
 

 

PART 6 - FEES  Includes one certified copy or no-find letter 

PART 5 - INFORMATION NEEDED TO FIND AFFIDAVIT OF PARENTAGE RECORD BEING REQUESTED 

APPLICATION FOR A CERTIFIED COPY — MICHIGAN AFFIDAVIT OF PARENTAGE RECORD 
Michigan Department of Health and Human Services 

PART 1 - APPLICANT’S INFORMATION                                            

PART 4 - ELIGIBILITY-Select the category that qualifies YOU to receive this Michigan Affidavit record per MCL 333.2882 

For Accounting Use Only 

Applicant’s            State Driver’s License  
Name:    or Identification #           
 
Mailing Address:   City:    State:   Zip:   
(Cannot Send to General Delivery) 
 
Daytime Phone w/area code - Required:   Other Phone w/area code:   

By signing this application, I understand that I am agreeing to pay for a search of the State of Michigan Vital Records. This 
does not guarantee that a record will be found. 
 
Falsifying an identity/assuming the identity of another person is subject to criminal penalties (MCL 333.2894(b) and 333.2898). 
 
 
 ► Applicant’s Signature:   Date:   

□ Person named on the record  □ Heir of the deceased person named on the record, and 

□ Parent named on the record   • Relationship to decedent:   

 Note: If adopted, only adoptive parents are eligible   • Decedent’s name at time of death:   
□ Legal guardian of the person named on the record   • State where death occurred:   

 (Copy of court documented guardianship papers required)   • Date of death (Year):   
□  Licensed attorney representing subject of the record   If not a Michigan death, must provide death certificate 

 (Letter on official letterhead required: Must provide state bar □ Court of competent jurisdiction (Court order & fee required)  

 number and the name of the person you represent along with □  Birth record is at least 100 years old (no photo ID required) 

 client’s identification. 

Is your request complete? Don’t forget your ID! 

PART 3 - PURPOSE FOR REQUESTING THE RECORD   

Child’s Full Name at birth (first, middle, last) 
 

Child’s Date of Birth (mm/dd/yyyy) Child’s Place of Birth (county) 

Mother’s Name (first, middle, last) Mother’s Date of Birth (mm/dd/yyyy) 
 
  

Father’s Name (first, middle, last)  Father’s Date of Birth (mm/dd/yyyy) 

 
Base Fee: Includes One Year Search $34.00 

 
$ 

 
Additional Copies (Each)           x $16.00 

$ 

Additional Years Search , # yrs           x $12.00 
(when exact year unknown) 
Years you want searched:        

 
$ 

 
Expedited “RUSH” Service (additional) $12.00 

$ 

Payment to “State of Michigan” TOTAL $ 

NOTE: The Michigan Vital Records office has Affidavit of Parentage records that were filed in the Central Paternity Registry 
with the state since June 1, 1997.  If you would like an Affidavit of Parentage record that was filed prior to June 1, 1997, please 
contact the Probate Court in the county where the mother resided at the time of signing, or the Probate Court in the county 
where the child was born.  Affidavit of Parentage records are restricted documents (see Part 3) 

PART 2 - CERTIFICATION OF INFORMATION PROVIDED 



 

DCH-0569-AOP (Rev. 2-20)  By Authority of MCL 333.2882(1)(a)(b) and MCL 333.2891(1-4)(8)  

PROCESSING TIMES FOR MAIL REQUESTS 

REGULAR SEARCH:  The processing time for a 

regular request is approximately 5 weeks, depending 

on the volume of requests received. 

 

EXPEDITED (RUSH) SEARCH:  Processing time for 

a “rush” request is approximately 2 weeks, 

depending on the volume of requests received. 

 

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION:  If you find that the 

processing times listed do not meet your needs, 

please call our Eligibility Unit at 517-335-8666 and 

speak with a customer service representative.  They 

may be able to offer additional help to meet your 
individual situation. 

IDENTIFICATION REQUIREMENTS 
FOR APPLYING IN PERSON OR BY MAIL  

FOR A MICHIGAN BIRTH RECORD 

Under Michigan law, birth records are restricted documents. To request a birth 

record, a current valid, government issued identification is required to establish 

eligibility (except for an unrestricted birth record that is at least 100 years old).  

To protect from identity theft, a copy of the applicant’s government issued 

identification must be presented along with the application and fees. 

 

Tier 1 Documentation that establishes identity. 

 U.S. or Foreign Passport 

 U.S. Passport Card 

 U.S. or U.S. Territories Driver’s License or Identification Card 

 U.S. Military Identification Card with both picture and signature 

 Other U.S. or U.S. Territories issued document that meets the following 
criteria:  Document must be unexpired.  Document must contain a 
photograph and at least the following information: name, date of birth, date 
of expiration, signature, and address. 

—OR— 
Tier 2 Documentation must include all documentation in one of the 

categories below: 

 Any of the documents in Tier 1 that expired within the past 5 years and 
any one document from Tier 3 issued within the past year. 

 Employment identification with photo, accompanied with a pay stub or W-
2 form issued within the past year.   

 Student identification with photo, accompanied by a current report card or 
other proof of current school enrollment. Both documents must be for the 
same institution. 

 Department of Corrections identification card accompanied by probation 
or discharge papers issued within the past year. 

 If an inmate is currently incarcerated, a Department of Corrections 
identification card, accompanied by a verification of incarceration issued 
within the past year. 

—OR— 
Tier 3 Documentation must include at least three alternative documents of 
different types from the list below, one must have been issued within the past 
year: 

 Any of the documents in Tier 1 expired more than 5 years. 

 Social Security Card (must be signed) 

 Marriage or Divorce certificate 

 Your child’s birth certificate 

 IRS form W-2 

 Paycheck stub 

 Bank statement 

 Voter registration 

 Motor vehicle registration 

 Health insurance card 

 Utility Bill 

 Doctor/hospital/dentist bill  

 Religious/community organization documents, baptismal certificate 

 Military DD-214 discharge paper or equivalent 

 School records 

 Letter/benefit statement from a government agency, like SSA or IRS 

 Land or rental agreement 

 Military ID with either a picture or signature. 

 Other documents that establish identity to a degree equivalent to those 

listed above.  

 
VitalChek – Applicants who wish to order their birth certificate online, can order 
via the internet at http://vitalchek.com, or by phone US (866) 443-9897. 
VitalChek verifies identity through questions about the applicant’s past 
addresses, family, and other information. VitalChek is the only approved online 
service provider for the State of Michigan. 

APPLYING IN PERSON 

LOCATION:  

South Grand Building, 1st Floor 

333 S Grand Avenue 

Lansing MI 48933 (corner of Grand & Kalamazoo)  

 

LOBBY HOURS:  8:00 am - 5:00 pm M-F except for 

recognized state holidays. 

 

DIRECTIONS: Visit our website at: 

www.michigan.gov/vitalrecords or call 517-335-8666. 

 
SAME DAY SERVICE:  Orders at our counter must 
be placed by 3:00 pm in order to receive same-day 
service. Additional “rush” fee of $12.00 is required 
for same-day service and you must allow up to a 2 
hour waiting period for the order to be processed.  
Genealogy requests may take longer. 
 
PAYMENT: A money order, credit card or cash can 
be used at our front counter.  A personal check can 
also be used if NOT same-day service.  Make 
checks and money orders payable to “State of 
Michigan”. 

MAIL APPLICATION TO 

REGULAR MAIL TO:  RUSH MAIL TO:                      

Vital Records Requests  Vital Records RUSH              

PO Box 30721    PO Box 30721 

Lansing MI 48909  Lansing MI 48909                                                  

www.michigan.gov/vitalrecords 

517-335-8666 

The Michigan Department of Health and Human Services 
(MDHHS) does not discriminate against any individual or group 
because of race, religion, age, national origin, color, height, 
weight, marital status, genetic information, sex, sexual orientation, 
gender identity or expression, political beliefs or disability. 

http://vitalchek.com

