Buckle Up or Pay Up,
Click it or Ticket - The facts

e The most recent direct observation survey conducted in September 2003 found belt
use was 84.8 percent in Michigan. (University of Michigan Transportation Research
Institute — UMTRI)

e Belt use is higher for females than for males, and higher for drivers than for
passengers. Belt use is lowest among 16-to-29-year-olds. (UMTRI)

e Research has found that lap/shoulder safety belts, when used, reduce the risk of
fatal injury to front-seat car occupants by 45 percent and the risk of moderate-to-
critical injury by 50 percent. For light truck occupants, safety belts reduce the risk of
fatal injury by 60 percent and moderate-to-critical injury by 65 percent. (National
Highway Traffic Safety Administration - NHTSA).

e Michigan law requires all front seat occupants to buckle up. Passengers under age
16 must be buckled up, whether sitting in the front or back seat. Children under age
4 must be in an approved child safety seat, whether sitting in the front or back seat.

e The Michigan Office of Highway Safety Planning is providing nearly $2 million in
federal funds to local, county and state law enforcement agencies in the 20 most
populous and highly traveled counties to conduct overtime traffic enforcement during
the four national mobilizations this fiscal year: November, December, May and July.

Those counties are:

Bay Jackson Oakland
Berrien Kalamazoo Ottawa
Calhoun Kent Saginaw
Delta Livingston St. Clair
Genesee Macomb Wayne
Grand Traverse Monroe Washtenaw

Ingham Muskegon
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