Michigan Department of Community Health / Childhood Lead Poisoning Prevention Program
Statewide Lead Testing/Lead Screening Plan

Three Criteria for Testing a Child for Lead Poisoning

Specifics for Each Criterion

If the response to any of the exposure questions is “Yes” or
“Don’t Know,” the child should be tested.

GEOGRAPHY : :
Battle Creek Grand Rapids Lansing
1| option one: All Children Living in One of Michigan’s 14 Target Benton Harbor Hamtramck Muskegon/Muskegon Hts
c Communities for Lead Testing Dearborn Highland Park Pontiac
O > . .
" | option Two: Children can receive a risk evaluation and testing DQU‘OI’[ Jackson Saglnaw
Q recommendation using the MSU/MDCH BLL Risk Flint Kalamazoo
5 Assessment & Recommendation website: MDCH stronl ds that all children iving in th s be tested for lead boiSoning at
midata.msu.edu/bll. This risk evaluation is based on the strongly recomm_en S that all chilaren hving In tnese communities pe testea 1or lea p0|son|n_g a .
child’s address (census block group) and other 12 and 24 months of age. Children between 25 and 72 months of age need to be tested as soon as possible, if not
. previously tested.
predictors.
y Medicaid:
“CMS (Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services) requires that all children receive a screening
MEDICAID and WIC blood lead test at 12 months and 24 months of age. Children between the ages of 36 months and
N dicaid: 72 months of age must receive a screening blood lead test if they have not been previously screened
Medicaid: for lead poisoning. A blood lead test must be used when screening Medicaid-eligible children.”
c ALL CHILDREN INSURED BY MEDICAID MUST BE » (http://www.cms.hhs.gov/MedicaidEarlyPeriodicScrn/02 Benefits.asp)
@) TESTED—NO EXCEPTIONS OR WAIVERS EXIST.
B WIC: WIC:
E ALL CHILDREN ENROLLED IN WIC MUST BE ‘ [T]h(la departlrr;en;[jof commufmty health s_hfll requwgz t?ﬁtda” Ch\l/{ﬂgm participants in thle sdpema_l )
O TESTED —pursuant to state law (Public Act 286 of > supplemental food program for women, infants, and children ( program) receive lead testing.
2006) (http://www.leqislature.mi.gov/documents/2005-2006/publicact/pdf/2006-PA-0286.pdf)
MDCH recommends the testing schedule for these children be 12 and 24 months of age, or no later than 30 months.
(Testing schedule intended to coincide with WIC hemoglobin testing.)
QUESTIONNAIRE
QUEST'ON NAIRE 1 Does the child live in or often visit a house, daycare, preschool, home of a relative, etc., built before 19507?
m .  for 2 Does the child live in or often visit a house built before 1978 that has been remodeled within the last year?
Children NOT Enrolled in Medicaid or WIC
- _ and o o _ 3 Does the child have a brother, sister or playmate with lead poisoning?
o Children NOT Residing within a Target Community .
CT) 4 Does the child live with an adult whose job or hobby involves lead?
+= | The child’s parents/guardians should be asked specific exposure
5 guestions (see Questions at right) to determine each child’s risk. 5 Does the child’s family use any home remedies or cultural practices that may contain or use lead?

6 Is the child included in a special population group, i.e., foreign adoptee, refugee, migrant, immigrant, foster
care child?
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For additional details, i.e., jobs, hobbies, home remedies, cultural practices that include lead, see the Provider Guidelines
Sheet. This may be obtained from the website: michigan.gov/leadsafe or by contacting the CLPPP office (517)335.8885.

The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (2002) and the American Academy of Pediatrics (2005) endorse this testing plan.
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