

PRESIDENT

Jeff Landry

Louisiana Attorney General

PRESIDENT-ELECT
Tim Fox
Montana Attorney General

VICE PRESIDENT Karl A. Racine District of Columbia Attorney General

IMMEDIATE PAST PRESIDENT

Derek Schmidt

Kansas Attorney General

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR
Chris Toth

December 11, 2019

Sen. Lindsey Graham Chairman Committee on the Judiciary 290 Russell Senate Office Building Washington, DC 20510

Sen. Diane Feinstein
Ranking Member
Committee on the Judiciary
331 Hart Senate Office Building
Washington, DC 20510

Re: S. 2701 – Federal Initiative to Guarantee Health by Targeting (FIGHT) Fentanyl Act

Dear Senators Graham and Feinstein,

We write today to offer our collective support for S. 2701, the Federal Initiative to Guarantee Health by Targeting (FIGHT) Fentanyl Act.

As you are likely aware, the Drug Enforcement Agency's (DEA) temporary order classifying fentanyl-related compounds as Schedule I drugs is set to expire on February 6, 2020. The FIGHT Fentanyl Act would codify this temporary order, keeping fentanyl-related substances classified as Schedule I drugs.

In the most recent data available from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, there were 72,000 drug-related deaths in the United States in 2017. Of those deaths, roughly 40% involved fentanyl or a fentanyl-related compound.

Just last month, a coalition of local, state, and federal agencies in Ohio intercepted over 20 kilograms of fentanyl, 1.5 kilograms of methamphetamine, and half a kilogram of heroin. Further testing revealed that the 20 kilograms of fentanyl were laced with carfentanil, which can be over 100 times more potent than fentanyl. The potency of the fentanyl-related substances in this single bust was enough to kill every man, woman, and child in the state of Ohio several times over.

This legislation is crucial to federal and state efforts to curb the opioid epidemic nationally and within each individual state. It is for these reasons that we commend Senators Portman and Manchin for their leadership in bringing forward this important legislation, and we urge you to take up and pass S. 2701 before the DEA's temporary order expires.

Yours,

1850 M Street, NW Twelfth Floor Washington, DC 20036 Phone: (202) 326-6000 http://www.naag.org/ Dana Wessel

Dana Nessel

Michigan Attorney General

Steve Marshall

Alabama Attorney General

Talauega Eleasalo V. Ale

American Samoa Attorney General

Leslie Rutledge

Arkansas Attorney General

Phil Weiser

Colorado Attorney General

Kathleen Jennings

Delaware Attorney General

Ashley Mood

Florida Attorney General

Leevin Taitano Camacho Guam Attorney General

Lawrence Wasden Idaho Attorney General Dave Yost

Ohio Attorney General

Dave Yost

Kevin G. Clarkson

Alaska Attorney General

MarkB

Mark Brnovich Arizona Attorney General

Xavier Becerra

California Attorney General

William Tong

Connecticut Attorney General

Karl A. Racine

District of Columbia Attorney General

Christopher M. Carr

Georgia Attorney General

Clare E. Connors

Hawaji Attorney General

Kwame Raoul

Illinois Attorney General



Curtis T. Hill, Jr. Indiana Attorney General

Denk Schmidt

Derek Schmidt
Kansas Attorney Genera

Kansas Attorney General

Jeff Landry

Louisiana Attorney General

Brian & france

Brian Frosh

Maryland Attorney General

Keith Ellison

Minnesota Attorney General

Eric S. Schmitt

Missouri Attorney General

Douglas Peterson

Nebraska Attorney General

Gordon MacDonald

New Hampshire Attorney General

Hector Balderas

New Mexico Attorney General

Jon Miller

Tom Miller

Iowa Attorney General

Andy Beshear

Kentucky Attorney General

Aonon M. Frey

Aaron M. Frey

Maine Attorney General

Maura Healey

Massachusetts Attorney General

Jim Hood

Mississippi Attorney General

Tim Fox 0

Montana Attorney General

C3 H

Aaron D. Ford

Nevada Attorney General

and

Gurbir S. Grewal

New Jersey Attorney General

Letitia James

New York Attorney General

John Stin

Josh Stein

North Carolina Attorney General

lunsmander

Edward Manibusan

Northern Mariana Islands Attorney General

Ellen F. Rosenblum

Oregon Attorney General

Dennise N. Longo Quiñones Puerto Rico Attorney General

Alan Wilson

South Carolina Attorney General

Herbert H. Slatery III

Tennessee Attorney General

Sean Reyes

Utah Attorney General

Denise N. George

Virgin Islands Attorney General

Robert W. Ferguson

Washington Attorney General

Joshua S. Karl

Whe brughen

Wayne Stenehjem

North Dakota Attorney General

Melyton

Mike Hunter

Oklahoma Attorney General

Josh Shapiro

Pennsylvania Attorney General

Peter F. Neronha

Rhode Island Attorney General

son & Ray

Jason R. Ravnsborg

South Dakota Attorney General

Ken Paxton

Texas Attorney General

T.J. Donovan/

Vermont Attorney General

Mark R. Herring

Virginia Attorney General

PATRICK Momsey

Patrick Morrisey

West Virginia Attorney General

Bridget Hill

Joshua L. Kaul Wisconsin Attorney General

Cc: Senator Rob Portman Senator Joe Manchin Bridget Hill Wyoming Attorney General