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Special Notice to Michigan Tobacco Tax Wholesalers and Out-of-State
Unclassified Acquirers Concerning an Inventory Tax

Recent legislation increased the tax on all tobacco products. Effective July 1, 2004, the tax rate on
cigarettes will increase from 62.5 to 100 mills per cigarette or from $1.25 to $2.00 on a 20-cigarette pack
and from $1.56 to $2.50 on a 25-cigarette pack. The tax rate on other tobacco products (OTP) will also
increase from 20% to 32% of the wholesale price of the OTP. (OTP includes any cigar or roll for smoking,
other than a cigarette, made in whole or in part of tobacco, and any tobacco other than cigarettes,
intended for consumption by smoking, chewing or as snuff.)

Beginning July 1, 2004, any tobacco product that is imported, transferred, sold, or purchased within the
State of Michigan must be taxed at the new rates. Anyone with tax-paid tobacco products on hand for
sale at the close of business on June 30, 2004, upon which tax was paid at the rate in effect prior to
July 1, 2004, must:

Take a physical inventory of all cigarettes and OTP on hand as of the close of business June 30,
2004. The amount of cigarettes and OTP a licensee or other person has “on hand for sale” on July 1,
2004, is the actual physical inventory of cigarette and OTP. Actual physical inventory includes
shipments of cigarette and OTP that licensees or other persons physically possess on or before
June 30, 2004.

File a tobacco products inventory tax return with the Michigan Department of Treasury postmarked by
August 2, 2004, and pay the additional tax per cigarette pack and the additional tax of 12% of the
wholesale price of OTP for all physical inventory on hand as of the close of business on June 30,
2004. The physical inventory includes cigarettes and OTP offered for sale, kept on site, and kept or
stored at other locations in Michigan. You are responsible for reporting and collecting the tax at the
rate in effect on July 1, 2004, on any cigarettes and OTP that you shipped before July 1, 2004, and
that were received by the purchaser on or after July 1, 2004.

This inventory tax does not apply to wholesalers or out-of-state unclassified acquirers unless they are in
possession of tax-paid tobacco products where the tax was paid prior to the rate increase on July 1,
2004.

Attention Wholesalers: If you have product for return to manufacturers and do not include them in your
June 30, 2004, inventory as reported on Form 47, Schedule E — Physical Inventory of Cigarettes, you
must file and pay the floor tax on this product.

Please notify your Michigan tobacco customers of this inventory tax. For your convenience, we have

included copies of the notices sent to retailers, secondary wholesalers and unclassified acquirers and
Form 4182, Michigan Tobacco Products Inventory Tax Return. You may copy the notices and form to
distribute to your customers.

For more information about this tax law change, please visit our Web site at
www.michigan.gov/tobaccotaxes. You may also contact the Tobacco Tax Unit at 517-636-4630 if you
have questions.
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