Council Bylaws


The name of this organization shall be the Michigan Timber Advisory Council (Council)


The purpose of this Council is to:

To provide advice and counsel to the Governor, the Michigan Department of Natural Resources (Department), Michigan Economic Development Corporation (MEDC) and the Michigan Department of Agriculture and Rural Development (DARD) on policy, procedure, issues, and concerns related to timber management in this state. 

To provide advice to the Governor, Department, MEDC and DARD on how to foster the growth of the timber industry in the State thereby improving the State's rural economy.

To suggest and participate in studies that will foster the work of this Council.

To assist in improving the working relationship between the timber industry and the Department.

To advise the Department on the types of information that the Department should produce and disseminate that would help to foster the growth of industry in this state.

To advise the Department and the Director of the Department on federal forest issues.

As individuals, serve on temporary internal committees that focus on particular issues, for example, participate in a LEIN review of the Department's forest compartment reviews.

To alert the State Forester and the Director of the Department about emerging issues, areas of concern, and accomplishments. 

To serve as a sounding board for legislative proposals affecting the timber industry, timber production or timber management by the Department.

To enter into partnerships to foster the work of the Council.


Section 1: Composition 

The Council shall consist of 11 individuals appointed by the Governor. The Governor shall appoint the chair of the Council.

Section 2: Compensation 

Members shall serve without pay. Members of the Council may be reimbursed for their actual and necessary travel expenses incurred in the performance of their official duties as members of the Council pursuant to established guidelines.

Section 3: Terms 

Council members shall serve for terms of four years or until a successor is appointed, whichever is later.

Of the original appointments to the Council, three will serve for a two-year term, three will service for a three-year term and five will serve for a five-year term. Terms will be selected and assigned utilizing a random selection method.


Section 1: Title and Number 

The elective officers of the Council shall be a Vice Chairperson.

Section 2: Election 

Every other year at the first meeting of the year, the Council shall elect the Vice Chairperson. The Vice Chairperson will serve for a two-year term.

Section 3: Chairperson 

The Chairperson shall preside at meetings of the Council, appoint subcommittees and perform all duties generally pertaining to the office of the Chairperson.

Section 4: Vice Chairperson 

The Vice Chairperson shall perform the duties of the Chairperson in their absence.

Section 5: Removal 

Council officers may be removed from office by a vote of the majority of the members of the Council.

Section 6: Vacancy 

The Governor will select a member to fill a Council vacancy. A person so appointed shall serve for the remainder of the term.


Section 1: Number 

The Council shall meet face-to-face a minimum of four times per year. The Council shall meet via a conference call on those months where a face-to-face meeting in not scheduled.

Section 2: Special Meetings 

Special meetings may be called by the Chairperson.

Section 3: Quorum 

Six members of the Council constitute a quorum for the transaction of business at a meeting of the Council. A majority of the members constituting a quorum and serving are required for official action of the Council.

Section 4: Policy Position 

All proposed policy positions shall be sent to the Council members at least one week in advance of the next scheduled meeting. Electronic mailings are acceptable.

The Council shall memorialize its decisions by resolution. Minority opinions may accompany a resolution but can only be offered by a member who votes "no" on a resolution. The minority opinion must be presented in writing by the member(s).

Section 5: Emergency Resolutions 

The adoption of emergency resolutions - those not sent out one week prior to a scheduled meeting - shall require the approval of three-fourths of those constituting a quorum.

Section 6: Public Comment

The public can ask to be placed on the agenda to provide comment on an issue for an upcoming MTAC meeting up to one week prior to the meeting. If the public are placed on the agenda, they will have a maximum of five (5) minutes to provide comment. The public may also provide comment on the day of the MTAC meeting by filling out a public comment card; they will receive a maximum of three (3) minutes to provide comment. The public comment period will be during the meeting, prior to any decision the MTAC is scheduled to make.

Section 7: Official Records

The official records of the Council shall be kept by and at the offices of the Department of Natural Resources. A writing prepared, owned, used in the possession of or retained by the Council in the performance of an official function is subject to the Freedom of Information Act, 1976 PA 442, MCL 15.231 to 15.246.

Section 8: Minutes

The minutes of the meetings will document decisions made at the meeting and tasks assigned to members of the Council.

Section 9: Conduct 

Robert's Rules of Order shall govern the Council, except as provided in the adopted bylaws.


Section 1: Removal 

The Council may remove a member of the Council for incompetence, dereliction of duty, malfeasance, misfeasance, or nonfeasance in office, or any other good cause upon a majority vote of the members.

Section 2: Non-Attendance at Meetings 

An individual shall be removed from the Council if he or she does not attend four consecutive meetings of the Council, including the monthly conference calls.


These Bylaws may be amended by a two-thirds vote of the Council at a meeting at which a quorum is present, provided that the proposed amendment is circulated to the members at least ten days in advance of the regular or special meeting at which the members are to vote.