Great Lakes Public Access Gap Map

Great Lakes Shoreline Public Access Maps The intended use of these maps is for general planning purposes only. These maps should not specifically be used to determine legal public access. This map set represents an initial attempt by the Department of Natural Resources (DNR) to evaluate existing public access and identify gaps in that access. For purposes of this project, legal access is defined as legal pedestrian access to the Great Lakes shoreline. If you find an error or have any questions regarding these maps please contact Mr. Peter Gamberg at or 517-284-5863.

Map of Michigan showing Great Lakes Shoreline Public Access spotsGogebic County West Gogebic County East Ontonagon County West Ontonagon County East Keweenaw County West 2 Keweenaw County West 1 Keweenaw County North 2 Keweenaw County North 1 Keweenaw County East 3 Keweenaw County East 2 Keweenaw County East 1 Houghton County West Houghton County East Baraga County West Baraga County Central Baraga County East Marquette County West Marquette County East Alger County West Alger County West Central Alger County East Central Alger County East Luce County West Luce County East Chippewa County West Chippewa County Central Chippewa County West Central Chippewa County East Central Chippewa County Drummond Island Chippewa County East Mackinac County East Mackinac County East Central AMackinac County West Central Mackinac County West Schoolcraft County East Schoolcraft County West Delta County East Menominee County Central Menominee County East Berrien County South Berrien County Central Berrien County North Van Buren County Allegan County South Allegan County North Ottawa County South Ottawa County North Muskegon County South Muskegon County North Oceana County South Oceana County North Mason County South Mason County North Manistee County South Manistee County North Benzie County Leelanau County West Leelanau County Central Grand Traverse and Leelanau Counties Antrim County Charlevoix County Emmet County South Emmet County North Cheboygan County West Cheboygan County East Presque Isle County West Presque Isle County Central Presque Isle County East Alpena County North Alpena County South Alcona County North Alcona County South Iosco County North Iosco County South Arenac County North Arenac County South Bay County North Bay County South Tuscola County Huron County West Huron County West Central Huron County East Central Huron County East Sanilac County North Sanilac County South St. Clair County North St. Clair County Central St. Clair County South Macomb County North Macomb County South Wayne County North Wayne County Central Wayne County South Monroe County North Monroe County South