Fishing License Structure Chart
Michigan's fishing licenses changed in 2014. The new structure creates a simpler, more fair and efficient license-buying process.
The number of fishing license types has been reduced and simplified. Revenue generated will create improved fishing opportunities through better habitat, increased fish stocking and better outreach with anglers. See What You Get: Casting for the Future for more details on these improvements.
Below are the fishing license types and prices. Note that a base license is NOT required to purchase a fishing license.
Annual All-Species Fishing License
- Resident - *$26.00
- Nonresident - *$76.00
- Senior (Michigan residents only) - *$11.00
24-Hour Fishing License
72-Hour Fishing License
Hunt/Fish Combo License (includes base, deer combo and fishing)
- Resident - *$76.00
- Nonresident - *$266.00
- Senior (Michigan residents only) - *$43.00
*Items include a $1 surcharge. Revenue generated from these funds will be used to educate the public on the benefits of hunting, fishing and trapping in Michigan, and the impact of these activities on the conservation, preservation and management of the state's natural resources in accordance with statute.
For Michigan residents who are veterans with 100-percent disability or full-time active-duty military, fees are waived for hunting and fishing licenses not obtained through a lottery.