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The Three Types of Collision Coverage 
 
 IF YOU WANT YOUR INSURANCE TO PAY 
FOR DAMAGES TO YOUR CAR IN CASE OF 
AN ACCIDENT, YOU MUST BUY THE 
OPTIONAL COLLISION COVERAGE.   
 
 Michigan law requires you to have no-fault auto 
insurance, which provides 3 basic coverages:  
 
1. Medical expenses, payment of lost wages, and 

replacement services if you are hurt in an 
accident  

2. Payment for damage your car does to 
someone else’s property, other than a car; and  

3. Payment in case you are sued and found liable 
for injury to others.   

 
 You are not required to buy collision coverage.  
However, a lender may require you to purchase 
collision coverage before giving you a car loan. 
 
 There are three basic types of collision 
coverage: limited, standard and broad form.  The 
chart on the next page of this sheet tells you what 
you can receive with each type of collision 
coverage if your car is damaged in an accident.  
In Michigan, each driver’s insurance covers 
damage to his or her own car. 
 
When you apply for auto insurance: 
 
1. The company or agent must offer you 

collision coverage and give you a CLEAR 
WRITTEN EXPLANATION of the 
different types available to you. 

 
2. The company or agent must give you a form 

on which you accept or reject collision 
coverage IN WRITING.  This form MUST 
TELL YOU WHAT YOUR RIGHTS ARE if 
your car is damaged in an accident under the 
type of collision coverage you choose. 

 
DEDUCTIBLES 
 Collision coverage is often offered with a 
deductible.  A deductible is the amount you agree 
to pay for damages to your car before the 
insurance company pays anything.  You do not 
have to pay the deductible if you have broad form 
collision coverage and are 50% or less at fault in 
the accident.  Deductibles vary from $50 to $250 
or more. The higher the deductible, the lower the 
cost of your collision coverage. 
 
 REMEMBER, you do not have to buy 
collision insurance.  IF YOU DO NOT, and you 
have an accident, YOU WILL HAVE TO PAY 
FOR THE DAMAGES TO YOUR CAR, 
EVEN IF YOU ARE NOT AT FAULT in the 
accident. You can, however, sue the at-fault 
driver to recover up to $1,000 for damages to 
your car which he or she caused and which are 
not covered by your insurance.  The at-fault 
driver is the one who is more than 50% the cause 
of the accident.  For more information on this part 
of the law, see the Insurance Counselor “Mini-
Tort: An Exception to No-Fault.” 
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 If you have questions about your auto 
insurance, talk to your agent or company.  If your 
questions are not answered, contact the 
Department of Insurance and Financial Services 

(DIFS) at the address or telephone number below.  
DIFS is the state department that regulates 
insurance in Michigan. 
 

 
The Three Types of Collision Coverage 

 Michigan law requires you to have no-fault automobile insurance on your car.  If you have an 
accident, this required insurance pays for injuries to people and for damages your car does to other 
people’s property and to properly parked cars.  IT DOES NOT PAY FOR ANY OTHER DAMAGE TO 
CARS.  You must buy collision coverage if you want coverage for damage to your car in case of an 
accident.  The other drivers’ insurance will not pay for damage to your car. 
 
 There are three kinds of collision insurance you can choose from: limited, standard, and broad form.  
The chart tells you when each kind of insurance will pay YOU if your car is damaged in an accident.  
Your collision coverage will not cover damage to the other driver’s car. 
 
 REMEMBER, you are not required by law to have collision insurance, BUT YOU MUST HAVE 
COLLISION INSURANCE IF YOU WANT INSURANCE TO PAY FOR DAMAGES TO YOUR 
CAR RESULTING FROM AN ACCIDENT. 
 

 
 
If your vehicle is damaged in 
an accident and you have this 
kind of collision coverage. 
 
 
 
 

 
Nature of Accident 

 
You are MORE THAN 50% 
at fault (you hit a tree, a 
person, another vehicle, etc.) 

 
You are 50% OR LESS at fault 
(you are rear-ended, side-swiped, 
etc.) 

 
No Collision Coverage 
 
 
 

 
Your insurance pays nothing.  
You are responsible for the cost 
of repairs to your car. 

 
Your insurance pays nothing.  You 
are responsible for the cost of 
repairs to your car.* 

 
Limited Collision Coverage 
 
 
 
 
 

 
Your insurance pays nothing.  
You are responsible for the cost 
of repairs to your car. 

 
Your insurance pays.  If you have 
chosen a deductible, your insurance 
pays the cost of repairs over and 
above the deductible.  You must pay 
the deductible. 

 
Standard Collision Coverage 
 

 
Your insurance pays, except the 
deductible that you have chosen.  
You must pay the deductible. 

 
Your insurance pays, except the 
deductible that you have chosen.  
You must pay the deductible. 

 
Broad Form Collision 
Coverage 
 

 
Your insurance pays, except the 
deductible that you have chosen.  
You must pay the deductible. 

 
Your insurance pays.  You do not 
have to pay the deductible. 
 

 
* You may be able to collect up to $1,000 from the other driver under the “mini-tort” provision of the 

no-fault law.  For more information, see the Insurance Counselor on mini-tort.  
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