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Michigan Catastrophic Claims Association (MCCA) 
Update as of: April 8, 2019 

 
What is the Michigan Catastrophic Claims Association (MCCA)? 
 
In Michigan the Personal Injury Protection (PIP) portion of a no-fault auto insurance 

policy will pay for all reasonably necessary medical expenses with no maximum limits. 

For the period beginning July 1, 2019, the Michigan Catastrophic Claims Association 

(MCCA) reimburses no-fault auto insurers for amounts paid in excess of $580,000 per 

claim. The MCCA was created by the legislature as a means of spreading the cost of 

providing these unique benefits across all Michigan auto insurers. 

 
Although created by statute, the MCCA is a private, nonprofit association. All of its 

dealings are with insurance companies, not the general public. The MCCA has a Board 

of Directors that consists of 5 representatives from insurance companies appointed by 

the Director of the Department of Insurance and Financial Services (DIFS) according to 

statute. The insurance companies appointed to serve on this board are among the top 

writers, by volume of business, of auto insurance in Michigan. The Director of DIFS 

serves as an ex-officio member of the board without a vote. 

 
How is the MCCA assessment determined? 
 
Each year the MCCA analyzes the amount needed to cover the lifetime claims of all 

people catastrophically injured in a car accident for the coming year. This analysis 

includes review of the investment return that the fund receives, medical cost inflation, 

any existing deficit or surplus, and any changes to coverages. The analysis yields a 

per vehicle assessment. 

http://www.michigan.gov/difs
http://www.michigan.gov/difs


   
   

 

Since 1979, more than 40,715 catastrophic claims have been reported to the MCCA. 

Based on current estimates, the total claims paid, including the future payments for the 

17,751 remaining active claims, is expected to exceed $85 billion. This figure assumes 

inflating costs for products, services, and accommodations necessary for the care, 

recovery and rehabilitation of injured persons throughout their lives. The MCCA further 

estimates that an additional 1,000 Michigan insureds will be catastrophically injured in 

auto accidents next year. It is the cost of providing these medical benefits that 

influences the MCCA assessment. 

 
How is the MCCA funded? 
 
Every auto insurer in Michigan pays its share of the MCCA assessment, based 

primarily on the number of vehicles it insures. 

 
Do I pay this assessment? 
 
Your auto insurer is responsible for, and pays, the MCCA assessment. However, the 

cost is often passed on to policyholders. Some insurance companies include the 

MCCA assessment in the PIP portion of your insurance premium. Other companies 

sometimes list this as a “statutory assessment” or “MCCA assessment” on the 

declarations page of your policy. 

 

Even though the per car amount assessed each insurer by the MCCA is the same, 

each company may include administrative and other miscellaneous costs in the amount 

it assesses policyholders for this coverage. Therefore, the amount assessed by the 

MCCA may affect each policyholder’s premium differently. If you have questions about 

the amount being assessed, you may wish to contact your insurance agent or 

insurance company. 



   
   

 
What is the assessment for 2019? 
 
For the period beginning July 1, 2019, the MCCA assessment is $220.00. The pure 

premium (the actual cost for each vehicle in the state of Michigan to fund the MCCA 

pool) is $177.00. Added to that is an adjustment of $43.00 to recoup part of a $3.9 

billion deficit that currently exists, setting the assessment at $220.00. 

 
What will happen to the assessment in the future? 
 
The MCCA Board meets every spring to set the assessment for the year beginning 

July 1. The assessment is set using the same criteria – by analyzing the amount 

needed to cover the lifetime claims of all people catastrophically injured in a car 

accident. Investment return, medical cost inflation, deficit or surplus, and any 

changes to coverages will again be considered. 

 
Do I pay the full assessment if I own an historic vehicle? 
 
Public Act 662 of 2002 reduced the MCCA assessment for historic vehicles to 20 

percent of the full assessment charged for vehicles effective July 1, 2003. For the 

period beginning July 1, 2019, the assessment for historic vehicles is $44.00. 

 
More information on Michigan auto insurance: 
 
“Your Guide to Automobile Insurance” provides more information on auto insurance. If 

you would like a printed copy of this publication, please call DIFS toll-free at 877-999- 

6442. Consumer assistance is also available at this toll-free number if you have 

questions about the MCCA or need assistance on any matters of insurance, banking, 

and/or lending. 

https://www.michigan.gov/-/media/Project/Websites/difs/Publication/Auto/Auto_Insurance_Guide.pdf


   
   

 

Michigan Catastrophic Claims Association (MCCA) 
Information as of April 8, 2019 

 
Since 1979, more than 40,715 claims have been reported to the MCCA. A claim represents the 
auto accident that caused the catastrophic injury - it does not represent the number of people 
injured. Most claims, but not all, include only one person. 

 
Michigan Catastrophic Claims Association Assessment History 

 
 

 
Assmt # 

 
Period 

 
Months 

Pure 
Premium 

(Surplus) 
Deficit Adj. 

Admin. 
Expense 

Total 
Assessment 

1 7/1/78 to 6/30/79 12 $3.00 $0.00 $0.00 $3.00 
2 7/1/79 to 12/31/79 6 $6.28 $5.40 $0.00 $11.68 
3 1/1/80 to 12/31/80 12 $6.36 ($0.36) $0.00 $6.00 
4 1/1/81 to 12/31/81 12 $7.14 ($0.58) $0.20 $6.76 
5 1/1/82 to 12/31/82 12 $6.64 ($0.81) $0.10 $5.93 
6 1/1/83 to 12/31/83 12 $7.55 ($2.12) $0.10 $5.53 
7 1/1/84 to 12/31/84 12 $8.24 ($2.44) $0.11 $5.91 
8 1/1/85 to 12/31/85 12 $10.55 $1.40 $0.10 $12.05 
9 1/1/86 to 12/31/86 12 $11.24 $3.07 $0.09 $14.40 
10 1/1/87 to 12/31/87 12 $15.77 $6.81 $0.09 $22.67 
11 1/1/88 to 12/31/88 12 $24.41 $8.10 $0.09 $32.60 
12 1/1/89 to 12/31/89 12 $33.44 $10.12 $0.09 $43.65 
13 1/1/90 to 12/31/90 12 $48.12 $18.37 $0.15 $66.64 
14 1/1/91 to 12/31/91 12 $68.33 $32.50 $0.17 $101.00 
15 1/1/92 to 12/31/92 12 $77.69 $32.77 $0.12 $110.58 
16 1/1/93 to 12/31/93 12 $90.43 $28.14 $0.12 $118.69 
17 1/1/94 to 12/31/94 12 $98.71 $16.89 $0.12 $115.72 
18 1/1/95 to 12/31/95 12 $98.07 ($1.24) $0.12 $96.95 
19 1/1/96 to 12/31/96 12 $87.53 ($15.06) $0.10 $72.57 
20 1/1/97 to 12/31/97 12 $62.03 ($47.19) $0.10 $14.94 
21 1/1/98 to 12/31/98 12 $63.87 ($58.37) $0.10 $5.60 
22 1/1/99 to 12/31/99 12 $56.31 ($50.81) $0.10 $5.60 
23 1/1/00 to 12/31/00 12 $52.30 ($46.79) $0.09 $5.60 
24 1/1/01 to 12/31/01 12 $61.53 ($47.21) $0.09 $14.41 
25 1/1/02 to 06/30/02 6 $71.05 $0.00 $0.10 $71.15 
26 7/1/02 to 6/30/03 12 $68.90 $0.00 $0.10 $69.00 
27 7/1/03 to 6/30/04 12 $79.30 $20.80 $0.10 $100.20 



   
   

 
 

Assmt # 
 

Period 
 

Months 
Pure 

Premium 
(Surplus) 

Deficit Adj. 
Admin. 

Expense 
Total 

Assessment 
28 7/1/04 to 6/30/05 12 $95.93 $31.21 $0.10 $127.24 
29 7/1/05 to 6/30/06 12 $116.43 $25.17 $0.10 $141.70 
30 7/1/06 to 6/30/07 12 $113.48 $23.75 $0.10 $137.33 
31 7/1/07 to 6/30/08 12 $106.63 $16.42 $0.10 $123.15 
32 7/1/08 to 6/30/09 12 $96.06 $8.32 $0.20 $104.58 
33 7/1/09 to 6/30/10 12 $100.78 $23.89 $0.22 $124.89 
34 7/1/10 to 6/30/11 12 $116.84 $26.00 $0.25 $143.09 
35 7/1/11 to 6/30/12 12 $115.38 $29.32 $0.30 $145.00 
36 7/1/12 to 6/30/13 12 $141.93 $32.72 $0.35 $175.00 
37 7/1/13 to 6/30/14 12 $156.44 $29.19 $0.37 $186.00 
38 7/1/14 to 6/30/15 12 $155.90 $29.71 $0.39 $186.00 
39 7/1/15 to 6/30/16 12 $145.10 $4.50 $0.40 $150.00 
40 7/1/16 to 6/30/17 12 $140.26 $19.34 $0.40 $160.00 
41 7/1/17 to 6/30/18 12 $143.33 $26.27 $0.40 $170.00 

*42 7/1/18 to 6/30/19 12 $161.00 $31.00  $192.00 
          *43 7/1/19 to 6/30/20        12          $177.00          $43.00      $220.00 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
*The administrative expense is now included in the premium amount. 
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