Clear Form

MICHIGAN DEPARTMENT OF STATE REFUND REQUEST FORM

State law authorizes the Secretary of State to refund fees only under certain conditions.

SECTION A: Applicant Data (For All Requestors)

Name Daytime Telephone ( )
Address

City State_ M Zip Code
Payment Method Cash Check [l | Credit Card ": EFT Other

If your transaction was originally paid by credit card, please provide the last 4 digits and expiration date:

x| 1%l [F ] (K] K] X% [*] [* Expiration Date: /
Name (Please print) Signature Date
Date of Transaction Amount Requested $

Reason for requesting refund

ALL SALES TAX REFUNDS: Please send all sales tax refund requests to the Department of Treasury,
Technical Services Section, P.O. Box 30698 Lansing, Ml 48909-8198. For questions regarding sales tax call
(517) 636-4357

SECTION B: Driver License, Personal Identification Card, Driver Reinstatement Fee or Title Refund Requests
Check only one:

E DRIVER REINSTATEMENT FEE REFUND

DRIVER LICENSE OR PERSONAL IDENTIFICATION CARD REFUND
Driver License or Personal Identification Card Number:l | | " " | | " " ” " " ” " " |

TITLE REFUND For a title refund, submit the brown copy of the title application form TR-11C.

Vehicle Identification Number

Vehicle Make Vehicle Year

SEE BACK OF THIS FORM FOR LICENSE PLATE, TAB, SNOWMOBILE, OR WATERCRAFT REFUND
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MICHIGAN DEPARTMENT OF STATE REFUND REQUEST FORM

SECTION C: License Plate, Tab, Snowmobile, and Watercraft Refund Requests

(Sections A and C of this form must be completed) The Michigan Vehicle Code authorizes the Secretary of State to
refund vehicle, snowmobile, and watercraft registration fees only under certain conditions. Please read the descriptions
and indicate your reason for requesting a refund.

VEHICLE INFORMATION:

License Plate, Watercraft MC or Snowmobile Registration Number:

Expiration Date:

REASON FOR REQUESTING REFUND Check only one:

DUAL REGISTRATION: If, through an error, you purchased more than one Michigan registration for the same

vehicle, you may apply for a refund of the license plate and/or tab purchased. You must submit the unused plate and/or
tab purchased and its corresponding original registration. You must also submit a photocopy of the registration that you

are now using.

VEHICLE SOLD:

Enter the date the vehicle or watercraft ownership was transferred, sold or reassigned:

When you transfer or assign title of a registered vehicle before placing the new license plate or tab on it, you may apply
for a refund. Return your registration and unused plate or tab within 30 days from the date of transfer or title assignment.
Your license plate must never have been attached to the vehicle or the tabs must have not been placed on the plate to be
eligible for refund and cancellation of the registration. The plate and/or tab must be returned with this form. There is no
provision in Michigan law that allows for a refund when a person registers a snowmobile then sells it. Please provide the
date of sale on the line provided above.

SUSPENDED DRIVER LICENSE: If your driver license is suspended by the Department of State due to a physical

or medical reason, you may apply for a refund for the time remaining on the license plate. Return your original
registration and your license plate and tab.

ENTER THE DATE YOUR LICENSE WAS SUSPENDED

DEATH OF VEHICLE OWNER: When a vehicle or watercraft owner dies, only the surviving spouse may apply for

a refund for the time remaining on the license plate. A copy of the death certificate is required for review. Submit the
owner’s original registration, license plate, and a copy of the death certificate.

OVERPAYMENT OF REGISTRATION FEES: Submit a photo copy of the vehicle registration you are now using.

RETURN THE COMPLETED FORM, Proof of payment consisting of an original validated document from the Department
of State showing the amount paid, as well as the documents specified for the type of refund being requested (See Section
B or C of this form). Approved refunds are issued from Lansing within six weeks after the completed form and documents
are received. Mail to the appropriate address below.

Requests for Driver License,
Personal Identification, or
Reinstatement Fee Refund:

Michigan Department of State

Customer Records Unit
Lansing, MI 48918

Phone: (517) 636-7487

Request for a Title Refund:

Michigan Department of State
Vehicle Records Activity Unit
Lansing, MI 48918

Phone: (517) 636-7476

Request for License Plate,
Tab, Snowmobile, or
Watercraft Refund:

Michigan Department of State

Finance Division - Refunds
Lansing, MI 48918-1422

Phone: (517) 241-9248

Request for Sales Tax
Refund:

Michigan Department of
Treasury

Technical Services Section
PO Box 30698

Lansing, MI 48909-8198

Phone: (517) 636-4357

Please direct questions and inquiries regarding refunds to the Michigan Department of State, Finance Division, Refund
Unit at 517-241-9248. Hearing-impaired customers may access the department’s telephone number by calling the
Michigan Relay Center at (800) 649-3777. If you need additional accommodation, please contact the Refund Unit.
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