
IT'S THE LAW!

In most cases
perinatal transmission of HIV

can be prevented!

In 1988, Michigan state legislation
mandated that health care providers

perform HIV testing to all
expectant mothers because

RESOURCES AND REFERRALS

FOR CLINICIANS ONLY

AIDS Education and Training Center Clinicians' Consultation Service
313-962-4040

Perinatal Hotline — 1-888-448-8765
National Perinatal HIV Consultation and Referral Service
24 hours a day/7 days a week

Warmline — 1-800-933-3413
National HIV Telephone Consultation Service
Monday - Friday 8 am - 8 pm EST
Voicemail 24 hours a day/7 days a week

PEPLine — 1-888-HIV-4911 (448-4911)
National Clinicians' Post-Exposure Prophylaxis Hotline
24 hours a day/7 days a week

FOR ALL OTHER INQUIRIES

STD/HIV Hotlines
1-800-872-AIDS (872-2437) — English (Michigan)

1-800-872-AIDS (872-2437) — Spanish (Michigan)

1-800-649-3777 — TTY/TDD (Michigan)

1-800-227-8922 — CDC National STD/AIDS Hotline

HIV Reporting
Michigan Department of Community Health

HIV/STD and Bloodborne Infection Surveillance Section

313-876-0353 — Detroit Office

517-335-8165 — Lansing Office

01-06

Michigan Department of Community Health
Division of HIV/AIDS-STD

HIV/AIDS Prevention and Intervention Section
517-241-5900

http://www.michigan.gov/mdch
http://www.mihivnews.com

Publication designed by the USF Center for HIV Education and Research, 
University of South Florida  — www.USFCenter.org



LEGISLATION

Call 313-962-4040 today for

information or free training in YOUR area.
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save a baby's life.

Continuing Education Credits may be available.

� Since 1988, Michigan law has required health care workers who   
 attend pregnant women to perform HIV testing, unless the woman  
 does not consent to testing, or if the test is deemed medically   
 inadvisable.*

� HIV testing is required at the initial prenatal care visit and is strongly  
 recommended to be performed again in the third trimester, preferably  
 before 36 weeks gestation.**

� An HIV test must be performed on:

 1) Women who present at delivery with no record of an HIV test  
  during pregnancy;
    
 2) Women who present for care in the immediate postpartum period  
  (24 hours), having recently delivered outside a health  care facility  
  and there is no documentation of HIV test results.*

� Documentation of acceptance of HIV testing and test results or refusal  
 of HIV testing is required to be in the woman's medical record.

 *  MCL 333.5123 Public Act of 1998, as amended by Act 200 of 1994
 * * State of Michigan Guidelines to Reduce the Transmission of  
  Perinatal HIV, Hepatitis B and Syphilis, 2003

 *** Age is age at HIV diagnosis. 
 The statistics presented above were provided by the Michigan Department of  
 Community Health, HIV/STD and Bloodborne Infections Surveillance Section. 

� As of October 1, 2005, there were 11,932 people living with HIV/AIDS in  
 Michigan, including 2,690 females over the age of 12 years*** and 162   
 children (age 12 years and younger***).
 
� While there are 2,690 females over the age of 12 years*** reported to be living  
 with HIV/AIDS in Michigan, MDCH estimates that there are approximately   
 3,650 females currently infected. This estimate accounts those who are infected  
 but have not been tested and those who have been tested but not reported.
 
� As of October 1, 2005, there has been a total of 261 children ages 12 years and  
 younger*** diagnosed with HIV/AIDS in Michigan.
 
� Of the living pediatric cases, 86% were infected by perinatal transmission.

FACTS

Michigan law requires HIV positive test results be reported to MDCH 
or a local health department within seven days of obtaining a 

confirmatory positive test result. 

This also includes the reporting of children perinatally exposed to 
HIV regardless of their confirmed infection status.

ReminderReminder

Treating women protects infants.

With appropriate treatment and intervention,

perinatal transmission rates can be reduced to

less than 2%.

The Centers for Disease Control and

Prevention (CDC) recommends routine

rapid HIV testing for women who appear

at delivery with unknown HIV status.

Rapid testing in labor and delivery will allow 

women with undocumented HIV status to learn 

their status quickly, receive antiretroviral therapy 

to reduce the risk of HIV transmission to their 

newborns, and be referred for medical treatment 

and follow-up.

Do your part in reducing the incidence of HIV infection

in babies — provide HIV testing to all pregnant women.




