly payment;
other fees for licenses, registration, and title; a
capitalized cost reduction (like a down payment);
an acquisition fee (also called a processing or
assignment fee); freight or destination charges;
and state or local taxes.

During the lease, you will have to pay your
monthly payment; any additional taxes not included
in the payment such as sales, use, and personal
property taxes; insurance premiums; ongoing
maintenance costs; and any fees for late payment.
You’ll also have to pay for safety and emissions
inspections and any traffic tickets. If you end your
lease early, you may have to pay substantial early
termination charges.

At the end of the lease, if you don’t buy the
vehicle, you may have to pay a disposition fee and
charges for excess miles and excess wear.

Leasing form inside �
FRB1-1000000-997C

The following agencies and organizations cooperated in
preparing this brochure:
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Ask for alternatives to advertised specials and
other lease offerings.
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Contact your dealer, manufacturer, leasing company, or financial
institution for more information.

The federal Consumer Leasing Act and some state laws may
provide you with additional consumer rights not covered in your
lease agreement. For information on these laws, contact your
state’s consumer protection agency or Attorney General’s office.
You also can contact

Division of Consumer
& Community Affairs

Mail Stop 800
Federal Reserve Board
Washington, DC  20551

or Consumer Response Center
Federal Trade Commission
6th and Pennsylvania Ave., N.W.
Washington, DC  20580

To obtain additional copies of this brochure, contact Publications
Services, Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System,
Mail Stop 127, Washington, DC 20551.

Learn more about leasing on the Federal Reserve Board’s Web
site:  http://www.bog.frb.fed.us/pubs/leasing

Printed with permission and made available from the
Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System.

Bureau of Automotive Regulation
Telephone: 800/292-4204

SOS-366 (5/98) Printed under authority of PA 300 of 1949.
30,000; $2,567; $0.09
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Contact your dealer, manufacturer, leasing company, or financial
institution for more information.

The federal Consumer Leasing Act and some state laws may
provide you with additional consumer rights not covered in your
lease agreement. For information on these laws, contact your
state’s consumer protection agency or Attorney General’s office.
You also can contact
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Washington, DC  20551

orConsumer Response Center
Federal Trade Commission
6th and Pennsylvania Ave., N.W.
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This brochure gives an overview of the most 
common type of vehicle lease—a closed-end 
lease. With this type of lease, you may return the 
vehicle at lease end, pay any end-of-lease costs, 
and “walk away.” This brochure also provides you 
with a comparison of leasing and buying. 

The federal Consumer Leasing Act gives you the 
right to information that helps you understand and 
negotiate your lease. A number of leasing options 
are available. Look for the lease that best fits your 
needs, your budget, and your driving patterns. 

Inside is a sample form like the one your dealer or 
leasing company must give you before you sign a 
lease. 
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At the beginning of the lease, you may have to 
pay your first monthly payment; a refundable 
security deposit or your last monthly payment; 
other fees for licenses, registration, and title; a 
capitalized cost reduction (like a down payment); 
an acquisition fee (also called a processing or 
assignment fee); freight or destination charges; 
and state or local taxes. 

During the lease,  you will have to pay your 
monthly payment; any additional taxes not included 
in the payment such as sales, use, and personal 
property taxes; insurance premiums; ongoing 
maintenance costs; and any fees for late payment. 
You’ll also have to pay for safety and emissions 
inspections and any traffic tickets. If you end your 
lease early, you may have to pay substantial early 
termination charges. 

At the end of the lease,  if you don’t buy the 
vehicle, you may have to pay a disposition fee and 
charges for excess miles and excess wear. 
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�easing

You do not own the vehicle. You get to use it but
must return it at the end of the lease unless you
choose to buy it.

�p-front costs may include the first month�s pay-
ment, a refundable security deposit, a capitalized
cost reduction �like a down payment�, taxes, reg-
istration and other fees, and other charges.

Monthly lease payments are usually lower than
monthly loan payments because you are paying
only for the vehicle�s depreciation during the lease
term, plus rent charges �like interest�, taxes, and
fees.

You are responsible for any early termination
charges if you end the lease early.

You may return the vehicle at lease end, pay any
end-of-lease costs, and "walk away."

The lessor has the risk of the future market value
of the vehicle.

Most leases limit the number of miles you may
drive �often ��,������,��� per year�. You can
negotiate a higher mileage limit and pay a higher
monthly payment. You will likely have to pay
charges for exceeding those limits if you return
the vehicle.

Most leases limit wear to the vehicle during the
lease term. You will likely have to pay extra
charges for exceeding those limits if you return
the vehicle.

At the end of the lease �typically ��� years�, you
may have a new payment either to finance the
purchase of the existing vehicle or to lease another
vehicle.

�uying

You own the vehicle and get to keep it at the end
of the financing term.

�p-front costs include the cash price or a down
payment, taxes, registration and other fees, and
other charges.

Monthly loan payments are usually higher than
monthly lease payments because you are paying
for the entire purchase price of the vehicle, plus
interest and other finance charges, taxes, and
fees.

You are responsible for any pay-off amount if you
end the loan early.

You may have to sell or trade the vehicle when
you decide you want a different vehicle.

You have the risk of the vehicle�s market value
when you trade or sell it.

You may drive as many miles as you want, but
higher mileage will lower the vehicle�s trade-in or
resale value.

There are no limits or charges for excessive wear
to the vehicle, but excessive wear will lower the
vehicle�s trade-in or resale value.

At the end of the loan term �typically ��� years�,
you have no further loan payments.

Ownership

Up-front costs

Monthly
payments

Early
termination

Vehicle return

Future value

Mileage

Excess wear

�easing is different from buying.

�ere�s how . . .

End of term
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This brochure gives an overview of the most
common type of vehicle lease—a closed-end
lease.With this type of lease, you may return the
vehicle at lease end, pay any end-of-lease costs,
and “walk away.”This brochure also provides you
with a comparison of leasing and buying.

The federal Consumer Leasing Act gives you the
right to information that helps you understand and
negotiate your lease. A number of leasing options
are available. Look for the lease that best fits your
needs, your budget, and your driving patterns.

Inside is a sample form like the one your dealer or
leasing company must give you before you sign a
lease.

Consider beginning� middle�
and end�of�lease costs

At the beginning of the lease, you may have to
pay your first monthly payment; a refundable
security deposit or your last monthly payment;
other fees for licenses, registration, and title; a
capitalized cost reduction (like a down payment);
an acquisition fee (also called a processing or
assignment fee); freight or destination charges;
and state or local taxes.

During the lease, you will have to pay your
monthly payment; any additional taxes not included
in the payment such as sales, use, and personal
property taxes; insurance premiums; ongoing
maintenance costs; and any fees for late payment.
You’ll also have to pay for safety and emissions
inspections and any traffic tickets. If you end your
lease early, you may have to pay substantial early
termination charges.

At the end of the lease, if you don’t buy the
vehicle, you may have to pay a disposition fee and
charges for excess miles and excess wear.

Leasing form inside �
FRB1-1000000-997C
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You can compare different lease offers
 
and negotiate some terms.
 
Consider . . .
 

• the agreed-upon value of the vehicle-a lower value can 
reduce your monthly payment 

• up-front payments, including the capitalized cost 
reduction 

• the length of the lease 

• the monthly lease payment 

• any end-of-lease fees and charges 

• the mileage allowed and per-mile charges for excess 
miles 

• the option to purchase either at lease end or earlier 

• whether your lease includes "gap" coverage, which 
protects you if the vehicle is stolen or totaled in an 
accident. 

Ask for alternatives to advertised specials and 
other lease offerings. 

Know your rights and responsibilities 

When you lease a vehicle, you have the right to 
• use it for an agreed-upon number of months and
 

miles
 

• turn it in at lease end, pay any end-of-lease fees
 
and charges, and "walk away"
 

• buy the vehicle if you have a purchase option 

• take advantage of any warranties, recalls, or other
 
services that apply to the vehicle.
 

You may be responsible for 
• excess mileage charges when you return the
 

vehicle. Your lease agreement will tell you how
 
many miles you can drive before you must pay for
 
extra miles and how much the per-mile charge will
 

be 

• excess wear charges when you return the vehicle.
 
The standards for excess wear, such as for body
 
damage or worn tires, are in your lease agreement
 

• substantial payments if you end the lease early.  The
 
earlier you end the lease, the greater these charges
 
are likely to be.
 

For more information . . . 

Contact your dealer, manufacturer, leasing company, or financial 
institution for more information. 

The federal Consumer Leasing Act and some state laws may 
provide you with additional consumer rights not covered in your 
lease agreement. For information on these laws, contact your 
state’s consumer protection agency or Attorney General’s office. 
You also can contact 

Division of Consumer 
& Community Affairs 

Mail Stop 800 
Federal Reserve Board 
Washington, DC  20551 

or Consumer Response Center 
Federal Trade Commission 
6th and Pennsylvania Ave., N.W. 
Washington, DC  20580 

To obtain additional copies of this brochure, contact Publications 
Services, Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System, 
Mail Stop 127, Washington, DC 20551. 

Learn more about leasing on the Federal Reserve Board’s Web 
site:  http://www.bog.frb.fed.us/pubs/leasing 

The following agencies and organizations cooperated in 
preparing this brochure: 

American Advertising Federation 
American Automobile Manufacturers Association 
American Financial Services Association and the 

AFSA Education Foundation 
Arizona Attorney General 
Association of Consumer Vehicle Lessors 
Association of International Automobile Manufacturers 
Consumer Action 
Consumer Bankers Association 
Cooperative Extension System 
Federal Reserve System 
Federal Trade Commission 
Florida Attorney General 
National Automobile Dealers Association 
National Vehicle Leasing Association 

Printed with permission and made available from the 
Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System. 
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