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January 31, 2022 

Why was the Michigan K-12 School Setting Guidance updated, and what are the key updates? 
The CDC recently updated its isolation and quarantine recommendations for K-12 school settings based 
on updated science and research about the COVID-19 virus and to maintain alignment with updates 
made to general population isolation and quarantine guidance. CDC and Michigan Department of Health 
and Human Services (MDHHS) continue to recommend indoor masking in K-12 schools for all individuals 
ages 2 years and older, including students, teachers, staff, and visitors, regardless of vaccination status. 
 
Michigan is committed to continuing to follow best practices and science to support a safe and healthy 
environment for our students, teachers, and staff. Key MDHHS guidance updates include: 

− Updating of isolation and quarantine guidance to align with the CDC. 
− CDC K-12 isolation and quarantine guidance also now applies to teachers and staff exposed in a 

school setting, in addition to students. 
− Updates to Test to Stay option and inclusion of Mask to Stay option. 

 
Who does this guidance apply to? 
This guidance is specific to K-12 school setting exposures. It now applies to students, teachers and staff 
members. This guidance does not apply to household or community exposures. If a student, teacher or 
staff member is identified as a close contact from a community and/or household exposure they should 
follow general public guidance for isolation and quarantine. This guidance does not apply to 
childcare/pre-k settings or higher education settings. Additional guidance for these congregate like 
settings is expected from the CDC in the near future.  
 
Who should quarantine after an exposure linked to a school setting? 
Students, teachers, and staff who are identified as a close contact of another student, teacher or staff 
member who is positive for COVID-19 should quarantine with a few exceptions. Exceptions include: 
individuals who are up to date with recommended vaccinations, or have a positive test result for COVID-
19 in the last 90 days, may continue to stay in school provided they wear a mask. All other exposed 
individuals who are identified as a close contact* should quarantine using one of the following options: 

− Home quarantine for days 1-5, if feasible (an individual has access to a test and wants to test) test 
on day 5, and “Mask to Stay” for days 6-10, or 

− “Test to Stay”* for days 1-6 AND “Mask to Stay” for days 1-10; or 
− Home quarantine for days 1-10 if unable/unwilling to mask 

* Close contact is defined as being within 6 feet of a person who is infected with COVID-19 for a 
cumulative total of 15 minutes in a 24-hour period. 
Note: Administration and Staff of K-12 settings should also adhere to provisions and requirements as contained 
in Public Act 238 of 2020. 
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http://www.michigan.gov/Coronavirus
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/community/schools-childcare/k-12-contact-tracing/about-quarantine.html
http://www.michigan.gov/containcovid
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http://www.legislature.mi.gov/(S(f3wcnpcjukdyk5jeja1iubpe))/printDocument.aspx?objectName=mcl-Act-238-of-2020&version=txt
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How can these quarantine guidelines be implemented in special needs/education settings? 
Education partners should make reasonable modifications to their policies, where possible. Schools can 
consider alternate and enhanced methods of protection such as face shields, plexiglass dividers, 
increased distancing between students and staff within a room, smaller class sizes, cohorting, increased 
ventilation, more frequent testing for staff and/or students as feasible, etc. In addition, Individualized 
Education Program (IEP) teams may consider adding a goal for increased mask tolerance and, until that 
goal is achieved, adding an accommodation so the student will enter the hallways (changing 
classes/entering and exiting the building) a few minutes either before or after large masses of students 
do so, to limit unmasked exposure, by and to the unmasked student. 
 
If a close contact in quarantine is unable or unwilling to wear a well-fitting face mask, what 
course of action is recommended?  
To continue to support a safe and healthy school-setting, it is recommended that students, teachers, and 
staff who should quarantine and who will not or cannot wear a well-fitting face mask should complete 
their full quarantine period at home.  

− This would be at-home quarantine for 10 days past the last day of exposure to a COVID-19 
positive individual.  

− These students, teachers and staff would still be recommended to be tested on day 5 of their 
quarantine period, but should remain home if unable or unwilling to wear a mask. 

− Day 0 is counted as the last day of contact with the COVID-19 positive individual. 
 
The recommendation would be similar for a student, teacher or staff who tests positive for COVID-19 in 
isolation– whether with or without symptoms. If unable or unwilling to wear a face mask, the student, 
teacher or staff should complete the full isolation period at home.  

− This would be 10 days past the first day that symptoms begin or 10 days past the day the test was 
taken for those without symptoms.  

− Day 0 is the day symptoms started, or if no symptoms, the date of the positive COVID-19 test. 
 
What qualifies as improvement in symptoms for an individual with COVID-19 to return to school 
under this guidance? 
Individuals in isolation should be fever-free for 24 hours without the use of fever-reducing medications 
with symptoms improving. If fever is present, or other symptoms are not improving or are increasing in 
severity remain in home isolation. 
 
“Well-fitting mask” is referenced in both the isolation/quarantine guidance. What is considered an 
appropriate and effective “well-fitting mask.”? 
A well-fitting mask adheres to the side of your face and covers your nose and mouth. A KN95 or similar 
mask is the recommended choice in congregate or high-transmission settings, such as schools. The best 
mask is the most protective mask, that will be worn consistently and fits properly. 

Additional guidance to help choose the most effective face mask can be found at Michigan.gov/MaskUp. 
 
 

http://www.michigan.gov/Coronavirus
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/symptoms-testing/symptoms.html
http://www.michigan.gov/maskup
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Should students or staff test to return to school and school activities following an isolation 
period? 
The MDHHS does not recommend testing on day 6 if a person has a confirmed case of COVID-19 and 
has been in home isolation for days 0-5 if that person is able to wear a well-fitting mask through day 10 
of isolation. Those staff or children who are unable or unwilling to wear a well-fitting mask over their 
mouth and nose should remain home through day 10; no additional test is recommended for return 
after the isolation period. 
 
If an individual has access to a test and wants to test, the best approach is to use an antigen test on day 
6. Collect the test sample only if fever-free for 24 hours without the use of fever-reducing medication and 
other symptoms have improved (loss of taste and smell may persist for weeks or months after recovery 
and need not delay the end of isolation). If your test result is positive, you should continue to isolate until 
day 10.  
 
Are immunocompromised individuals eligible for the 5-day isolation? 
People who are severely ill or have weakened immune systems may remain infectious for a longer period 
of time and should isolate for at least 10 and up to 20 days. People who are severely ill or have weakened 
immune systems should consult with their healthcare provider to determine the appropriate duration of 
isolation.  
 
This guidance uses the phrase “up to date on vaccination” opposed to “fully vaccinated” – why did 
that change? 
“Up to date on vaccination” means a person received all recommended COVID-19 vaccines, including any 
booster dose(s) when eligible. This better aligns with CDC language and guidance. K-12 School settings 
include individuals of all ages and as such guidance and recommended vaccination series may be 
different across all individuals in a school setting. See the table on page six for full details about when a 
person is up to date on vaccinations. 
 
What is “Test to Stay” and how has this changed in the new guidance? 
Test to Stay is an option available to students, teachers, and staff who are identified as a close contact in 
a school-setting and are required to quarantine. To minimize impact to school operations and missed 
school days while also maintaining a safe and healthy environment, a student, teacher, or staff may test 
every other day for 6 days (previous guidance included 7 days) following their exposure and when paired 
with consistent and correct use of a well-fitting mask they can remain in school and not be excluded 
during the quarantine period.  
 
Test to Stay can only be used for students, teachers, and staff who are a school-associated close contact 
and remain symptom-free during their quarantine period. It does not apply if the exposure was from a 
household contact.  
 
  

http://www.michigan.gov/Coronavirus
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/hcp/testing-overview.html
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/vaccines/stay-up-to-date.html#:%7E:text=Up%20to%20date%20means%20a,series%20of%20COVID%2D19%20vaccines.
https://www.cdc.gov/media/releases/2021/s1217-Test-To-Stay.html
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What is “Mask to Stay” and is that new to this guidance? 
Mask to Stay is the consistent and correct use of a well-fitting mask by students, teachers, and staff when 
around others and in school and public settings during a quarantine period after having been identified 
as a close contact.  

For students, teachers and staff who are identified as a close contact, mask to stay can shorten the at 
home quarantine period to 5 days after exposure by the student, teacher or staff wearing a mask in 
school for days 6 through 10. Additionally, when paired with the “Test to Stay” approach it can eliminate 
out of school time and the need for at home quarantine all together.  
 
Mask to Stay can only be used for students, teachers, and staff who remain symptom free during their 
quarantine period.  
 
What lunch and recess considerations should be given to students, teachers and staff that are 
using the “Test to Stay” and/or “Mask to Stay” options during their quarantine period? 
K-12 School Administrators should continue to support layered prevention and mitigation strategies in all 
school settings. Vaccination, ventilation, and social distancing as is feasible during periods of the school 
day when masking may be relaxed continue to be important ways to lower the risk of COVID-19 
transmission for students, teachers, and staff. Universal masking is recommended by the CDC and 
MDHHS in all public settings, including schools, regardless of vaccination status in areas of high COVID-19 
transmission.  
 
The school should ensure that there is a plan for people identified as close contacts to stay masked at all 
times indoors until 10 full days after their last close contact to someone with COVID-19. Day 0 is the last 
day of contact with the COVID-19 positive individual. During times in the school day when students or 
staff members may typically remove masks indoors (such as during lunches, snacks, band practice, etc.), 
have a plan for them to adequately distance from others and ensure they wear their masks when not 
actively participating in these activities (such as when they are not eating). 
 
Why Did the CDC Update its Isolation & Quarantine Guidance for the General Population? 
CDC has continued to review isolation and quarantine recommendations for various populations 
throughout the course of the COVID-19 pandemic. Accumulating evidence demonstrates the majority of 
transmission occurs during the early periods of infection. In just a few weeks, Omicron has become a 
dominant virus strain due to the highly transmissible nature of the variant. These updated 
recommendations come as the Omicron variant is now rapidly spreading throughout the United States 
causing very high case rates. The recommendations reflect the societal impact (e.g., critical infrastructure 
and staffing shortages) and the latest science on disease severity and when and for how long a person is 
maximally infectious. CDC will continue to evaluate these recommendations as more data become 
available.  Additional FAQs for general population Isolation and Quarantine guidance can be found here.  
 
  

http://www.michigan.gov/Coronavirus
https://www.michigan.gov/coronavirus/0,9753,7-406-100997_100998---,00.html
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/community/schools-childcare/k-12-guidance.html#:%7E:text=3.%20Physical%20Distancing
https://covid.cdc.gov/covid-data-tracker/#circulatingVariants
https://covid.cdc.gov/covid-data-tracker/#circulatingVariants
https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/if-you-are-sick/quarantine-isolation-background.html
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How can a school prioritize contact tracing efforts to help with staffing burden and shortages? 
 HIGH PRIORITY 

Focus contact tracing efforts here 
LOW PRIORITY 

Rationale • Locations where multiple 
students and/staff are present for 
sustained periods of time 
AND/OR 

• There is likelihood of close 
contact or inconsistent or no 
mask wearing 

• Locations where students can 
consistently distance and wear 
masks 

• Locations where students and/or 
staff are present briefly or 
transitioning through 

• Outdoor locations 
Examples • Bus rides/route 

• Indoor classrooms where 
students do not consistently wear 
masks (e.g., younger children, 
those with mask exemptions) 

• Health rooms/nurses' office 
• Indoor meal locations 
• Indoor breakrooms and 

workrooms (staff only) 
• Indoor or outdoor school 

affiliated activities, in which there 
are aerosol-generating actions 
taking place (contact sports, 
performing arts, cheer, 
speech/debate, after-school care, 
etc.). These may that take place 
before, during, or after school-
day 

• Indoor classrooms where all 
students are wearing masks 

• Outdoor classrooms 
• Hallway/stairwells and other 

locations used during transition 
periods 

• Restrooms 
• Many outdoor activities or 

locations (skills practice, meals, 
PE, etc.) except for aerosol-
generating activities. 

  

http://www.michigan.gov/Coronavirus
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When a person is up to date 
COVID-19 vaccines are not currently authorized for use or recommended for young children ages 0-4. 
Children ages 5 - 11 
years are up to date: 

Adolescents ages 12 –17 
years are up to date: 

Adults ages 18+ are up to date: 

After receiving two 
doses of Pfizer vaccine. 

Boosters are not 
authorized for use in this 
age group and not 
needed to be considered 
up to date. 

After receiving two doses 
of Pfizer and a booster 
dose when eligible.  

The interval from the two-
dose Pfizer vaccine primary 
series to the booster dose is 
five months. Those in the 
five-month dose waiting 
period are up to date until 
five or more months has 
passed and they become 
eligible for the booster dose. 

After receiving two doses of Pfizer or Moderna and a booster dose when 
eligible.  
The interval from the two-dose Pfizer or Moderna vaccine primary series to the 
booster dose is five months. Those in the five-month dose waiting period are up 
to date until five or more months has passed and they become eligible for the 
booster dose. 

OR 

After receiving a single dose of Johnson & Johnson and a booster* dose 
when eligible. 
The interval from the Johnson & Johnson vaccine to the booster dose is two 
months. Those in the two-month dose waiting period are up to date until two or 
more months has passed and they become eligible for the booster dose. 

When a moderately or severely immunocompromised (IC) person is up to date 

Individuals five years and older who are moderately or severely immunocompromised should get an additional primary dose and a 
booster dose after their primary series. The additional primary dose should be of the same vaccine type (Pfizer or Moderna) given 28 
days after the second dose in their Pfizer or Moderna primary series. 

IC children ages 5 - 11 
years are up to date: 

IC adolescents ages 12 –17 
years are up to date: 

IC adults ages 18+ are up to date: 
 

After receiving two 
doses of Pfizer vaccine 
primary series and one 
additional dose of 
Pfizer vaccine 28 day 
after the primary 
series. 

Boosters are not 
authorized for use in this 
age group and not 
needed to be considered 
up to date. 
 

After receiving two doses 
of Pfizer vaccine primary 
series, one additional dose 
of Pfizer vaccine 28 day 
after the primary series 
and a booster dose when 
eligible.  

The interval from additional 
dose to the booster dose is 
five months. Those in the 
five-month dose waiting 
period are up to date until 
five or more months has 
passed and they become 
eligible for the booster dose. 

After receiving two doses of Pfizer or Moderna vaccine primary series, one 
additional dose of Pfizer or Moderna vaccine 28 day after the primary 
series and a booster dose when eligible.  
The interval from additional dose to the booster dose is five months. Those in 
the five-month dose waiting period are up to date until five or more months has 
passed and they become eligible for the booster dose. 

OR 

After receiving a single dose of Johnson & Johnson and a booster* dose 
when eligible. There is no additional dose recommended for moderately to 
severely immunocompromised individuals who received Johnson & Johnson as 
their primary series. 

The interval from the Johnson & Johnson vaccine to the booster dose is two 
months. Those in the two-month dose waiting period are up to date until two or 
more months has passed and they become eligible for the booster dose.  

* For people who had Johnson & Johnson for their primary series, it is preferred to receive a booster dose of Pfizer or Moderna two months after 
vaccination. The Johnson & Johnson booster is available for those unwilling or unable to receive a Pfizer or Moderna booster dose. 

http://www.michigan.gov/Coronavirus

