The Bureau of Regulatory Services

# Driver Education Bulletin

www.Michigan.gov/sos

#### June 2006 Volume 2; Issue 1

Michigan Department of State

Terri Lynn Land Secretary of State

#### In this issue

#### Page 2

Driver training school reporting

Proposed legislation

Adults receiving instruction

#### Page 3

Eligibility for Segment 2

Faxing to DES

Parent driving permit

#### Page 4

Teen driver training school instructor license application

Costs to attend driver education

**Expiration dates** 

Practicing on third party testing sites

Ordering driver education materials

# New printing of certificates of completion

New segment 1 [DES-001 (2/06)] and segment 2 [DES-002 (2/06)] certificates of completion have been printed and are now being used to fill requests. You should use up your current inventory of MDOS certificates before using the new certificates.

Please note the following changes:

- 1. Certificates are now packaged in bundles of 100 instead of 200. You must order a minimum of 100 certificates.
- 2. **Signatures** for the driver education instructor and authorized school official are now required. Certificates without a signature or signature stamp will not be accepted at branch offices.
- 3. The segment 1 certificate now lists all of the documents that may be used to meet the identification requirement for license application.
- 4. The segment 1 certificate now indicates that when a student visits a branch office to apply for a level 1 driver license, the licensed parent or legal guardian who accompanies the student must show his or her driver license as identification

#### We are live!

The Michigan Department of State, Driver Education web site is now live. You can access it by going to **www.Michigan.gov/sos**, clicking on the left tool bar heading entitled "Driver License and State ID," then on "Driver Education." The site contains valuable information for driver education providers and instructors, as well as parents and students; documents such as statutes, rules, driver education bulletins, performance objectives, reporting and recordkeeping requirements, and an FAQ section. You will also find the following forms available, which you may print and reproduce or fill in when opened on the web site: Program Request and Program Completion Data forms (teen driver training school programs) and the Instructor Approval Request form (public school programs).

Also available on the web site is a newly revised <u>Parent - Teen Safe Driving Contract</u>. This contract will assist the parent and teen driver with outlining the responsibilities of each during the teen's early years of driving.

### Pilot for driver training school reporting

The Driver Education Section is in the initial phase of piloting a program enabling electronic submission of Program Request and Program Completion Data forms. We are looking for a few schools that are interested in recording student information in either an Excel spreadsheet or Access database. DES will provide the format and schools will submit the data electronically. If you are interested in being a part of the pilot program, please contact Therese Joseph at (517) 241-6850.

### **Driver training school reporting**

A driver training school that offers teen instruction is required to submit a Program Request form at least 10 days prior to the start of each class and a Program Completion Data form no later than 10 days after the completion of each class. We have been notifying driver training schools by letter when reports indicate violations of the Driver Education and Training Schools Act or administrative rules. Our goal is to share the responsibility of compliance by bringing matters to your attention when discovered. We expect that each school will take appropriate measures to modify their practices to comply with the law in the future.

Following are the most common issues identified to date:

- 1. Failing to submit Program Request and/or Program Completion Data forms in a timely manner.
- 2. Submitting incomplete Program Request and/or Program Completion Data forms.
- 3. Failing to assign a specific "program number" for each class, and recording that number on both the Program Request and Completion Data forms.
- 4. Conducting classes in unapproved locations and failing to submit the proper documentation verifying approval (i.e., fire marshal report or letter of agreement from the educational institution being used).
- 5. Permitting instructors who are not licensed/approved, or both, to teach.
- 6. Admitting students into a segment 1 course who do not meet the minimum required age of 14 years and 8 months on the first day of class.
- 7. Conducting classes (segment 1 and/or segment 2) that do not meet the minimum requirements (number of days, length of each class).
- 8. Exceeding the maximum seating capacity of 36 students.

Please follow these guidelines when submitting reports:

- Forms must be legible and filled out in their entirety. To avoid problems with legibility, **do not** fax Program Request and Program Completion Data forms. Illegible or incomplete forms may be returned.
- Any changes to scheduled classes must be reported (i.e., change in dates, times, instructors, location, or if a class is cancelled).
- If submitting a Program Completion Data form using two separate pages, staple them together. Please add the school name and program number to the second page.
- If an additional class is added because of an influx of students, mailing the Program Request form will still be permitted, even if submitted less than 10 days from the starting date of the class.
- If you submit a list of voided certificates or duplicate certificates issued, include your school name.

## **Proposed legislation**

There were a number of Senate and House bills introduced during the current session pertaining to driver education or traffic safety. To access a bill's language, go to www.michiganlegislature.org. You may also search by entering key words in the Bill Key Word Search box (i.e., "graduated driver license" or "driver education").

### **Adults receiving instruction**

In order to receive behind-the-wheel instruction, a student 18 years of age or older must possess a valid Temporary Instruction Permit (TIP) issued by the Secretary of State. If a student is 17 years old and turns 18 during a segment 1 program, he/she may not continue receiving behind-the-wheel instruction until he/she obtains a TIP. Documentation must be on file verifying eligibility (preferably a copy of the TIP). There are no provisions for special need students.

Adults attending truck driver training schools must also possess a valid CDL Temporary Instruction Permit from the Secretary of State before receiving behind-the-wheel instruction. Photocopies of the CDL TIP should be maintained in the student's records.

Dept. of Education segment 1 and 2 certificates of completion are no longer accepted at SOS branches!

### **Eligibility for Segment 2**

To be eligible for segment 2, a student must:

- 1. Complete segment 1 at least three months prior to beginning segment 2.
- 2. Complete at least 30 hours of driving practice with a licensed parent, licensed guardian, or designated licensed adult age 21 or older.
- 3. Possess a level 1 driver license.

School records should be available to verify each student's eligibility. For each student, the school should retain:

- 1. A copy of the student's segment 1 certificate of completion, or the certificate number and date issued (and school name if different than the segment 2 provider).
- 2. A copy of the student's level 1 license. Although it does not need to be at least three months old, a school may wish to scrutinize the validity of 30 hours of drive time on a level 1 license that has been issued a short time ago.
- 3. Documentation of 30 hours of practice driving. This may be accomplished by either requesting a driving log or a certification from a parent or guardian.

# **Faxing to DES**

When you fax information to the Driver Education Section, please include a cover page identifying the recipient, the number of pages (including cover page), and the date.

To avoid problems with legibility, do not fax transcripts, teaching certificates, or Program Request and Program Completion Data forms.

# Parent driving permit

MCL 257.306(4) provides for the issuance of parent driving permits. In an effort to reduce the likelihood of permit misuse, please review these guidelines for the issuance and use of parent driving permits:

#### INSTRUCTIONS FOR CREATING AND DISTRIBUTING THE PARENT DRIVING PERMITS:

- ➤ Maintain tight security on the template and fill in all required information (typing the information is recommended). Since the permit is often referred to as the "pink permit," it should be duplicated on pink paper.
- Number the permits and maintain an accurate log, including student name, permit number, issue date, and expiration date.
- Parental permission must be obtained prior to issuing a permit to a student. The parent should be informed of the availability of the permit and its intent. The purpose of the permit is to provide an opportunity for reinforcement of the instruction already received. Students should not attempt driving tasks that have not been previously introduced to them in driver education.
- Thoroughly review the information and restrictions on the permit with the student and parent(s). The permit can only be used when a licensed parent or legal guardian accompanies the student or when both a non-licensed parent or legal guardian and a licensed adult accompany the student. Inform the parent(s) of the student's progress before issuance of the permit. The student must also meet the physical requirements specified by law for operation of a motor vehicle.
- Instruct parents to contact their insurance company to determine whether a change to the policy is required prior to using the permit.

The permit is valid as long as the student is enrolled in a segment 1 class. If the student's enrollment is terminated, the permit is considered expired. Since driver education is an "integrated and correlated" program with regard to classroom and behind-the-wheel [Driver Education Administrative Rule 388.308 (c) (iii)], extending the parent driving permit for any substantial length of time (more than two weeks) beyond the ending date of the classroom phase is not permissible.

# Teen driver training school instructor license application

The driver training school instructor license application (DES-015) has been revised to accommodate a teen instructor approval request. A driver training school which submits a license application for an instructor to teach teens is now required to complete only one form.

Public schools are still required to submit the Instructor Approval Request form (DES-010) when employing new instructors.

# Costs to attend driver education

The student/parent must be informed of ALL costs prior to paying and/or signing the contract. This would include costs for such things as additional drive(s), replacement certificates, lost textbooks, etc. These costs should be included on the student contract.

# **Expiration dates**

Driver training school owners, public school coordinators, and instructors need to stay alert for various documents and reports that may expire throughout the year. These include:

#### **Driver Training Schools and Instructors:**

- Criminal background checks
- Medical exam reports
- Insurance certificates
- Instructor approval letters

#### Public Schools and Instructors:

- Instructor approval letters
- Teaching certificates

It is the responsibility of the driver education providers to ensure that their schools and instructors meet the requirements to operate and instruct. The Department of State may not send expiration date reminders to providers. If a document or report expires, and the department does not receive an updated document or report, the school and/or instructor will be in violation if instruction continues. A notice of violation will be sent and appropriate sanctions may occur.

# Practicing on third party road testing sites

Driver education providers should not use road skills testing sites to provide behind-the-wheel instruction to students. Road skills testing sites are approved for "testing purposes" only and may not be used for "educational purposes." Often, the testing sites are located on private property and approval has only been granted to the third party testing organization for use on specific days. Driver education providers should also refrain from encouraging parents and students to practice on third party testing sites that are not being used by the testing organization.

# Ordering driver education materials

Enclosed is a contact information page that includes the procedure for ordering driver education materials. Orders for driver education materials (certificates of completion, What Every Driver Must Know booklets, GDL: A Guide for Parents, etc.) must be placed through the Inventory Services Section (ISS). Contact information for the ISS is also included.

Please give special attention to the following guidelines:

- 1. All orders must be made on the driver education provider's school letterhead.
- 2. Orders for certificates of completion must be placed under <u>separate</u> cover from all other orders. For example, do not order certificates of completion and WEDMKs on the same request; they must be separate.
- 3. Public school orders must include the 5-digit school district code number. Driver training school orders must include the school license number.
- 4. If making a change in your contact information (address, authorized official), contact the DES. Staff will then notify the ISS of the change.
- 5. Public schools must now order all driver education materials, including the WEDMK and GDL parent guides, directly from the ISS. The REMC/ISD distribution process has been discontinued.

Be sure to sign and return the Material Movement form. Failure to do so will affect future requests.

See the enclosed contact information page!