
 

 

APPLICATION FOR A CERTIFIED COPY— MICHIGAN CERTIFICATE OF STILLBIRTH 
Michigan Department of Health and Human Services 

The Michigan Vital Records Office issues certificates of stillbirths that occurred in Michigan with information filed with the 
state after June 1, 2003. 

PART 4 - ELIGIBILITY - Are you eligible to request this Certificate of Stillbirth? 

Michigan law limits who can receive a certified copy of a Michigan Certificate of Stillbirth.   
 

 □ Parent named on certificate  □ Court of competent jurisdiction (court order attached) 

PART 5 - INFORMATION NEEDED TO LOCATE THE CERTIFICATE BEING REQUESTED 

 

For Accounting Use Only 

PART 6 - FEES - Check Payable to State of Michigan 

Note:  Applications sent to the Vital Records post office box with an overnight 
delivery are not received in Vital Records for three days. 

Applicant’s              
Name:            
 
Mailing Address:   City:    State:   Zip:   
 
Daytime Phone w/area code - Required:   Other Phone w/area code:   

By signing this application, I understand that I am agreeing to pay for a search of the State of Michigan Vital Records. This 
does not guarantee that a record will be found. 
 
Falsifying an application for a vital record and/or assuming the identity of another person is subject to criminal penalties (MCL 
333.2894(b) and 445.65). 
 
 
 ► Applicant’s Signature:   Date:   

        Current valid Government-issued photo ID required (see back for Acceptable Documents) 

PART 1 - APPLICANT’S INFORMATION                                            

PART 3 - PURPOSE FOR REQUESTING THE RECORD   

Child’s Full Name (first, middle, last)  

Date of Delivery (mm/dd/yyyy)  

Place of Delivery (Hospital & County)  

Parent/Mother’s Name (first, middle, last)  

Parent/Mother’s Date of Birth (mm/dd/yyyy)  

Parent/Father’s Name (first, middle, last)  

Base Fee: Includes One Year Search 
Age 64 and Under   $34.00 

 
$ 

Additional Copies (Each)           x $16.00 $ 

Additional Years Search , # yrs           x $12.00 
(when exact year unknown) 
Years you want searched:        

 
$ 

Expedited “RUSH” Service (additional) $12.00 $ 

Payment to “State of Michigan” TOTAL $ 

PART 2 - CERTIFICATION OF INFORMATION PROVIDED 



 

DCH-0569-SB  Rev. 2-20  By Authority of MCL 333.2882(1)(a)(b) and MCL 333.2891(1-4)(8) 

PROCESSING TIMES FOR STILLBIRTH 

The Certificate of Stillbirth will be available within ten 
(10) days after the required identifying report is 
received by the state from the hospital or attending 
physician. 

REGULAR MAIL TO:  RUSH MAIL TO:                      

Vital Records Requests  Vital Records RUSH              

PO Box 30721    PO Box 30721 

Lansing MI 48909  Lansing MI 48909                                                  

APPLYING IN PERSON 

LOCATION:  

South Grand Building, 1st Floor 

333 S Grand Avenue 

Lansing MI 48933 (corner of Grand & Kalamazoo)  

 

LOBBY HOURS:  8:00 am - 5:00 pm M-F except for 

recognized state holidays. 

 

DIRECTIONS: Visit our website at: 

www.michigan.gov/vitalrecords or call 517-335-8666. 

 
SAME DAY SERVICE:  Orders at our counter must 
be placed by 3:00 pm to receive same-day service. 
Additional “rush” fee of $12.00 is required for same-
day service and you must allow up to a 2 hour waiting 
period for the order to be processed.  Genealogy 
requests may take longer. 
 
PAYMENT: A money order, credit card or cash can 
be used at our front counter.  A personal check can 
also be used if NOT same-day service.  Make checks 
and money orders payable to “State of Michigan”. 
 

MAIL APPLICATION TO 

www.michigan.gov/vitalrecords 

517-335-8666 

The Michigan Department of Health and Human Services 
(MDHHS) does not discriminate against any individual or group 
because of race, religion, age, national origin, color, height, weight, 
marital status, genetic information, sex, sexual orientation, gender 
identity or expression, political beliefs or disability. 

IDENTIFICATION REQUIREMENTS 
FOR APPLYING IN PERSON OR BY MAIL  

FOR A MICHIGAN BIRTH RECORD 

Under Michigan law, birth records are restricted documents. To request a 

birth record, a current valid, government issued identification is required to 

establish eligibility (except for an unrestricted birth record that is at least 100 

years old).  To protect from identity theft, a copy of the applicant’s 

government issued identification must be presented along with the 

application and fees. 

 
Tier 1 Documentation that establishes identity by itself. 

 U.S. or Foreign Passport 

 U.S. Passport Card 

 U.S. or U.S. Territories Driver’s License or Identification Card 

 U.S. Military Identification Card with both picture and signature 

 Other U.S. or U.S. Territories issued document that meets the following 
criteria:  Document must be unexpired.  Document must contain a 
photograph and at least the following information: name, date of birth, 
date of expiration, signature, and address. 

—OR— 
Tier 2 Documentation must include all documentation in one of the 
categories below: 

 Any of the documents in Tier 1 that expired within the past 5 years and 
any one document from Tier 3 issued within the past year. 

 Employment identification with photo, accompanied with a pay stub or  
W-2 form issued within the past year.   

 Student identification with photo, accompanied by a current report card 
or other proof of current school enrollment. Both documents must be for 
the same institution. 

 Department of Corrections identification card accompanied by probation 
or discharge papers issued within the past year. 

 If an inmate is currently incarcerated, a Department of Corrections 
identification card, accompanied by a verification of incarceration issued 
within the past year. 

—OR— 
Tier 3 Documentation must include at least three alternative documents of 
different types from the list below, one must have been issued within the 
past year: 

 Any of the documents in Tier 1 expired more than 5 years. 

 Social Security Card (must be signed) 

 Marriage or Divorce certificate 

 Your child’s birth certificate 

 IRS form W-2 

 Paycheck stub 

 Bank statement 

 Voter registration 

 Motor vehicle registration 

 Health insurance card 

 Utility Bill 

 Doctor/hospital/dentist bill  

 Religious/community organization documents, baptismal certificate 

 Military DD-214 discharge paper or equivalent 

 School records 

 Letter/benefit statement from a government agency, like SSA or IRS 

 Land or rental agreement 

 Military ID with either a picture or signature. 

 Other documents that establish identity to a degree equivalent to those 
listed above.  

 

VitalChek – Applicants who wish to order their birth certificate online, can 

order via the internet at http://vitalchek.com. , or by phone, US (866) 443-

9897.  VitalChek verifies identity through questions about the applicant’s 

past addresses, family, and other information. VitalChek is the only approved 

online service provider for the State of Michigan. 

http://vitalchek.com

