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Michigan Renaissance Zones

Benton Harbor/St. Joseph/Benton Twp.

Detroit

Flint

Gogebic/Ontonagon/Houghton Counties

Grand Rapids

Lansing

Manistee County

Montcalm/Gratiot Counties

Saginaw

Warren Tank Plant (former)

Wurtsmith Air Force Base (former)

Telephone Contact

(269) 983-7111 ext.8788

(313) 224-3053

(810) 766-7255

(800) 528-3937

(616) 456-4514

(517) 485-5419

(231) 723-4325

(989) 831-5261

(989) 759-1471

(586) 574-4519

(906) 226-9658

Acres

120

1,345
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www.michigan.gov/treasury

Individuals living in
a renaissance zone are
eligible for a deduction when
filing a Michigan Income Tax
Return. The information in this
brochure applies to
individuals only and does
not apply to businesses.

For general information about the program, contact the Michigan Economic Development Corporation at
(517) 373-9808.  If you have tax questions relating to the Renaissance Zone deduction, contact the Michigan
Department of Treasury at 1-800-827-4000.  Persons who have hearing or speech impairments may call
(517) 636-4999 (TTY).

For information regarding the specific zones, call the telephone number below.
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(586) 574-4627

(906) 482-7205



The Michigan Renaissance Zone Act, P.A. 376 of
1996, designates 11 regions in Michigan as
renaissance zones.
Effective January 1, 1997, P.A. 441, 442, 448,
455 and 469 of 1996 exempt individuals living in
a renaissance zone from various taxes including,
but not limited to, the following:

• Michigan and city income tax,
• property tax (except debt mills), and
• utility users tax (Detroit only).

Qualifications
To qualify for these exemptions you must:

• be a permanent resident of a zone for 183
consecutive days;

• have a gross income of less than $1,000,000;
• not be delinquent in any tax abated by the

Renaissance Zone Act (state income taxes,
property taxes,  single business tax and
utility taxes); and

• file a Michigan Income Tax Return (form
MI-1040).

State Income Tax Exemption
If you meet the qualifications above, you are
exempt from paying tax on the following:

• income earned or received during the period
of time you lived in a zone.

• interest and dividend income received in the
tax year during the time you lived in a zone.

• capital gains received in the tax year prorated
based on the percentage of time you held the
asset while a resident of a zone.

• lottery winnings won after you became a
resident of a zone.

To claim the state income tax exemption you
must:

• file state income tax returns and subtract
income received while you lived in a zone
(see form Schedule 1, line 15). If you moved
into a zone during the tax year, you must
complete a Michigan Nonresident and Part-
Year Resident Schedule (Schedule NR) to
determine your subtraction. Attach Schedule
NR to your MI-1040.

Example:
Carol moved into a Detroit renaissance zone June 15, 2006 and completed her zone residency requirement
December 15, 2006. Carol is required to file a new MI-W4 form with her employer within 10 days after
December 15, claiming her residency in a renaissance zone. She may exempt herself from Michigan income
tax withholding while she lives in the zone. If she moves out of the zone, Carol must file a new MI-W4 indicating
the change in residency status.

In 2006, Carol earned wages of $25,000. She earned $14,000 after moving to the zone, received interest
income of $300 for 2006 and won an online Michigan lottery prize of $10,000 on May 6, 2006. Carol also
had a capital gain of $1,000 on the sale of stock she purchased on September 1, 2005 and sold on August 15,
2006. Her federal adjusted gross income (AGI) is $36,300. For 2006, Carol will file a Schedule NR with her
MI-1040 to allocate her income to the renaissance zone. She should complete her Schedule NR as follows:

Column A Column B Column C
Income Earned Income Earned
While Living While Living
Outside the Inside the

Total Income                  Renaissance Zone          Renaissance Zone

Wages $25,000 $11,000 $14,000

Interest 300 135 165
Capital Gains 1,000 820 180
Lottery 10,000 10,000

AGI $36,300 $21,955 $14,345

On Carol’s 2006 MI-1040 Schedule 1, she may deduct $14,345 on line 15 for income earned in a renaissance
zone. The interest is prorated by the number of days Carol lived in the zone divided by the number of days
in the year (199/365 = 55%). The capital gain is prorated by the number of months Carol owned the asset while
living in the zone divided by the total number of months Carol owned the asset (2/11 = 18%).

• file a revised Employer's Michigan
Withholding Exemption Certificate (form
MI-W4), after the 183 day requirement for
residency in a zone is met. You may claim
exemption from Michigan income tax
withholding while living in a zone. You
must also file a revised MI-W4 form when
moving out of a zone.


