Tax Calculation for Nonqualified Aircraft Transfer

Issued under authority of Public Act 122 of 1941.

Name		Social Security/Federal Employer ID Number		Telephone Number			
Street Address		City		State	ZIP Code		
Reference#	Aircraft Make, Model and Serial Number		Date of Purchase	Aircraft Year	Aircraft FAA Number		
Enter the name and address of the seller of the aircraft.							

	Use Tax Calculation		
1.	Purchase Price	▶ 1	
2.	Use tax on purchase price (Line 1 x 6% (.06))		2
3a.	Tax paid to another state for this aircraft	▶ 3a	
3b.	Enter smaller of Line 2 or Line 3a. If equal, enter amount from 3a.		3b
4. 5a.	Line 2 minus Line 3b Use tax paid to Michigan on this aircraft transfer. DO NOT subtract Registration Fees paid to other Governmental Agencies		4
5b.	Enter the smaller of Line 4 or Line 5a		5b
6.	Use tax due. Line 4 minus Line 5b		6
	Equalization Tax Calculation		
7.	Retail value at time of acquisition	▶7	
8.	Equalization tax (Line 7 x 6% (0.06))		8
9.	Add Lines 3a, 5a, and 6		9
10.	If Line 9 is greater than Line 8, enter the amount from Line 8	10a	
	If Line 9 is smaller than Line 8, enter the amount from Line 9	- <u>10b</u>	
	If Line 9 is equal to Line 8, enter the amount from Line 9	10c	
11.	Equalization tax due. Line 8 minus Line 10a, b, or c		11
12.	Total tax due. Add Line 6 and Line 11	PAY►	12

Make your check payable to the "State of Michigan." You must include a detailed bill of sale that substantiates the purchase price and the condition of the aircraft at the time of purchase. The FAA bill of sale is not acceptable. Direct questions to Aircraft Unit, Discovery and Tax Enforcement at 517-636-4120.

Post Office Mail Address:

Michigan Department of Treasury Discovery and Tax Enforcement Division PO Box 30140 Lansing MI 48909

Express Mail Address:

Michigan Department of Treasury Discovery and Tax Enforcement Division 7285 Parsons Drive Dimondale MI 48821

Instructions are on the back of this form

Instructions for Form 1989, Tax Calculation for Aircraft

All transfers that do not meet the below definition of a "qualified" aircraft are considered "non-qualified" aircraft. A 6% tax is due on the greater of the purchase price or retail value* at the time of acquisition on non-qualified aircraft. A 6% tax is due on the retail value when the aircraft enters Michigan for qualified aircraft.

A Qualified Aircraft is one purchased outside of Michigan, used solely for personal (non-business) purposes, and one of the following applies:

- The aircraft is purchased by a person who is a non-resident of Michigan (at the time of purchase) and is brought into Michigan more than 90 days after the date of purchase.
- The aircraft is purchased by a person who is a resident of Michigan (at the time of purchase) and brought into Michigan more than 360 days after the date of purchase.
- **Line 1.** "Purchase price" is the total amount of consideration paid by the consumer to the seller, including cash, credit, property and services, for which tangible personal property is sold, leased or rented, valued monetarily, whether received in cash or otherwise. For a complete definition, refer to Michigan Compiled Laws (MCL) Section 205.92(2)(f).
- Line 2. Use Tax is a tax of 6% levied under the Use Tax Act (1937 PA 94 (as amended), MCL 205.91-111). Multiply Line 1 by 6% (.06).
- **Line 3a.** A credit is granted for Sales or Use Tax paid in another state that is subject to sales or use tax of Michigan. (MCL 205.94(1)(e)).
- **Line 3b**. Enter the smaller of Line 2 or Line 3a.
- **Line 4.** Subtract the amount on Line 3b from Line 2. Tax paid to another state in an amount greater than the Michigan use tax is not refundable by Michigan.
- **Line 5a.** Enter any Use Tax for this aircraft transfer that was already remitted to Michigan. Do not subtract registration or license fees paid to the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) or Michigan Department of Transportation (MDOT).
- Line 5b. Enter the smaller of Line 4 or Line 5a.
- Line 6. Line 4 minus Line 5b.
- **Line 7.** The retail value is the dollar value as listed in any recognized guide for use for appraisal purposes. For non-qualified aircraft, the retail value is determined at the time the aircraft was purchased. For qualified aircraft, the retail value is determined at the time the aircraft enters Michigan.
- **Line 8.** Multiply Line 7 by 6% (.06). Equalization Tax is a tax of 6% levied under the Streamlined Sales and Use Tax Revenue Equalization Act. (2004 PA 175, MCL 205.171-191).
- Line 9. Add any amounts from Lines 3a, 5a, and 6.
- **Line 10.** Credit for Sales/Use Tax paid is allowed, but cannot exceed the tax due under the Equalization Act. (MCL 205.179(3)). If Line 9 is greater than Line 8, enter the amount from Line 8. If Line 9 is less than Line 8, enter the amount from Line 9. If Line 9 is the same as Line 8, enter the amount from Line 9. The amounts entered in line 10a, b or c may be zero, but cannot be negative.
- Line 11. Subtract any amounts on Lines 10a, b, or c from Line 8. This is net equalization tax due.
- Line 12. Add Line 6 and Line 11. This is the total tax due.