
Michigan Department of State 
Business Licensing Section 
Lansing, Michigan 48918 

 

I,  as    
(Name) (Title) 

of  , hereby certify that I have discontinued 
(Name of Dealership) 

business as a Michigan Vehicle Dealer, under Dealer License No.  , effective  . 
(Date) 

I further certify that I will dispose of all vehicles, with the assistance of the Secretary of State that was in our 
inventory under this license.  These will be: 

 Sold at wholesale; and/or 
 Titled and registered to me with the proper amount 

of sales tax paid. 

I further certify that I have surrendered: 

 My dealer wall license; and 
 All dealer plates (listed below) assigned under this 

license; and 
 All remaining temporary registrations. 

These have been surrendered to the following representative of the Michigan Department of State: 
 
 The Secretary of State branch office located at  on  . 

(Location) (Date) 

OR 
 Office of Investigative Services Investigator on  . 

(Name of Investigator) (Date) 

OR 
 The Office of Investigative Services, Lansing, Michigan on  . 

(Date) 

List below all dealer plates that were assigned to your dealership and have been surrendered to the above: 
 

 
 
 

I am presently unable to locate plate number(s)  . 
These dealer plates will be surrendered immediately to the Department of State, should they be recovered. I 
certify that I have reported these plates as lost or stolen to a local police agency. 

My records will be available for inspection at  . 
(Address) (City) 

 

I certify that I am surrendering my dealer license as of this date, and that all the statements I have made herein are true and 
accurate to the best of my knowledge. I further certify I understand that, according to Section 257.248 of the Michigan Vehicle 
Code, selling 5 or more vehicles in a calendar year meets the definition of a dealer.  A fine of $5,000 for a first offense and 
$7,500 for a second offense of selling vehicles without a dealer license can be imposed for acting as a dealer without an 
active Michigan vehicle dealer license. 

Signed, X    
(Signature and Title) 

   
(Date) 

 

(Rev.01/2019) 
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