
Hotline: 
866–733–7733

Surrender Your Baby

Michigan’s
Safe Delivery of Newborns Law

Surrendering Parent Rights
By surrendering your newborn, you are releasing  
your newborn to a child placing agency to be  
placed for adoption.

You have 28 days after surrendering your newborn  
to petition the court to regain custody.

After the 28 days end there will be a hearing to 
terminate your parental rights.

There will be a public notice of this hearing;  
however, the notice will not contain your name.

You will NOT receive personal notice of the hearing.

Any information you are willing to provide to an 
Emergency Service Provider will NOT be made public.

For more information on safe delivery 
call the hotline at: 866–733–7733

The card below is detachable.  
Please keep it with you or pass it along  

to someone you think it may help...
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A newborn can be surrendered within 72 hours 
of birth inside any hospital, fire department,  

police station or by calling 9–1–1.

sAFE. LEGAL. ANONYMOUS.
Hotline: 866–733–7733

www.michigan.gov/safedelivery
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The Michigan Department of Health and Human Services 
(MDHHS) does not discriminate against any individual or 
group because of race, religion, age, national origin, color, 
height, weight, marital status, genetic information, sex, sexual 
orientation, gender identity or expression, political beliefs or 
disability.
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Young and Scared?
You may be a teen or a young adult who is 
not ready emotionally or financially to be a 
parent. Maybe you have been able to keep your 
pregnancy a secret. But now what? You have a 
choice to take your newborn to a safe place.

What is a Safe Place?
If your baby is three days old or less, it is 
not a crime to surrender your newborn to an 
employee of a hospital, fire department, or a 
police station. You may also call 9–1–1.

No One Needs to Know...
You can leave without giving your name. It 
would help the baby if you have some basic 
health information. However, you do not have 
to answer any questions. It is YOUR choice.

Michigan’s 
Safe Delivery of Newborns Law

Safe. legal. anonymous.

look for this sign!

Surrender Your Baby
Safe. legal. anonymous.

What Happens to Your Baby?
If your baby needs medical attention, he or  
she will receive it. The professional staff person 
who accepts the baby will contact an adoption 
agency. Social workers will place the baby with 
a pre–adoptive family. There are many families 
who want to adopt. The plan is to make sure your 
baby has a good home where he or she can grow 
up healthy and happy.

It’s Your Choice...
Maybe you made a mistake. But you can make a 
good choice now. You can choose a safe place for 
your newborn. It is a decision that will help you 
and your baby. Your baby can have a family.

please don’t abandon your baby
Surrender Your Baby

sAFE. LEGAL. ANONYMOUS.
Safe Delivery of Newborns Law

Michigan’s

Hotline: 866–733–7733


