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Insurance Policies and How to Claim What is Yours 
 
If your house burns down, your car is wrecked, or 
your stereo is stolen, you may be able to make a 
claim against your insurance policy.  There are 
rights available to you under Michigan’s “Uniform 
Trade Practices Act.” 

Your insurance company must do the 
following things: 

1. Tell you exactly what information it needs to 
handle your claim. The company must tell you 
this within 30 days after you have let the 
company know about your loss. 
 

2. Tell you what coverages in your insurance 
policy apply to your claim. 

 
3. Pay the part of your claim that is backed up by 

proof, and pay the rest when proper evidence 
is sent to them. A company cannot hold back 
payment under one part of the coverage so 
that you will settle with them on another part of 
the coverage. 
 

4. Pay you within 60 days after you have given 
the company all the information it asked you 
for to back up your claim.  If the company 
doesn’t pay you within that time, it may have to 
start paying you 12 percent simple interest on 
the amount it owes you. 
 

5. Give you an explanation if your claim is denied, 
or partly denied, or if you are offered a 
compromise settlement. 
 

6. Promptly answer any questions you have 
about your claim. 

 
 
 
 
 
Along with your rights as an insurance 

policyholder, you have the following 
responsibilities: 

 
1. Contact with your insurance company or 

agent right away when you have a claim. 
 
2. Take reasonable actions to minimize the 

loss or damage, such as boarding up or 
covering a damaged window or roof or 
replacing a broken lock.  
 

3. Give the company any reasonable 
information that it asks for as proof of 
your claim and cooperate with the 
company, as required by the policy. 

 
Call your agent if you have insurance claim 
questions: 
If you have a question about your claim, first 
contact your agent or company.  If they cannot 
answer your question, contact the Department 
of Insurance and Financial Services (DIFS) at 
the address shown below.  DIFS is the state 
government department that regulates 
insurance in Michigan. 
 
About DIFS  
The mission of the Michigan Department of 
Insurance and Financial Services is to ensure 
access to safe and secure insurance and 
financial services fundamental for the 
opportunity, security and success of Michigan 
residents, while fostering economic growth and 
sustainability in both industries. In addition, the 
Department provides consumer protection, 
outreach, and financial literacy and education 
services to Michigan citizens. For more 
information please contact DIFS at 877-999-
6442 or visit www.michigan.gov/DIFS 

http://www.michigan.gov/DIFS
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