About the UP Citizen Advisory Councils

(Including East & West Councils)

The Michigan Department of Natural Resources has two 20-member citizens’ advisory councils in the Upper Peninsula, which were created in 2007 and first convened the following year. The Eastern Upper Peninsula Advisory Council draws its membership from Alger, Schoolcraft, Luce, Mackinac and Chippewa counties. The council’s western U.P. counterpart represents the remaining 10 counties in the region — Marquette, Delta, Dickinson, Menominee, Baraga, Iron, Gogebic, Ontonagon, Houghton and Keweenaw. The councils are designed to provide local input to advise the DNR on regional programs and policies, identify areas in which the department can be more effective and responsive and offer insight and guidance from members’ own experiences and constituencies. Members represent a wide spectrum of natural resource and recreation interests from hunters, boaters and off-road vehicle riders, to foresters, birdwatchers and skiers. For a complete list of membership affiliations, see lists below. Council meeting agenda items are determined by the council membership and council recommendations are forwarded to the DNR for consideration. The councils meet bi-monthly, six times each year. For more information on the councils, see below or contact Stacy Haughey, DNR Upper Peninsula regional coordinator, at 906-226-1331.