FIS 0407 (1/08) Office of Financial and Insurance Services
Payment Sheet for
Continuing Education Course/Provider

IMPORTANT INSTRUCTIONS:

Please follow these instructions to help us process your application as quickly as possible.

All fees are non-transferable and non-refundable.

Use this address for your application filing and all
Continuing Education correspondence:

Prometric/OFIS
1701 S Waverly Rd Ste 104
Lansing MI 48917-4300

1. Complete this Payment Sheet as shown in examples. Be sure to enter Name, FEIN and Michigan provider number.
2. Make check or money order for full amount due payable to “State of Michigan.”
3. Paperclip Payment Sheet and payment to the FRONT of your application filing.

PAYMENT EXAMPLES

Example 1- Initial provider application (provider has
not been approved in Michigan yet). Provider in this
example is submitting one course for approval.

Example 2- Application for 2 new courses .
Provider sends 2 FIS 0406 Application for Continu-
ing Ed. Course/Provider forms (one for each
course), and one form FIS 0407 Payment Sheet.

When filing multiple courses, use one payment sheet

and write one check for all applications enclosed.

Quantity Amount Fee Type/Code/Description Extension
1 $500.00 | New provider authorization fee $500.00
1 $25.00 | New course filing fee $25.00
EXAMPLE AMOUNTDUE $525.00
Quantity Amount Fee Type/Code/Description Extension
$500.00  New provider authorization fee
2 $25.00 | New course filing fee $50.00

EXAMPLE AMOUNTDUE  $50.00

Michigan Department of Labor & Economic Growth

The Department of Labor & Economic Growth will not discriminate against any individual or group because of race, sex, sexual orientation, religion, age, national origin, color, marital
status, political beliefs or disability. If you need help with reading, writing, hearing, etc., under the Americans with Disabilities Act, you may make your needs known to this agency.

Visit OFIS online at: www.michigan.gov/ofis ~ Phone OFIS toll-free at: 1-877-999-6442

Complete each item below. Attach sheet and payment to the front of your filing.

Continuing Education Provider Name

Federal Emp. I.D. No. (SSN if individual) Use same
number entered on your application

Your 4-digit Michigan
provider number

Quantity Amount Fee Type/Code/Description Extension Fee Code
$500.00  New provider authorization fee 81-15-01
$25.00 | New course filing fee 81-15-67

TOTAL AMOUNT DUE
Enclose check or money order pay-
able in US Dollars. Do not send cash.

$

Please make check or money order payable to: State of Michigan
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Application for Continuing Education Course/Provider Approval

TWO COMPLETE COPIES of this application and supporting
documentation are required before your request for continuing education
provider and/or course approval will be considered.

Application must be properly completed and accompanied by all fees,
payment card and supporting documentation. Complete a separate
application for each course.

Part 1-Choose approval type (only one) and enter all requested information

D Initial Provider Approval

Complete all 3 parts. Providers must submit at least one (1) course
(minimum 1 credit hour) for approval on this application. Provider
number will be assigned upon approval of course.

D Course Approval / Renewal 4’

Please enter your 4-digit
S S Michigan Provider Number
(If provider is already approved in Michigan)

Enter your Michigan provider number, and
complete all 3 parts.

Provider name and complete address

Provider is what kind of organization?

|| Insurer || Agency
[ ] Association [ ] Individual
[ ] Other (please describe):

[ ] Publishing company
[ ] Educational institution

Contact person name

Provider Federal Employer 1.D. No. (Social Security No. if individual provider)

Daytime telephone number | Fax number

() ( )

Contact person email address

|| Please check this box if any of your provider information has changed since your last filing.

Part 2-Course Approval

Course name (may not be more than 72 characters including spaces)

Has another provider received Ml approval for this course?

D Yes D No

If yes, give Michigan course name and number assigned, and name of
provider who received original course approval:

Is this a one-time course offering? If yes, what is the date of the course offering?

D Yes D No

Is this a revision or renewal of an existing course?
[ ] Revision If either, enter the

Michigan course number:
If the course is an existing one and has changed at all since approval, check the
“Revision” box. By checking the “Renewal” box, you certify that the content of the
course has not changed at all since approval.

D Renewal

Method of instruction (select one)

|| Classroom, seminar, monitored teleconference, monitored web-based
] Self-study, correspondence, computer based

Is course offered to all persons in
the industry?

[ ] Yes

Course Concentration
(enter hours for all that apply)

[ ] No

Subject Hours

If yes, attach sample promotional Life

materials to this application
Health

Is this course preparation for a

national exam/professional Property

designation?
Casualty

D Yes D No
Ethics

Successful completion is
determined by:

(select each that applies)
| Final exam

Attendance monitored

TOTAL NUMBER OF CREDIT HOURS REQUESTED
FOR THIS COURSE: (in whole numbers)

OFFICIAL USE ONLY
Date application rec'd Assigned to evaluator L/H Hours Ethics Hours Assign course #
Application Status Fee received Date returned P/C Hours Either Hours Total credit hours Date notified
[ Jro [ oc [ o
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Part 2-Course Approval (continued) complete each section below as instructed

Course Topics (select all major topics applicable to course)

[] Fundamentals/principles of insurance
Definitions, legal principles in insurance, elements of the
insurance contract, types of policies, industry structure
[] Ethics in insurance
[] Legal, legislative, regulatory matters
[] Provisions/differences in insurance contracts
Policy analysis, policy comparisons
] Accounting/actuarial considerations in insurance
Rating techniques/factors, underwriting considerations,

] Flood

] Counselor
(] other (describe)

(] Principles of risk management
Risk control techniques, risk financing mechanisms,
risk identification/evaluation, self-insurance funds

[] Estate planning/taxation related to insurance
Probate court issues, update on tax issues

[] Claimsfunderwriting

[] Agency management

[ ] Adjuster

[ ] Long-Term Care

self-insurance funds

[ ] Yes
[ ] No

Has course been disapproved
in other states?

— If Yes, enter the 2 letter state abbreviations of
each state that disapproved this course:

Student materials are:

(select each that applies and complete table below) [ ] Instructor prepared outlines [ ] Published materials

No. of Copyright

pages date Editor/Author

Title (attach additional sheet if needed) Publisher

SELF STUDY PROGRAMS ONLY complete this section

Type of Self-Study (select all that apply)

[ ] Audio tape [ ] Textworkbook
[ ] Teleconference [ ] Videotape

[ ] Computer based [ ] Internet

[ ] Other (describe below)

For each item that applies, enter the NUMBER of:

(Include table of contents
with page allocations)

Pages of text excluding appendices,
glossary, indexes and exams:

Word count per page
for self-study:

Minutes of tape or
computer time:

Describe or attach test security procedures (Do NOT send exams)

Minutes in classroom
or teleconference:

From purchase, days students have to
complete materials:

CLASSROOM/SEMINAR PROGRAMS ONLY complete this section

CLASS TIME in minutes:
(net EXCLUDES introduction, breaks,
meals and subjects not directly
related to the course)

TOTAL NET
class time class time

Describe or attach instructor criteria:
(Do NOT include individual biography or resume)

Describe or attach method used to verify attendance:

Part 3-Certification (required for all applications)

| certify that | have read the current Continuing Education Provider information on the OFIS website at michigan.gov/OFIS (use left navigation to go to Licensing/Education/
Insurance Continuing Education. | certify that this application with supporting documentation is complete and correct.

Signature ‘ Date signed Signer's name and title (type or print)

PA 1 of 1992 requires submission of this form to request approval for continuing education providers and courses. Failure to properly complete or file this form could result in denial of approval and forfeiture of fees.



FIS 0406 (2/07) Office of Financial and Insurance Services Page 3 of 3

Use this checklist to assure that your filing is complete
Keep this page for your records

ALL APPLICATIONS for COURSE APPROVAL must include ONE
ORIGINAL AND ONE COMPLETE COPY of the following:

]

Properly completed and signed Form FIS 0406 Application for Continuing
Education Course/Provider Approval (pages 1 and 2)

Sample of Certificate of Completion

Summary of course purpose/objectives

Table of Contents with page allocations for self-study programs

Content outline with time allocated to each detailed segment

Sample promotional materials

Bibliography

Instructor criteria for classroom

Test security procedures for self-study

Sign-in/out sheet that includes: Provider name and number, course name and
number, credit hours, date offered, attendee name and system ID number,
time each specific attendee signed in and out, and attendee’s signature (see
example below).

N

Also include ONLY ONE of the following:

Form FIS 0407 Payment Sheet for Continuing Education properly completed,
accompanied by payment for total amount of fees due. Attach to front of your
application filing.

]

Remember to include TWO COPIES of each application and supporting documentation. Enclose payment and ONE Payment Card, properly completed.
We cannot process your application without these items.

Example Sign-in/Sign-out sheet for CE course providers
Design a similar personalized sign-in/sign-out sheet to meet OFIS requirements

Sample Educational Ventures LLC
Michigan Provider number 5555

Course name: Insurance Ethics Principles and Case Studies
Course number: 99999

CE approved hours: 1

Date offered: 02/02/2006

Attendee name Li System IO/ Time IN Time OUT Attendee Signature
icense Number
Imov Saumple 0055555 8:30 AM 9:30 AM 4%& fd/f(,ﬁ/&

- » Michigan Department of Labor & Economic Growth
m Ei.([—;! The Department of Labor & Economic Growth will not discriminate against any individual or group because of race, sex, sexual orientation, religion, age, national origin, color, marital

status, political beliefs or disability. If you need help with reading, writing, hearing, efc., under the Americans with Disabilities Act, you may make your needs known to this agency.
Visit OFIS online at: www.michigan.gov/ofis Phone OFIS toll-free at: 1-877-999-6442

Mishigan Dopartment of
Labor & Ecentmic Growth
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