Principal Residence Exemption (PRE) Denial Interest Summary

leeuad	under	authority	٥f	Public	Δct	206	οf	180	13
issueu	unuei	authonty	ΟI	FUDIIC	ΑCL	200	ΟI	109	U

Sheet	of	
-------	----	--

Read instructions on page 2 before completing the form. Use additional copies of this form if necessary. Summaries are due with remittance (if applicable) to the Department of Treasury on April 15, July 15, October 15 and January 15. **Refunds must have supporting documentation attached.**

Governmental Agency Remitting Funds (County, City, Township)			Has F	Has Form 4410 (MDOE Taxable Value Report) been updated to reflect the changes?								
					Yes - enter date updated No							
IDENTIFICATION INFORMATION							DISTRIBUTION OF INTEREST (enter refunds as negative numbers)					
	Name of Property Owner	Property Identification Number	Taxable Value	Tax Year	Denied by *	\$500 Penalty	Total Interest	Local Portion	County Portion	State Portion	Refund Reason *	
1.												
2.												
3.												
4.												
5.												
6.												
7.												
8.												
9.												
10.												
11.												
	12.	Total on this sheet (add lines 1 th	rough 11)									
		Total on additional sheets (add lin										

Mail form with supporting documents to:

Michigan Department of Treasury Principal Residence Exemption Unit PO Box 30440 Lansing, MI 48909

\$500 Penalty should be added to the Total Interest Column and
to the Total Interest Column and
distributed in the same manner
as interest

14. Total Interest Distributed or to be Refunded (total of lines 12 and 13)....

"S" if State of Michigan

** "M" if Michigan Tax Tribunal
"T" if Treasury Overturn
"O" if Other Reason

Prepared By (name and title)	Date	Telephone Number	E-mail Address

^{* &}quot;L" if Local Unit (city or township)
"C" if County

Instruction for Completing Form 4142 Principal Residence Exemption (PRE) Denial Interest Summary

Sections 6, 8 and 11 of Michigan Compiled Law (MCL) 211.7cc requires interest at a rate of 1.25% per month or fraction of a month to be charged to the owner of property that has been issued a PRE denial notice. Upon collecting the interest, Section 25 of MCL 211.7cc details the required distribution of the interest depending on the governmental unit that issued the denial notice.

A summary Form 4142 must be completed and submitted to the Michigan Department of Treasury (Department) by a county, city or township when the State's portion of PRE denial interest is remitted. In addition, any PRE denial interest that is refunded to the taxpayer that reduces the State's portion of interest must be detailed on the summary form with appropriate documentation attached. Whether or not the taxable value changes were reported to the Michigan Department of Education (MDOE) utilizing the online taxable value database (formerly the DS-4410 process) must also be indicated on the summary form.

IDENTIFICATION INFORMATION

One line must be used for interest remitted for each tax year. For example, if a taxpayer is denied his/her PRE for tax years 2005, 2006 and 2007 and has subsequently paid the appropriate interest for each year, the taxpayer's name and applicable property identification number would be entered in three separate lines with the appropriate taxable value for each tax year.

DISTRIBUTION OF INTEREST

Interest is distributed in accordance with MCL 211.7cc. If the assessor of the local tax collecting unit denies the PRE, 70% of the collected interest is distributed to the local tax collecting unit, 20% to the county in which the property is located and 10% to the Department. If the Department denies the PRE, 70% of the collected interest is distributed to the Department, 20% to the local tax collecting unit and 10% to the county in which the property is located. If the county treasurer or his/her designee or the county equalization director or his/her designee denies the PRE, 70% of the collected interest is distributed to the county in which the property is located, 20% to the local tax collecting unit and 10% to the Department.

A refund of PRE denial interest is necessary when payment is made by a taxpayer but the denial is later overturned and the PRE is reinstated. Depending upon what entity issued the denial, the denial may be overturned by the Department, Michigan Tax Tribunal, or other appellate court. Board of Reviews and assessors do not have the statutory authority to reinstate a PRE after it has been denied. For each refund, indicate on each individual line the reason for refunding the interest. Enter "T" for the Department of Treasury, "M" for the Michigan Tax Tribunal and "O" for any other reason. Supporting documentation must be attached to the summary form for each refund.

Complete the contact information at the bottom of the form in case the Department has a question or needs clarification. If the net amount is a refund, the Department will process the refund within 60 days and a warrant will be mailed to the unit of government stated on the top of the summary form.

If you have any questions, please call: 517-335-7487 or e-mail at: PTE-Section@michigan.gov.