The web Browser you are currently using is unsupported, and some features of this site may not work as intended. Please update to a modern browser such as Chrome, Firefox or Edge to experience all features Michigan.gov has to offer.
Get your license get fishing
GET YOUR LICENSE AND
GET ON THE WATER
Michigan is home to thousands of fishable lakes, rivers and streams. This season, enjoy the great outdoors with friends or loved ones by purchasing your 2021 fishing license.
You must purchase a fishing license if you are 17 years of age or older to fish. If you are under 17, you may fish without a license, but you are required to observe all fishing rules and regulations. Any adult actively assisting a minor who does not have a license must have a fishing license. Please note, a license is required when targeting fish, amphibians, crustaceans and reptiles.
Michigan's annual fishing license is valid from March 1 of a given year through March 31 of the following year.
- ^Annual all species resident - $26
- ^Annual all species nonresident - $76
- ^Annual all species senior (65+ or who are legally blind, Michigan residents only) - $11
- Annual all-species youth (voluntary license for residents or nonresidents under the age of 17) - $2
- Daily all species resident/nonresident - $10/day (you set the date/time for the license to start)
The sturgeon permit and harvest tag are no longer required; however, you must register your sturgeon harvest within 24 hours.
(Combo includes base, 2 deer and annual all-species fishing)
- ^Resident - $76
- ^Nonresident - $266
- ^Senior (65+, Michigan residents only) - $43
* Items do NOT require a base license
^ Items include a $1 surcharge. Revenue generated from these funds will be used to educate the public on the benefits of hunting, fishing and trapping in Michigan, and the impact of these activities on the conservation, preservation and management of the state's natural resources in accordance with statute.