Trapper Education Certificate

The trapper education course will help individuals acquire the knowledge, skill, attitude and judgment to selectively and responsibly trap furbearing animals. Topics include understanding wildlife management, wildlife identification, various trapping techniques, ethics, laws and regulations. 

Trapper education is not required in Michigan, however, some states and provinces require a valid trapper education certification. The Michigan trapper education certificate meets the trapper education requirements of those states and provinces.

There are two options for completing trapper education in Michigan, the traditional course or the online course. Both options require the individual to attend a field day.

Trapper Education – traditional course (the required field day is part of this course)

Michigan’s trapper education course is taught by a dedicated core of certified volunteer instructors and Michigan conservation officers.

About the class:

  • In person, traditional classroom setting including hands on training
  • Minimum of 8 hours
  • Written test (80% or better to pass) and practice assessment (pass/fail)
  • Maximum $10 fee
  • No minimum age requirement; however, students under 10 years of age shall be accompanied by a parent, legal guardian or other adult approved by parent or legal guardian.

Trapper Education – Online

Take the approved trapper safety course online.

After completing the online course, students have 12 months to attend a field day to complete trapper education.

Trapper Education – Field Day

There are two different formats for successfully completing the field day course.  Students must take either, the online course or the take home study, then complete the field day in order to earn a trapper safety certificate.

Students choosing the online course followed by the field day must present a copy of their certificate of completion (voucher) of the online course at the start of the field day. Take the approved trapper safety course online.

The second format is a take home study.  Students register for the field day and pick up the student manual, a minimum of one week prior to the field day.  Take home study students must complete the chapter review questions and present them at the start of the field day. 

Michigan’s trapper education course is taught by a dedicated core of certified volunteer instructors and Michigan conservation officers.

About the field day:

  • In-person attendance
  • 4 hours minimum
  • Written test (80% or better to pass) and practice assessment (pass/fail)
  • Maximum $10 fee
  • No minimum age requirement; however, students under 10 years of age shall be accompanied by a parent, legal guardian or other adult approved by parent or legal guardian.

Search for a trapper safety class in your area »

Request a replacement trapper safety certificate »