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PENALTY
A motorist found responsible for violating the Move 
Over Law is guilty of a misdemeanor and is subject 
to four points on their driver’s license and fines and 
fees of approximately $150. 

Motorists face enhanced penalties of up to 15 
years in prison and\or a $7,500 fine if the violation 
causes injury or death to a police officer, firefighter, 
or other emergency response personnel.



MOVE OVER!
ON ROADS WITH TWO OR MORE LANES OF 
TRAVEL IN THE SAME DIRECTION
Ŷ�When approaching a stationary emergency 

vehicle with its emergency lights activated care-
fully move over into an open lane.

Ŷ�If this is not possible due to traffic, weather, or 
road conditions, slow down and pass with cau-
tion, allowing the emergency vehicle as much 
space as possible.

ON ROADS WITH ONE LANE OF TRAVEL  
IN EACH DIRECTION
Ŷ�When approaching a stationary emergency 

vehicle with its emergency lights activated care-
fully move over into an open adjacent lane.

Ŷ�If this is not possible due to traffic, weather, or 
road conditions, slow down and pass with cau-
tion, allowing the emergency vehicle as much 
space as possible.

MICHIGAN’S EMERGENCY  
VEHICLE CAUTION LAW
Michigan’s Emergency Vehicle Caution Law, more 
commonly known as the Move Over Law, requires 
motorists to move over for stationary emergency 
vehicles with their lights activated or slow down 
and pass with caution if it is not possible to safely 
change lanes. 

The law applies to the following vehicles:
Ŷ Police
Ŷ�Fire
Ŷ�Rescue
Ŷ�Ambulance
Ŷ�Road Service

Road service vehicles include tow trucks and 
courtesy vehicles operated by the Michigan 
Department of Transportation.

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

Q.
If I am on a two-lane road and 
see a police car on the shoul-
der and a car is traveling in the 
opposite direction, what am I 
supposed to do?

A.
If it is not safe for you to move over 
into an adjacent lane, then you 
must slow down and pass with 
caution, giving the emergency 
vehicle as much room as possible.

Q. Do I have to move over for a tow 
truck?

A.
Yes, road service vehicles, includ-
ing tow trucks, are considered to 
be emergency vehicles under this 
law.

Q.
If I see an emergency vehicle on 
the side of the road and it doesn’t 
have its emergency lights acti-
vated, do I have to move over?

A.
No, you do not have to move over 
if the emergency vehicle doesn’t 
have its emergency lights acti-
vated. However, you should 
always pass with caution, giving 
the emergency vehicles as much 
space as possible.


