
IMPORTANT INFORMATION 
KEEP FOR FUTURE REFERENCE 

Dear Applicant: 

Before performing motor vehicle repairs for compensation, a repair facility must register with the Michigan 
Department of State.  Business cannot be conducted until a registration number is issued.  Failure to comply 
with this requirement is grounds for denial of the application.  Listed below is a summary of other requirements 
which will apply after the registration number is issued.  The Repair Facility Manual is available online at 
Michigan.gov/sos under “Automotive-related Businesses,” “Forms and Publications.”  Please refer to this 
manual for a detailed explanation of these requirements. 

CONSUMER INFORMATION SIGN - A repair facility must display a sign in the cashier’s area, and in each 
location where customer service orders are written, informing customers of their basic rights under the law. 

WRITTEN ESTIMATE - A repair facility must give a written estimate to the customer prior to repair work costing 
$50 or more.  Any additional repairs which exceed the estimated price by more than $50 or 10% (whichever is 
less) must be approved by the customer before the additional work is done.  This approval may be oral. 

If the customer does not want a written estimate, the facility may have the customer sign a waiver giving up the 
right to receive the written estimate prior to repairs.  One copy of the signed waiver must be given to the customer. 

PARTS RETURN - Before beginning work on a customer’s vehicle, a facility must inform the customer of the 
right to return of replaced parts.  This can be done by means of a sign or by having proper wording on the face 
of the work order. 

INVOICE - Upon completion of repairs, a repair facility must give the customer an invoice itemizing all parts and 
labor involved in the repair of the customer’s vehicle.  The invoice must disclose whether parts installed were 
new, used, rebuilt, or reconditioned.  The name and Michigan certification number of the mechanic who 
performed the repairs must appear on the invoice.  The invoice must contain a certification stating that the repairs 
were completed properly and must be signed by the owner or a person designated by the owner to represent 
the facility. 

MECHANIC CERTIFICATION - If a repair facility performs major repairs, it must employ State of Michigan 
certified mechanics for the categories of major repair performed by the facility. 

RECORDS MAINTENANCE - A facility must keep for a period of 3 years copies of all documents used by the 
facility in connection with repairs to customer vehicles.  Body shops must keep parts sales records and/or a 
police book to record major component parts which are bought, sold, or acquired by the facility. 

REGISTRATION NUMBER - The registration number assigned by the Department of State must appear on all 
written estimates, waiver of estimates, final invoices, or any other documents given to the customer.  A repair 
facility may not do business until a registration number is issued. 

If you would like a response to any questions you may have, please contact the Department of State at 
1-888-SOS-MICH (1-888-767-6424). You may also be able to find the information on our website, 
Michigan.gov/sos under “Automotive-related Businesses.”

Sincerely, 

Michigan Department of State 

ALLOW AT LEAST 
30 DAYS 

FOR PROCESSING 

http://www.michigan.gov/sos
http://www.michigan.gov/sos
http://www.michigan.gov/sos
http://www.michigan.gov/sos


REPAIR FACILITY REGISTRATION APPLICATION WORKSHEET 

Item 14 “Fee Schedule” requires you to anticipate what your gross annual revenue will be for the first twelve 
months of business.  This must be done to determine the appropriate registration fee to submit with your 
application. 

This worksheet should provide you with a reasonably accurate picture of what your gross annual revenue will 
need to be to cover anticipated expenses and provide a profit. 

Following are a number of questions which should help you to estimate your gross annual revenue. 

In the blank spaces provided on lines 1 through 12, enter the amount of expense you anticipate.  On line 13, 
enter the amount of profit you expect to earn.  Total lines 1 through 13 and enter this amount on line 14.  Multiply 
the amount shown on line 14 by 12 and enter on line 15. 

1. Estimated payroll including owner-manager’s salary per month. $ 

2. Estimated business location mortgage/rent payment per month. $ 

3. Estimated utility and telephone costs per month. $ 

4. Estimated equipment and tool purchase or rental per month. $ 

5. Estimated property, income, social security, and sales tax per month. $ 

6. Estimated insurance payment per month. $ 

7. Estimated interest payments on loans per month. $ 

8. Estimated franchise fee payment per month. $ 

9. Estimated cost of parts and supplies per month (refer to repair
facility application Item 13 explanation). $ 

10. Estimated professional service cost per month (i.e., accountant,
attorney, bookkeeper, etc.). $ 

11. Estimated cost of maintenance on equipment, tools, and
building per month. $ 

12. Estimated miscellaneous expenses per month. $ 

13. Estimated profit anticipated per month. $ 

14. Total lines 1 through 13. $ 

15. Multiply the amount shown on line 14 by 12.
This is your anticipated gross annual revenue. $ 

THIS WORKSHEET IS FOR YOUR USE—DETACH BEFORE MAILING APPLICATION  



AR-0012 (04/2019) By Authority of Public Act 300 of 1974 FOR DEPARTMENT USE ONLY 
Michigan Department of State REPAIR FACILITY NUMBER 

MOTOR VEHICLE REPAIR FACILITY 
REGISTRATION APPLICATION 

APPROVED BY 

PLEASE TYPE OR PRINT 
DATE  

1. NAME - Enter the name of the corporation or other legal entity, if it is different than facility name.

2. FACILITY NAME - Enter the exact name used by the business at the location being registered.

3. NAME OF INDIVIDUAL IN CHARGE OF THIS LOCATION. 4. BUSINESS E-MAIL ADDRESS

5. FACILITY ADDRESS - Where business will be conducted.  Submit a separate application for each location.
(street) (city)   (county)  (state)   (zip) 

6. BUSINESS DAYS AND HOURS - Enter the days and hours the business will be open. 7. FACILITY TELEPHONE NUMBER

8. CATEGORY - Mark the one most appropriate description of your facility.

A.  New Car Dealer H.  Auto Parts Shop Z.  Mobile Repair Facility or
B.  Used Car Dealer I.  Specialty Shop Other (specify) 
C.  Junk Dealer J.  Part of a Multi-Facility Chain
D.  Truck Dealer K.  Independent Garage
E.  Motor Home Dealer L.  Gasoline Service Station
F.  Motorcycle Dealer M.  Diagnostic Clinic
G.  Mobile Home Dealer N.  Body or Collision Shop

      9. OWNERSHIP TYPE  Trust  Limited Liability Company 10. ORIGINATION DATE 11. STATE OF ORIGINATION

 Individual Owner  Partnership  Corporation  Other
12. ANTICIPATED DATE BUSINESS WILL OPEN.  (Business cannot open until a registration number is issued.  Allow at least 30 days for processing.)

13. NUMBER OF MECHANICS - Enter the number of persons who diagnose, repair, or maintain motor vehicles.
This includes even persons who do lubrication work, tire installation, and body and collision repairs.

14. FEE SCHEDULE - Gross annual revenue is the total amount of money you expect to receive in payment for services or repairs provided before
expenses of any kind are subtracted.  Use the attached worksheet to estimate your gross annual revenue.

INCLUDE: DO NOT INCLUDE:

• all parts, labor, and materials you expect to use in performing repairs.
• item such as tires, oil, oil filters, windshield wiper blades, body sheet

metal components, batteries, belts, etc.
• labor, even if parts are not used.
• repairs covered by a warranty which reimburses you for parts used

and/or labor.

• parts sold but not installed.
• fuel and lubricants sold over the counter.
• revenue obtained from vehicles not required to be registered

and titled such as farm tractors, off road construction
equipment, snowmobiles, etc.

When you have found the revenue category which most accurately reflects your anticipated gross annual revenue, place a check in the box next to 
the fee to be paid.  Please be aware that any misleading, incomplete, or false information provided may be grounds for denial of this application. 

GROSS ANNUAL REVENUE FEE GROSS ANNUAL REVENUE  FEE GROSS ANNUAL REVENUE FEE 

A.  Under $5,000 $25.00 H.  $100,001 to $120,000 $200.00 O.  $240,001 to $260,000 $375.00 

B.  $5,001 to $15,000 $50.00 I.  $120,001 to $140,000 $225.00 P.  $260,001 to $280,000 $400.00 

C.  $15,001 to $25,000 $75.00 J.  $140,001 to $160,000 $250.00 Q.  $280,001 to $300,000 $425.00 

D.  $25,001 to $40,000 $100.00 K.  $160,001 to $180,000 $275.00 R.  $300,001 to $320,000 $450.00 

E.  $40,001 to $60,000 $125.00 L.  $180,001 to $200,000 $300.00 S.  $320,001 to $340,000 $475.00 

F.  $60,001 to $80,000 $150.00 M.  $200,001 to $220,000 $325.00 T.  Over $340,000 $500.00 

G.  $80,001 to $100,000 $175.00 N.  $220,001 to $240,000 $350.00 

       ENTER FEE TO BE PAID: MAKE CHECKS PAYABLE TO:  STATE OF 
MICHIGAN

DEPARTMENT USE ONLY

ALLOW AT LEAST 30 
DAYS FOR PROCESSING 



MOTOR VEHICLE REPAIR FACILITY REGISTRATION APPLICATION 
15. Is the business franchised?

 NO     YES  (If you checked YES, complete Item 16.)

16. Company and person selling franchise.

Company Person 

17. Has any owner, officer, partner, member, trustee or other person listed
on this application owned or participated in any other repair facility?
 NO     YES  (If you checked YES, complete Item 18.)

18. List all current or former repair facility registration numbers.

19. REPAIRS OFFERED - Check every category of motor vehicle repair you will offer.

Automobiles and Light Trucks (under 10,000 #GVW) Recreational Trailers 
A.  All Repairs B through I N.  Recreational Trailer Repair
B.  Engine Repair
C.  Automatic Transmission Heavy-Duty Trucks (over 10,000 #GVW) 
D.  Manual Transmission P.  All Truck Repairs Q through V
E.  Front End, Suspension and Steering Systems Q.  Engine Repair - Gasoline
F.  Brakes and Braking Systems R.  Engine Repair - Diesel
G.  Electrical Systems S.  Drive Train
H.  Heating and Air Conditioning T.  Brakes and Braking Systems
I.  Engine Tune-Up/Performance U.  Suspension and Steering Systems
J.  Pre-1973 Vehicles V.  Electrical Systems

Motorcycle Other Repairs 
M.  Motorcycle Repair Z.  Body and Collision Repairs

 Other (specify)

20. CERTIFICATION OF MECHANICS - If your facility will be doing major repairs (A-V in Item 19 above), replacing collision-damaged mechanical
components, or repairing structurally damaged unitized body vehicles, you must employ certified mechanics.  Mechanics must be certified in the
categories of repair offered.

MECHANIC’S NAME MICHIGAN CERTIFICATION NUMBER

You may attach additional pages, if necessary. 

NOTE - You may have mechanics in your facility who need state testing and certification.  For information about where and when testing is available, 
contact the Secretary of State office in your area, or call the Michigan Department of State, Licensing Unit at 1-888-767-6424.  Information 
regarding mechanic trainee permits can also be obtained by calling this number. 

21. ARRESTS OR CONVICTIONS - Has any person listed in Item 22 been arrested or convicted of a crime, other than a traffic violation, in Michigan or
any other state in the past 10 years?        NO     YES

If your answer is YES, give the name(s) of the person(s) involved and complete details of all arrests or convictions which took place.  Attach an
additional sheet, if necessary.

Name(s) of person(s) arrested or convicted: 

 Details: 

Date of Arrest(s) or Conviction(s): 

Court of Record:  

City and State: 
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MOTOR VEHICLE REPAIR FACILITY REGISTRATION APPLICATION 

22. CERTIFICATION AND AUTHORIZED SIGNATURES

(If individual ownership, owner must sign.  If partnership, all partners must sign.  If limited liability company, all members must sign.  If trust, the trustee must 
sign.  If corporation, a corporate officer must sign, and all corporate officers, directors, resident agents in Michigan, and owners of 10% or more of the 
corporation must be listed.) 

On this  day of  , , I (we) certify to the truth and accuracy of all statements and representations made in this application, 
including all statements attached hereto.  Further, I (we) stipulate and agree that any legal process affecting this business served on the Secretary of State 
or his/her deputies shall have the same effect as if personally served on me (us) and all other owners of this business, if any.  I (We) further agree that this 
appointment shall remain in force as long as any liability of the business shall remain outstanding within the State of Michigan.  I (We) understand that if I 
(we) do major repairs, I (we) shall employ mechanics certified with the State of Michigan in the categories of repair I (we) offer. I (We) further certify that we 
have read and understand the requirements of the Repair Facility Manual and the Motor Vehicle Service and Repair Act [Public Act 300 of 1974].  I (We) 
also understand and agree to maintain all records as required by law for a period of 3 years. 

Any misleading, incomplete, or false statement may be grounds for denial of this application or suspension or revocation of the registration.  Failure to notify 
the Michigan Department of State of material changes may be grounds for suspension or revocation of the registration. 

PLEASE PRINT EXCEPT FOR SIGNATURE.  ALL CORPORATE OFFICERS AND OWNERS OF 10% OR MORE OF THE 
BUSINESS INTEREST MUST BE LISTED BELOW.  SEE FIRST PARAGRAPH ABOVE. 
Owner, Partner, Officer, Trustee, Director, Resident Agent or Member Name Signature Title 

Michigan Driver’s License Number or Michigan Identification Number 

Corporation Identification Number (State) or (Federal) 

Home Address (Street) (City/State) (Zip Code) Home Telephone Number 

Principal Occupation for Past Five (5) Years Birth Date 

Owner, Partner, Officer, Trustee, Director, Resident Agent or Member Name Signature Title 

Michigan Driver’s License Number or Michigan Identification Number 

Corporation Identification Number (State) or (Federal) 

Home Address (Street) (City/State) (Zip Code) Home Telephone Number 

Principal Occupation for Past Five (5) Years Birth Date 

Owner, Partner, Officer, Trustee, Director, Resident Agent or Member Name Signature Title 

Michigan Driver’s License Number or Michigan Identification Number 

Corporation Identification Number (State) or (Federal) 

Home Address (Street) (City/State) (Zip Code) Home Telephone Number 

Principal Occupation for Past Five (5) Years Birth Date 

Owner, Partner, Officer, Trustee, Director, Resident Agent or Member Name Signature Title 

Michigan Driver’s License Number or Michigan Identification Number 

Corporation Identification Number (State) or (Federal) 

Home Address (Street) (City/State) (Zip Code) Home Telephone Number 

Principal Occupation for Past Five (5) Years Birth Date 

Mail completed application and fee to: 

Michigan Department of State 
Office of Investigative Services             You may attach additional pages, if necessary. 
Business Licensing Section 
Lansing, Michigan  48918 
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