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Filing Requirements for Taxpayers
You are required to file each return, even if no tax is due.

Your filing frequency is determined by the Department of Treasury.

Discount\Voucher

Important Due Dates

......................... 12th of the month following the tax period

Combined Discount EET* |
Filing Frequency Due Date oRmt M€ vioucher | ACHDebit Annua
eum 1 (optional) | or Credit Returns
Annual Filer Only (1 Return) February 28 (after tax
Total tax liability of less than yearend)
$750 for a calendar year v
(January — December).
Quarterly Filer (4 Returns) 20" of the month
Total tax liability of followingquarter’s
$750 - $3,600 for a calendar year | end v V v
(January — December).
Monthly Filer (12 Returns) 20" of the following
Total tax liability greater than month
$3,600 for a calendar year v v v
(January — December).
Seasonal Filers — see Page 7.
Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT) 20" of the following
Available to all taxpayers - month
transmissions are required on a Vv Vv
monthly basis.
Accelerated Salesand Use Tax Transmissionseach
ElectronicFunds Transfer (EFT) | month:
Required for Sales or Use Tax * It payment 20%" of
liability of at least $720,000 for themonth
the preceding calendar year. * 2" payment lastday v v
ofthemonth
« 3" payment 201"
of the subsequent
month
Accelerated Withholding Tax Paidaccordingto
Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT) federal schedule
Required for Withholding Tax v Vv
liability that averages $40,000 or
more each month.
Accelerated Withholding Tax Paid accordingto
Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT) federal schedule v v v
Elect to pay Sales and Use Tax via
check and return.
* EFT = Electronic Funds Transfer
4 )

Monthly/Quarterly Return ............. 20th of the month following the tax period
AnnualReturn .........ccccovvvevecnene, February 28
Q/V-Zs, 1099-MISC ........ccvvvvennn February 28 )
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stocks* or contents from safe deposit boxes.

WHO MUST REPORT. Every individual, partnership or
corporation who has unclaimed property belonging to
someone whose last known address is in Michigan must
report. If the owner’s last known address is in another
state or country and the holder does not report under the
provisions of that state or country, then report those
interests to Michigan.

DORMANCY PERIODS. Generally, property in your
custody that belongs to someone else and has gone
unclaimed for five years must be reported. However,
dormancy periods will vary based on the type of property.
Visit Treasury’s Web site at www.michigan.gov/
unclaimedproperty for more detailed information about
dormancy periods.

*A 2004 law change reduced the dormancy period for
reporting stock and dividends from seven to three years.

Unclaimed Property Reporting for Businesses

Michigan’s Uniform Unclaimed Property Act (Public Act 29 of 1995) requires holders of unclaimed property to report
and remit property belonging to owners who cannot be located or for whom there is no known address. Every business
that has uncashed checks (payroll, vendor, dividends, etc.) must file a report and turn the funds over to the Michigan
Department of Treasury, Unclaimed Property Division. Unclaimed property could also include cash, deposits, interest,

Section 31 (2) of the Uniform Unclaimed Property Act gives the State Treasurer the authority to conduct unclaimed
property examinations to determine compliance with the Act.

REPORTING DUE DATE. Holder reports are due by
November 1 each year and must contain all items
considered unclaimed as of June 30. Enclose payment
with the report to cover the amount reported. If you
have unclaimed property and fail to pay or deliver it
timely to the State of Michigan, you may be liable for
interest at the current monthly rate of one percentage
point above the adjusted prime rate on the value of the
property. Civil penalties may also apply for not filing.

CLAIMING FUNDS. To check if funds are being held
for you, your family, or your business entity, visit
Treasury’s Web site at www.michigan.gov/treasury.

FOR MORE INFORMATION. Visit our Web site or write
to Unclaimed Property Division, Michigan Department
of Treasury, P.O. Box 30756, Lansing, MI 48909, or call
(517) 636-5320.

Sales, Use and Withholding Tax General Information

Call (517) 636-4730 or visit Treasury’s Web
site at www.michigan.gov/treasury for . ..
» Existing EFT account questions
* Specific account questions (credits, assessments,
penalty waivers, etc.)
* Technical questions (taxability of items, law
changes, etc.).
Listen to all options on the automated phone system
before making a selection. Persons who have hear-
ing or speech impairments may call (517) 636-4999
(TTY only).
Write to Treasury
Send correspondence to:
Customer Contact Division
Michigan Department of Treasury
Lansing, Michigan 48930
Write your account number on all checks and
correspondence. Returns should be sent to the
address on the return.

What's New

Business Self Service. You may now check your
Sales, Use and Withholding Tax transactions online
at www.michigan.gov/bustax. You may also ask

questions about your account by clicking on the
appropriate buttons and following the instructions.
E-Registration for Business Taxes. If you already
have a Federal Employer Identification Number
(FEIN) number and wish to register for business
taxes, you may submit your registration informa-
tion online.
By completing your application on-line your
business can:
* Receive your Sales Tax License within seven
days
* Add, change, or delete taxes or licenses from
your registration.
Registration information and a link to the joint
Unemployment Insurance Agency/Treasury e-
Registration site can be found by visiting
www.michigan.gov/businesstaxes.
Magnetic Media/W-2 Reporting. The 2007 tax
year will be the last year the State accepts magnetic
W-2 reporting in a format other than what is pub-
lished by the Social Security Administration for that
year. Complete filing and format information is
provided on Form 447, Transmittal for Magnetic
Media Reporting of W-2s, W-2Gs, 1099s and MI-
NR-K1s to the State of Michigan.




Important Information

You must file each return even if no tax is due.
Annual Return Label. To ensure proper credit to
your account, remove the personalized address
label you have been sent and place it on your
annual return. Annual returns that are not properly
identified cannot be processed.

Streamlined Sales and Use Tax. Streamlined Sales
and Use Tax legislation resulted in changes regard-
ing collection and filing of sales and use tax. For
additional information, visit Treasury’s Web site.
Collection Schedule. Effective January 1, 2006, a
retailer must use the formula explained below
when calculating the amount of sales tax to collect.
Form 395, Michigan 6% Sales Tax Collection
Schedule is no longer valid.

To determine the tax, retailers must compute the
tax to the third decimal place and round up to a
whole cent when the third decimal place is greater
than four, or down to a whole cent when the third
decimal point is four or less.

Filing by EFT. Using EFT to submit your sales,
use and withholding tax payments eliminates the
requirement to file monthly or quarterly paper
returns, with the exception of Form 165, Annual
Return for Sales, Use and Withholding Taxes. Form
2248, EFT Debit Application, or Form 2328, EFT
Credit Application, must be completed and signed
by an officer giving his/her title and returned to
Treasury. To find out more about the EFT process,
visit www.michigan.gov/biztaxpayments.
Accelerated Tax Payments. Taxpayers who pay
more than $480,000 in withholding tax each year
are required to pay according to their federal
schedule and must pay withholding taxes by
Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT). You are encour-
aged to file all your taxes by EFT as this will
eliminate the need to file monthly paper returns.
For additional information, see Form 4285, Ques-
tions and Answers About Paying Your Withholding
Tax on an Accelerated Schedule, or go to
www.michigan.gov/biztaxpayments.

Filers who pay more than $720,000 in sales or use
tax each year must pay their sales and use taxes
more frequently. Payments must be made by EFT.
If this applies to you and you have not been con-
tacted by Treasury, or you would like more infor-
mation about accelerated payments, see Form
2316, Questions and Answers About Paying Your
Sales and Use Tax on an Accelerated Basis, or go
to www.michigan.gov/biztaxpayments.

Filers Who Pay Once a Year. Filers with no
deductions should use the simplified instructions on
page 14.

Address or Business Changes. To make address
or business changes, use Form 163, Notice of
Change or Discontinuance, you have been sent.
Do not write the information on the return.
Pre-ldentified Returns and Vouchers. Form 160,
Combined Return for Michigan Taxes, and Form
161, Discount Voucher for Sales and Use Taxes,
contain specific information about your account
that is processed by electronically scanning the
document. Do not change, copy or use forms from
another business. If you lose your booklet of return
and/or voucher coupons, contact Treasury to have
a new one mailed to you. Use the correct pre-
identified form for the period for which you are
filing.

Before mailing your return, make sure:

1. The label provided is placed on Form 165,
Annual Return for Sales, Use and Withhold-
ing Taxes.

2. Monthly or Quarterly copies of Form 160,
Combined Return for Michigan Taxes are
completed using tax due figures only. Gross sales
figures are reported on the annual return only.

3. Figures entered on return correspond to the
description provided for that tax line.

4. Subtotal amounts have not been entered on Form
160.

5. Account information changes have not
been requested on the return. File Form 163,
Notice of Change or Discontinuance for
these changes.

6. Areturn is submitted for each filing period
required according to your filing status. This
includes return periods that have zero due
or no activity.

7. Payment for the Single Business Tax Estimate is
enclosed with Form 160 if reporting your SBT
estimate on that form.

8. All discounts have been calculated and reported
correctly.

9. Appropriate pre-identified return is used for filing
period indicated on that return.

10. Negative/credit figures have not been entered on
the return.

11. Tax payment is enclosed with return.

12. Your account number is written on your check.




General Information about Sales, Use, and Income Tax Withholding

Registering and Filing Returns

Businesses that make retail sales or hire employees
must file periodic returns to pay the sales (or use)
and the withholding taxes due. Treasury sets a
monthly, quarterly or annual filing frequency
depending on how much you owe. If you receive a
coupon book, it will have the correct number of
forms you need.

Your filing frequency may change over time. When
it does, Treasury will notify you and send you the
necessary materials. If you file only once annually
and your accumulated sales, use and withholding
taxes become $750 or more, you must notify
Treasury immediately. We will change your filing
status and provide you with the appropriate tax
materials.

Sales Tax

You must register to pay sales tax if you make
retail sales of goods in Michigan such as food,
shoes, toys, clothes or appliances, even if the
items you sell are not taxable.
Qualified nonprofit organizations. If your gross
sales are less than $5,000, you do not need to
collect or pay sales tax. But any tax you do collect
must be paid to Treasury regardless of the amount
of gross sales. For example, if you expect your
gross sales to be $6,500 and collect sales tax, but
later find your gross sales were only $4,000, you
must pay the sales tax collected to Treasury. See
the worksheet instructions for line 5i on page 8.
You must register even if the items you sell are not
taxable. For more information, see page 47 to
request Revenue Administrative Bulletin 1995-3 or
contact the Customer Contact Division, Technical
Services Unit, at (517) 636-4730. Revenue Admin-
istrative Bulletins can also be found on Treasury’s
Web site at: www.michigan.gov/treasury
Use Tax on Sales and Rentals
You must register and pay use tax if you:
* Are doing business in Michigan but do not have
a retail location in Michigan;
* Voluntarily collect use tax for your customers;
* Sell telephone, telegraph and other leased wire
communication services;
* Rent hotel and motel rooms or other accommo-
dations; or
» Lease tangible personal property to Michigan
customers from a Michigan or an out-of-state
location.

Use Tax on Purchases

Almost every business has a use tax liability. You

must pay use tax on your purchases if you:

* Buy goods from out-of-state, unlicensed ven-
dors, unless a valid exemption can be claimed;

* Buy inventory for resale on which no tax is due,
then remove items from that inventory for
personal or business use; or

* Use the items you buy for resale to make gifts
for friends and family or for other personal uses.

Income Tax Withholding

You must register and pay income tax withholding

if you:

* Pay wages to an employee; or

e Withhold income tax amounts from other kinds
of payments (e.g., lottery winnings, insurance
payments, retirement income, etc.).

For complete withholding information, see Form
446, Income Tax Withholding Guide.

If you are self-employed and expect your annual

tax due to be more than $500, you must report and

pay income tax quarterly using Form MI-1040ES,

Michigan Estimated Individual Income Tax

Voucher. Otherwise, you may pay your income tax

on Form MI-1040, Michigan Individual Income Tax

Return.

What Form to File and When to File It

With this booklet you received the following forms
personalized with your business name and account
number: a monthly (or quarterly) return, an annual
return, a notice of change in your business status
and a discount voucher (for sales and use tax filers
only). Some forms may not apply to you. Below is
a description of each form.

Form 160, Combined Return for Michigan
Taxes

Monthly and quarterly filers not registered to file
electronically must use this return. (Annual filers
and EFT filers do not use this return.) You are
required to file even if no tax is due.

The return and payment are due on or before the
20" of the month following the tax period (month
or quarter). If the 20" falls on a holiday or week-
end, the due date is the first business day following
the weekend or holiday.

When you file the paper return, you need to com-
plete only one form and write a single check for
the total sales, use, withholding and single business
taxes due.



Form 165, Annual Return for Sales, Use

and Withholding Taxes

All sales tax, use tax and income tax withholding

filers must file this return each year, even if no tax

is due. This is the only return required from busi-

nesses that file once a year. For taxpayers who

submit monthly or quarterly returns, the annual

return balances the tax due for the year with the

monthly or quarterly payments made during the

year. Do not use the annual return instead of your

monthly or quarterly returns. The annual return

and payment are due February 28.

Form 163, Notice of Change or

Discontinuance

Use this form to notify Treasury of any change in

your account. You must report:

e Change in mailing address

* Change in legal business address

* Change in account number

* Discontinuance of business

* Sale of all or part of a business

» Sale of a business but operating another business

* Change of ownership, i.e., adding a partner or
incorporating

* Deletion of a tax type

* Change in seasonally active months.

Form 161, Discount Voucher for Sales and

Use Taxes

The discount voucher is only used by filers who

pay part of their tax early to obtain a discount. If

you pay all your tax early, use Form 160; you will

still get your full discount. If you use a voucher to

make an early payment, you must still file a return,

even if your balance due is zero.

Monthly filers who owe less than $1,200 in sales or

use tax, quarterly filers and taxpayers who file just

once a year, do not use this voucher.

When the tax rate increased from 4% to 6%, the law

required 100% of the 2% increase to go to the

school aid fund. The additional 2% is not dis-

counted. Therefore, discounts are calculated using

2/3 (.6667) of the sales and/or use tax collected at

the 6% tax rate.

If You Don’t Have Returns

Not having returns does not relieve your obligation

to pay timely. Pre-identified returns have been

mailed for your account and should be used when

available.  If a pre-identified return is not immedi-

ately available, Form 160, Combined Return for

Michigan Taxes is available at www.michigan.gov/

businesstaxes. Instructions and a mailing address

will be provided once the form is accessed on the
Web. If internet access is not available, send your
payment with a letter including your name, address,
phone number, account number, return period and
the amount of each tax and payment involved. If
you are including payment, mail to: Michigan
Department of Treasury, Department 77003,
Detroit, MI 48277-0003. If you are not including
payment, mail to: Michigan Department of Trea-
sury, Lansing MI 48930.

When using these options, you should include a
written request with your payment, or contact the
Registration Unit at (517) 636-4660, for a new set
of pre-identified returns to be mailed to you.

Late or Insufficient Payment

Returns filed late or without payment of tax due are
subject to both penalty and interest. Instructions for
line 18 on the worksheet explain how to figure
penalty and interest on monthly or quarterly re-
turns. The annual return instructions for line 26
explain how to figure penalty and interest on
annual returns. Additional penalties may be
charged for failing to meet statutory requirements.
If your return is not filed, Treasury will estimate
your tax and bill you. Also, late filing of a return
may result in an immediate assessment and possible
legal action may be taken to collect unpaid taxes,
penalty and interest.

Legal action may include filing liens on real and
personal property, levying on bank accounts or
receivables, seizure and sale of assets and cancella-
tion of your sales tax license. Business owners and
corporate officers may be held personally respon-
sible for unpaid taxes.

Accelerated, monthly and quarterly taxpayers who
fail to file the annual return are subject to a penalty
of $10 per day from the due date until the return is
filed. Maximum penalty is $400.

License or Registration

Sales tax licenses as well as use tax and income tax
withholding registrations are renewed annually
unless discontinued by the taxpayer or by Treasury.
You may not use the sales tax license to purchase
goods and supplies for your own use. See page 5
for information about use tax.

Sales tax licensees who buy goods for resale must
furnish their suppliers with a completed Form 3372,
Michigan Sales and Use Tax Certificate of Exemp-
tion, containing their sales tax license number or
provide the same information to the seller in
another format.



Taxpayer's Account Number

If you had an FEIN when you registered, your
Michigan taxpayer account number is your FEIN. If
you did not have an FEIN when you registered,
you have been assigned a Treasury (TR) number.
In some instances, a Michigan Establishment (ME)
number has been assigned.

You may have been assigned both an ME number
and an FEIN, or multiple ME numbers. Keep your
tax accounts accurate by filing separate returns for
each account number.

Amended Returns

To file an amended return, send a copy of the
original annual return (Form 165) or monthly/
quarterly return (Form 160) with the corrected tax
figures and write “amended return” on the form.
Attach an explanation for the amendment and write
your account number on the correspondence. If
the amendment results in additional tax due, send
your payment to the address listed on the form. If
the amendment results in a credit, see “Credits”
below. If no payment is being sent, send the form
and correspondence to: Customer Contact Division,
Michigan Department of Treasury, Lansing, MI
48930.

If you find an error in the Michigan withholding on
a W-2 after it has been issued, do not issue a
corrected W-2 for less withholding than was on the
original W-2. This type of correction must be
handled between the employer and the employee or
by the employee on Form MI-1040, Michigan
Individual Income Tax Return. Do not request a
refund for this type of error using an amended
Form 165.

Credits

When filing Form 160, for a period in which you
have a credit, enter zero (0) on the Total Payment
line of the return. Carry the credit forward on your
worksheets for each period until you have an
amount due. Do not enter a credit on your submit-
ted Form 160 — scanning equipment reads all
entries as debits (money owed). See instructions for
worksheet, line 21.

Gasoline Retailers and Wholesalers

Complete Form 160 or 161 first; then carry forward
your payment figure to Form 2189, Gasoline
Retailer Supplemental Report, or to Form 429,
Gasoline Supplier and Wholesale Distributor
Prepaid Sales Tax Report, and complete.

Attach your supplemental report to your return.
Write your business name and account number on

all supplemental reports to ensure you are credited
properly for prepaid sales tax on gasoline.

The credit will reduce the amount of tax you will
pay with your monthly or quarterly tax returns. If
you have a start-up loan from December 1983,
you may apply any credit above your tax due or
you may complete Form 3891, Refund Request for
Prepaid Sales Tax on Gasoline. When preparing
Form 165, include the gasoline retailer and whole-
saler prepayments on line 13b.

Seasonal Taxpayers

You must file a return for each of the seasonally
active months shown on your returns, even if no
tax is due. Also, if you make sales or pay wages
during the months when you are normally closed,
you must file returns for those months. Seasonally
active months may be changed by completing
Form 163.

Returns Due After Selling or Quitting
Business

All taxpayers must submit a final monthly or
quarterly return within 15 days after the date of
selling or quitting business. Your final annual
return is due by February 28. Contact the Tax
Clearance Unit at (517) 636-5260 to be sure all
debts have been satisfied.

Instructions and Worksheets

This book includes instructions and worksheets to
calculate your tax due and prepare returns for sales,
use and withholding taxes. Most taxpayers collect
and pay tax at only the 6% rate and don’t need a
worksheet with a 4% column. Taxpayers who still
collect at the 4% rate will receive a different set of
worksheets in January. If you don’t receive the
worksheets and need them, contact the Customer
Contact Division at (517) 636-4730.

Keep the completed worksheets for your records
and for possible audit. Do not file your worksheet
in place of filing a monthly, quarterly or annual
return. Filing the wrong form delays crediting your
account.

Line-by-Line Instructions — Monthly and
Quarterly Worksheets

Begin on line 15 if filing withholding only. Go to
page 12 if you file once annually.

Line 1. Gross Sales

Column A, Use Tax on Sales and Rentals - This line
is for out-of-state retailers who do not have retail
stores in Michigan. Enter total sales of tangible
personal property including cash, charge and
installment transactions.



Column B, Sales Tax - Enter total of all sales of
tangible personal property including cash, charge
and installment transactions.

Line 2. Rentals. Column A - Lessors of tangible
personal property who pay use tax on rental re-
ceipts must enter rental income. Also enter total
hotel and motel room rentals including assessments
imposed under the Convention and Tourism Act,
the Convention Facility Development Act, the
Regional Tourism Marketing Act, or the Commu-
nity Convention or Tourism Marketing Act. See
Line 5i for instructions on deducting the assess-
ments from rentals.

Column B - Does not apply.

Line 3. Communication Services

Column A - Enter gross income from telephone,
telegraph and similar telecommunications services.
Column B - Does not apply.

Allowable Deductions

Use lines 5a - 5j to deduct nontaxable sales you
made from gross sales. Deductions taken for tax
exempt sales must be substantiated in your records.
For certain exemptions, you must obtain a com-
pleted copy of Form 3372, or the same information
in another format, from the purchaser.

Line 5a. Resale. Enter sales of tangible personal
property to other licensed retailers which will be
resold by those retailers. You must obtain a com-
pleted copy of Form 3372, or the same information
in another format, to support this deduction.

Line 5b. Industrial Processing/Agricultural
Producing. Enter sales of tangible personal prop-
erty to persons entitled to exemption as industrial
processors or agricultural producers. The property
sold must be for direct use in producing a product
for eventual sale. You must obtain a completed
copy of Form 3372, or the same information in
another format, to support this deduction.

Line 5¢c. Interstate Commerce. Enter sales made
in interstate commerce. To claim such a deduction,
the property must be sold in Michigan then deliv-
ered by you to the purchaser out of state. Property
transported out of state by the purchaser does not
qualify under interstate commerce. You must keep
documentation of shipment out of state to support
this deduction.

Line 5d. Exempt Services. Enter charges for
nontaxable services billed separately, such as repair
or maintenance, if these charges were included in
gross receipts on line 1. Any costs incurred before
the property is transferred to the buyer (including

shipping, handling and delivery charges) are not

considered services and are taxable.

Line 5e. Tax Paid to the

Secretary of State. Column A - Does not apply.

Column B - Enter sales by licensed vehicle dealers

(not including tax) of vehicles and mobile homes

on which you paid sales tax to the Secretary of

State.

Line 5f. Food for Human/Home Consumption

Enter total of retail sales of grocery-type food,

excluding tobacco and alcoholic beverages. Pre-

pared food is taxable.

Line 5g. Bad Debts. You may deduct the amount

of bad debts if the bad debt was documented as a

taxable transaction in your records.

Line 5h. Michigan Motor Fuel or Diesel Fuel

Tax. Column A - Does not apply.

Column B - Retailers may deduct the Michigan

motor fuel taxes that were included in gross sales

on line 1 and paid to the state or the distributor.

Line 5i. Other Deductions

Include deductions not covered in items 5a - 5h on

this line. Examples of deductions are:

* Assessments imposed under the Convention and
Tourism Act, the Convention Facility Develop-
ment Act, the Regional Tourism Marketing Act,
or the Community Convention or Tourism
Marketing Act. Hotels and motels may deduct
the assessments included in gross sales and
rentals provided use tax on the assessments was
not charged to the customers.

e Credits allowed to customers for voluntary return
of merchandise previously sold and originally
subject to sales tax. Credit, including tax
charged, must be granted to the customer. If
returned for full credit within four years, a full
credit of tax should be granted. If returned for
partial credit within 180 days or within seller’s
stated refund policy, whichever is sooner, a
partial refund of tax must be granted. Reposses-
sions are not allowable credits.

e Direct sales to the United States Government,
State of Michigan or its political subdivisions.
Direct sales not for resale to certain nonprofit
agencies, churches, schools, hospitals and homes
for the care of children and the aged, provided
such activities are nonprofit and payment is
directly from the funds of the exempt organiza-
tion. You must obtain a completed copy of Form
3372, or the same information in another format,
to support this deduction.



Sales to contractors of materials which will
become part of a finished structure for a quali-
fied exempt nonprofit hospital, qualified exempt
nonprofit housing entity or church sanctuary.
You must obtain a completed copy of Form
3372, or the same information in another format,

e Purchases for resale or lease on which sales or

use tax was paid to the supplier.

Qualified nonprofit organizations may take a
deduction of their sales if total sales are less than
$5,000. If total sales are $5,000 or more, the
entire amount of sales is subject to tax. For

to support this deduction. In addition, the pur-
chaser will provide Form 3520, Michigan Sales
and Use Tax Contractor Eligibility Statement.
See Revenue Administrative Bulletin 1999-2.

» Sales to companies who claim direct payment of
use tax to the State of Michigan. Such companies
must have a sales tax license or use tax registra-
tion, and have a letter from Treasury specifically
granting direct payment authority. You must
retain a copy of your customer’s direct pay
authority letter to support future exemption
claims. You must obtain a completed copy of
Form 3372, or the same information in another
format, to support this deduction.

qualifications see Revenue Administrative Bulle-
tin 1995-3.
Line 5j. Tax included in Gross Sales. Column A -
Does not apply.
Column B - Complete this line only if you have tax
included in your gross sales. Subtract the sum of
lines 5a through 5i from the gross sales in each
column. Divide the result in the 6% column by
17.6667 and enter on line 5j.
Line 5k. Total Deductions. Enter total of lines 5a
through 5j.
Line 6. Subtract line 5k from line 4 to determine
the sales subject to tax.

Line 11: Figuring Your Discount
You can receive a discount by filing your sales or use (on sales and rentals) taxes early or timely. Any portion
of taxes paid by the 12 of the month are discounted 3/4 of 1%. Taxes paid between the 12" and the 20™ (includ-
ing the 20™), are discounted 1/2 of 1%. Discounts apply only to 2/3 (.6667) of the sales and/or use tax
collected at the 6% tax rate. Use Chart 1 to see if you need to do any calculation. If you do, use Chart 2 to
figure your discount. Complete the chart once for use tax and once for sales tax.

Chart1l Monthly Filers
If your tax is less than $9, complete Chart 2
Paying by the 12" If your tax is $9 - $1,200............... enter $6 on worksheet line 11
If your tax is more than $1,200.... complete Chart 2
Paying by the 20®" If your tax is $9 - $1,800.............. enter $6 on worksheet line 11
If your tax is more than $1,800.... complete Chart 2
Quarterly Filers
If your tax is less than $27, complete Chart 2
Paying by the 12" If your tax is $27 - $3,600 ........... enter $18 on worksheet line 11
If your tax is more than $3,600 .... complete Chart 2
Paying by the 20" If your tax is $27 - $5,400 ........... enter $18 on worksheet line 11
If your tax is more than $5,400 .... complete Chart 2
Chart?2
Paying by the 12th? (Maximum $20.000) Paying by the 20th? (Maximum $15.000)
Amount you are paying early $ Amount you are paying timely  $
X .6667 X .6667
STOP. See below.* .......ccceeee. STOP. See below.* .......ccceeeee.
x .0075 x  .005
Discount Amount =.................... $ Discount Amount =.................... $
Enter on worksheet line 11 Enter on worksheet line 11

* If you pay your tax monthly and this amount is $6 or less, enter this amount on your worksheet line 11.
If you pay your tax quarterly and this amount is $18 or less, enter this amount on your worksheet line 11.
All others, finish the chart.




Line 8. Multiply the amount on line 6 by the
appropriate tax rate for that column and enter on
line 8.

Line 9. If you collected more tax than the amount
on line 8, enter the difference on line 9.

NOTE: Annual taxpayers — Go to line 10 under
instructions for filing annual return on page 13.
Line 10. Total Tax Due. Add lines 8 and 9 and
enter total. If line 10 is zero or you are not paying
by the 20™, skip line 11 (discounts). Enter the
amount from column B on the sales tax line on
your return. Enter the amount from column A on
the use tax (sales/rentals) line on your return.

Line 11. Use the charts on page 9 to figure your
discount (discounts are not allowed on late pay-
ments). Enter the amount from your worksheet on
the discount line of your voucher or on the appro-
priate line for sales or use tax discount on your
return. Enter separate amounts for use tax and sales
tax.

The maximum discount for payments made be-
tween the 12" and the 20" is $15,000 per tax. If
you paid part of your tax on or before the 12", the
total combined discount allowed is $20,000 per tax.
If you were open for business for only part of a
month or quarter and you take the minimum
discount, multiply the discount by the number of
days you were open for business, then divide the
result by the number of days in the period (30 or
90).

Use Tax - Purchases Only: See Page 5.

Line 14. Enter purchases which were taxable at the
6% rate (14a). Multiply by .06 and enter the tax due
on the line at the far right (14b) and on the use tax
(purchases) line on your return.

Line 15. Enter gross Michigan payroll for the
month or quarter.

Line 16. Enter this amount on the withholding line
on your return.

Summary

Line 17. Add lines 13, 14b and 16 and enter the
total.

Line 18. Penalty and interest are charged for late
payment of tax. The penalty is 5% of the tax due if
the late payment is received within the first two
months of the due date. For each subsequent
month, or part thereof, the penalty increases by an
additional 5% of the tax due. The maximum pen-
alty is 25%.

Interest is charged daily at a rate of 1% above the
prime rate. The interest rate is adjusted on January
1 and July 1.
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Example: If the payment or return was due Febru-
ary 20 but is not received until June 7, calculate the
penalty as follows:

2/21 to 4/20 (2 months) = 5%

4/21 to 5/20 (1 month) = 5%

5/21 to 6/7 (partial month) = 5%

Total penalty = 15%

In addition, add interest at 1% above the prime rate
as computed on the total tax due shown on line 17.
A penalty and interest calculator is available on
Treasury’s Web site.

Line 19. Single Business Tax Estimate. See page
47 for information on filing a combined estimate.
Line 20. Add lines 17, 18 and 19 and enter total.
DO NOT ENTER CREDIT FIGURES ON THE
RETURN.

Using credit figures on the returns may result in a
tax assessment. Carry credits forward on your
worksheet instead.

Line 21. Enter any credits for your account here.
Line 22. Subtract line 21 from line 20. This is the
amount of tax due. Enter this amount on your
combined return and make your check payable for
this amount.

IMPORTANT: Reduce each of the taxes reported
on the combined return to reflect the amount of the
credit. If the amount on worksheet line 22 is less
than zero, enter zero on your return. Do not put
amounts on any other line. Carry the rest of the
credit forward to the worksheet for the next filing
period.

Filing Instructions for your Returns
& Vouchers

To prepare your return accurately, complete your
worksheet before attempting to complete your
return. Each item on the return corresponds to a
line number on the worksheet.

Enter your amounts carefully and completely in
the boxes provided. Do not write any messages,
credit amounts or symbols (+, -, () ) on the
returns or vouchers; returns are processed by
automated equipment. Instead, use Form 163,
Notice of Change or Discontinuance or write to
Treasury.

Use Form 160, Combined Return for Michigan
Taxes, if you are paying all the taxes due at one
time either on the 12" or the 20™. If you are paying
only part of your tax, use Form 161, Discount
Voucher for Sales and Use Tax. The voucher is a
payment form only and does not replace the return.
A return is still required even if no tax is due.



Complete the form and carefully detach it. Make
sure you are sending the form for the correct filing
period. Make your check payable to the “State of
Michigan” and write “SUW?” and your account
number on your check. Do not fold your check or
this form. Using a #10 business envelope, mail the
form and check to the address printed on the
bottom of your return or voucher.

Discount Voucher (Form 161)

On the first line (tax amount you are paying early),
enter the amount of each tax (sales or use) you are
paying early. Remember, if you are paying all your
tax (even by the 12™), use the monthly/quarterly
return.

On the second line (discount amount from chart),
enter the amount of discount for each tax type that
you computed using the charts on page 9.

On the third line (tax minus discount), subtract the
discount from the amount due and enter here.

Combined Return (Form 160)

Sales tax. Enter the amount from worksheet line
10B.
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Sales tax discount. Enter the amount from
worksheet line 11B. Be sure to include any dis-
count you may have taken if you filed a voucher
by the 12,

Use tax (sales/rentals). Enter the amount from
worksheet line 10A.

Use tax discount. Enter the amount from worksheet
line 11A. Be sure to include any discount you may
have taken if you filed a voucher by the 12%.

Use tax (purchases). Enter the amount from
worksheet line 14b.

Michigan withholding. Enter the amount from
worksheet line 16.

SBT estimates. Enter the amount from worksheet
line 19 that you are paying with this return.
Voucher payment. Enter the amount of tax paid
early from the total payment line of the discount
voucher. This is not a credit or subtotal line. Only
enter an amount here if you filed by the 12™.
Penalty and interest. Enter the amount from
worksheet line 18.

Total payment. Enter the amount of your check.



General Instructions for Filing Your Annual SUW Taxes Return

Annual Return Filing Requirements

You must file the annual return if you are registered
for sales or use tax or income tax withholding in
the State of Michigan. Monthly and quarterly filers
must file an annual return on a calendar-year basis
(not your fiscal year).

Taxpayers that have multiple active account num-
bers (ME and/or FEIN) in a tax year are required to
file separate annual returns for each account
number assigned. Please take time to identify the
registered tax types for each account number and
include only those tax figures on the corresponding
annual return. If you have secured an outside
payroll or accounting agency, coordinate this filing
responsibility with them.

If during the year your accumulated sales, use and
withholding taxes become $750 or more, you must
notify Treasury to change your filing status and
provide you with the appropriate tax returns.

All annual returns must be signed and dated by the
taxpayer or the taxpayer’s authorized agent. This
may be the owner, partner, corporate officer or
officer’s agent or association member, officer or
agent. No other person may sign for the taxpayer in
the taxpayer’s signature box.

W-2 Wage and Tax Statements

You must furnish W-2 statements to your employ-
ees by January 31. Refer to the “Amended Re-
turns” section on page 7 for amending W-2 state-
ments.

Employers with Michigan employees must report
W-2 information to Michigan on or before February
28 by enclosing W-2 forms with the annual return.
A 1099-MISC must be filed for services performed
in the State of Michigan, regardless of the state of
residence of the payee, whether there was with-
holding or not. Taxpayers not registered for with-
holding should file correspondence with the busi-
ness account number and mail to Michigan Depart-
ment of Treasury; Lansing, MI, 48930.

If you have 250 or more Michigan employees, you
must report using magnetic tapes or diskettes. If
you have fewer than 250 employees, you may
report using magnetic media or using the state copy
of the federal W-2. See page 40 for specifics about
magnetic reporting.
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Mail your annual return and all W-2
information to:
WITH PAYMENT:
Michigan Department of Treasury
Department 78172
P.O. Box 78000
Detroit, MI 48278-0172
WITHOUT PAYMENT:
Michigan Department of Treasury
Lansing, MI 48930
Address your tapes or disks to:
Return Processing Division
Magnetic Media Unit - SUW
Michigan Department of Treasury
Lansing, MI 48922

Before mailing your return, make sure:

1. The label provided is placed on Form 165,
Annual Return for Sales, Use and Withhold-
ing Taxes.

2. Monthly or Quarterly copies of Form 160,
Combined Return for Michigan Taxes are
completed using tax due figures only. Gross sales
figures are reported on the annual return only.

3. Figures entered on return correspond to the
description provided for that tax line.

4. Subtotal amounts have not been entered on Form
160.

5. Account information changes have not
been requested on the return. File Form 163,
Notice of Change or Discontinuance for
these changes.

6. Areturn is submitted for each filing period
required according to your filing status. This
includes return periods that have zero due
or no activity.

7. Payment for the Single Business Tax Estimate is
enclosed with Form 160 if reporting your SBT
estimate on that form.

8. All discounts have been calculated and reported
correctly.

9. Appropriate pre-identified return is used for filing

period indicated on that return.

Negative/credit figures have not been entered on

the return.

11. Tax payment is enclosed with return.

12. Your account number is written on your check.

10.




ANNUAL RETURN: Line-by-Line Instructions

Note: If you pay only income tax withholding or
file once a year and do not have deductions, use
the instructions on page 14.

Sales and Use Tax

Lines 1 through 9. Monthly and quarterly filers, in
each column add the entries from all your
worksheets for the year and enter the totals on the
corresponding line on the annual return.
Taxpayers who file once annually, follow the line-
by-line instructions for the monthly and quarterly
worksheet, beginning on page 7.

Line 10. Add lines 8 and 9 and enter the totals in
each column.

Line 11. Taxpayers filing monthly or quarterly,
enter the total discounts allowed for the year in
each column. Total the amounts from the monthly
or quarterly worksheet line 11 in each column.
Include discounts from Form 2189 and Form 92,
Vehicle Dealer Supplemental Report.

Taxpayers filing once annually receive a discount
if the return is filed timely. The discount applies
only to 2/3 (.6667) of the sales and/or use tax
collected at the 6% tax rate. Use Chart 3 on page 14
to figure your discount.

If you opened for business late in the year or ended
your business early in the year, the $6 per month
discount is allowed only for the months you were
in business. No discount is allowed if the return is
filed after February 28.

Line 12. Net tax due. Subtract line 11 from line 10
and enter the differences in each column.

Line 13. Enter the total amount of each tax paid
after discounts during the report year. Be sure to
include the amount from your gasoline retail or
gasoline supplier and wholesale reports. Do not
include any penalties or interest paid. This amount
should be the total of all payments for the year
from your monthly/quarterly worksheet line 12
(both rate columns).

Use Tax on Purchases Only

Line 14. Enter purchases which were taxable at the
6% rate. Multiply by .06 and enter the tax due on
the line at the far right.

Line 15. Enter the use tax on purchases paid
during the year. This amount should be the total of
all payments for the year from your monthly/
quarterly worksheet line 14b.

Income Tax Withholding

Line 16. Enter your gross Michigan payroll and
other taxable compensation for the year, and any
amount from box 7 on your MI-NR-K1.
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Line 17. Enter the number of W-2 statements,
1099-MISCs, plus 1099s, 1099-Rs and MI-NR-Kl1s
with Michigan withholding you are submitting for
the year.

Line 18. Enter the total Michigan income tax

withheld for the year as shown on the W-2 and

1099-MISC statements and from Box 8 of your MI-

NR-KI1.

Line 19. Enter the total Michigan income tax

withheld that was paid on your monthly or quar-

terly returns. This should be the total of line 16 on
all your worksheets for the year. (Do not include
penalty and interest.)

Summary

Line 20. Total the taxes due. Add lines 12A and B,

14b and 18 and enter the total here.

Line 21. Total taxes paid. Add lines 13A and B, 15

and 19 and enter the total here.

Line 22. If line 21 (tax paid) is greater than line 20

(tax due), enter the difference (overpayment) here.

Line 23. Enter the amount of the overpayment that

you want applied to your monthly or quarterly

return. Treasury will notify you when your credit is
available.

Line 24. Enter the amount of overpayment from

line 22 you want refunded to you. Refunds will not

be made in amounts of less than $1.

Line 25. If line 21 (tax paid) is less than line 20

(tax due), enter the additional tax due. Pay any

amount $1 or over with this return.

Line 26. If your return is late, compute the penalty

and interest due. If no tax is due on line 25, the

penalty is $10 per day to a maximum of $400.

If you have a tax due on line 25, the penalty is as

follows:

* 5% of the tax due (line 25) if the late payment is
received within 2 months of the due date.

* 5% of the tax due for each subsequent month, or
part thereof, the tax is not paid.

* Maximum penalty is 25% of tax due.

* Interest is due at the rate of 1% above the prime
interest rate from the day the tax is due until it is
paid. The prime rate will be adjusted January 1
and July 1.

e A penalty and interest calculator is available on
Treasury’s Web site.

Line 27. Amount due with this return. Add lines 25

and 26. Make check payable to the “State of

Michigan.” Write your account number and

“SUW?” on your check. Do not pay if the amount

due is less than $1.



ANNUAL RETURN

Simplified Instructions for Annual Filers With No Deductions

If you file just once a year (no quarterly or monthly
payments) and have no allowable deductions, use
these instructions to complete your return faster.

If you are not registered for Sales or Use
Tax, skip to step 9.

Step 1:  Complete lines 1 - 4.

Step 2:  Enter the amount from line 4 on line 6.
Step 3:  Multiply the amount on line 4 by the tax
rate (usually 6%), and enter the result on
line 8.

Enter on line 9 any amount you collected
in excess of line 8. For example, if you
entered $40 on line 8 but actually col-
lected $50, enter $10 on line 9.

Add lines 8 and 9 and enter on line 10.
Line 11 is your discount amount. You
are eligible for a discount if you pay the
tax due by February 28. The discount
applies only to 2/3 (.6667) of the sales
and/or use tax collected at the 6% tax
rate. Use Chart 3 below to figure your
discount and enter it on line 11.

Step 4:

Step 5:
Step 6:

If you were only open part of the year,
multiply the number of months you were
open by $6. Compare that against the
discount amount you figured in Chart 3.
Enter the smaller of these two numbers
on your worksheet line 11.

Unless you paid tax during the year, line
13 should be zero.

If you bought any goods during the year
from an out-of-state vendor and did not
pay sales tax on them or if you took
items from inventory for personal or
business use, complete lines 14 and 15.
See page 5 for more information about
the use tax.

Step 7:

Step 8:

Chart 3

Step 9: If you have employees, complete lines
16-19. If you have no employees, enter
zero on line 19.

Summary. Complete lines 20 and 21.
Enter the difference on line 25. If you are
paying late, enter any penalty or interest
due on line 26 and total your amount due
on line 27.

Transfer the information from your
worksheet to your return. Keep your
worksheet for your records.

Make your check payable to the “State of Michi-
gan.” Write your account number and “SUW” on
your check. If you are filing your return with any
other remittance form, send a separate check for
each payment.

WITH PAYMENT:
Michigan Department of Treasury
Department 78172
P.O. Box 78000
Detroit, MI 48278-0172

Step 10:

Step 11:

WITHOUT PAYMENT:
Michigan Department of Treasury
Lansing, MI 48930

If your tax due is less than $108...

Amount of tax due $

X .6667

Discount Amount = $
Enter on worksheet line 11

If your tax due is $108 or more...

Enter $72 on worksheet line 11.
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Single Business Tax Estimates

Single Business Tax (SBT) is a tax on business
activity conducted in Michigan. SBT is due only if
you expect your apportioned or allocated receipts
to be $350,000 or greater for the tax year. As a
convenience to taxpayers, you may pay your SBT
quarterly estimates with your sales, use and with-
holding (SUW) taxes return. If you choose this
option, you need to file only one form and write
one check for all the taxes you pay. If you regu-
larly use your SUW return to make SBT payments,
Treasury will not send you personalized SBT
estimate forms.

Who must file?

If you expect your annual SBT liability to exceed

$600, you must make estimated payments. You

may make your payments with either of the follow-
ing returns:

* Form C-8002, Single Business Tax Quarterly

Return, or

e Form 160, Combined Return for Michigan

Taxes.

How much should | pay?

You may estimate your payment using one of the

following methods:

* 1% of gross receipts for the period, or

* 25% (quarterly) or 8.33% (monthly) of your
preceding year’s SBT liability (only if preceding
year’s tax liability is less than $20,000), or

* 25% (quarterly) or 8.33% (monthly) of 85
percent of your estimated SBT for the year, or

* SBT computed on the actual tax base of the
period.

Enter the estimated SBT payment amount on line

19 of the monthly worksheet in this booklet.

No interest will be charged if payments are made

on time and:

* The sum of the estimated payments equals at
least 85% of your annual liability, and the
amount of each payment reasonably approxi-
mates the tax liability incurred during the period;
or

* The sum of the estimated payments equals at
least 1% of your gross receipts for the tax year,
and the amount of each payment reasonably
approximates the tax liability incurred during
that period; or
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e The sum of the four (or 12 if filing monthly)
estimated payments equals your previous year’s
tax liability provided your previous year’s
liability was $20,000 or less and the payments
were made equally over the year.

How do | report these payments?

Regardless of which form you use to file estimated

SBT payments, report all SBT estimate payments

on your annual SBT return. An annual return is

required only from taxpayers whose apportioned or
allocated gross receipts are $350,000 or greater. If
your gross receipts are below this filing require-
ment, but you made estimated payments during the
tax year, file a return to claim a refund of your
payments.

For more information, see the Single Business Tax

Instruction book, or call (517) 636-4700 (SBT

only).

Revenue Administrative Bulletins

A Revenue Administrative Bulletin (RAB) is a
directive issued by the Michigan Department of
Treasury. Its purpose is to promote uniform appli-
cation of tax laws throughout the State and provide
information and guidance to taxpayers. An RAB
states the official position of Treasury, has the
status of precedent in the disposition of cases
unless and until revoked or modified, and may be
relied on by taxpayers in situations where the facts,
circumstances and issues presented are substan-
tially similar to those set forth in the RAB. A
taxpayer must consider the effects of subsequent
legislation, regulations, court decisions and RABs
when relying on an RAB. See RAB 1989-34 for
more information.

To access a copy of a particular RAB, go to
www.michigan.gov/treasury or call (517) 636-
4730.



Sales Tax, Use Tax,
Income Tax Withholding and
Single Business Tax Estimates

Business Self Service. Check your Sales,
Use and Withholding Tax transactions
on-line. You may also ask questions about
your account at www.michigan.gov/bustax.
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