About the Moose Hunting Advisory Council

The seven-member Moose Hunting Advisory Council was created as part of the legislation passed in late 2010 authorizing the NRC to consider the possibility of a moose hunting season (see Public Act 366). The council is charged with considering the impacts moose hunting would have on the moose population and the various economic benefits associated with moose hunting. The council will meet regularly throughout 2011 and will submit its report to the Natural Resources Commission, the Department and the Legislature no later than Dec. 22, 2011. Whether or not a moose hunting season is established and what a season would entail is at the discretion of the NRC.

The legislation that created the Moose Hunting Advisory Council specified that the seven-member council would include representatives from the following stakeholder groups: The DNR's Director or his designee, an organization promoting conservation in Michigan, organizations promoting hunting or fishing in Michigan, representatives nominated by the speaker of the house and senate majority leader, and a representative chosen by the Michigan Intertribal Council.

Members appointed to the council include:

Jim Ekdahl of L'Anse
Jim Hammill of Crystal Falls
Mick Jarvi of Houghton County
George Lindquist of Marquette County
Jason Dinsmore of Ann Arbor
DNR Wildlife Division Chief Russ Mason