Michigan Personal Protective Equipment (PPE) Grant Program

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the PPE Grant Program?

This program allows eligible Michigan health and human services providers to receive grants to cover costs for up to 90 days of PPE for frontline employees. It is funded through a \$25 million allocation from the federal CARES Act. The Michigan Department of Health and Human Services created the grant to help mitigate the financial impact on health and human services providers impacted by COVID-19, and is administered by the Michigan Public Health Institute.

Who are the eligible applicants?

This grant program is open to the following categories of providers, as defined in PA 123 of 2020:

- Long-term care facilities, including nursing facilities, adult foster care, Homes for the Aged, and assisted living facilities
- Dialysis facilities
- · Outpatient facilities collecting diagnostic respiratory specimens
- Dental facilities
- Other outpatient facilities, including primary care, urgent care, specialty clinics, and any other clinician who is not attached to a hospital
- Home health care, including home care provider agencies
- Long-term acute care hospitals
- Emergency medical service providers
- Pharmacies
- Funeral directors and mortuary services
- Residential congregate facilities, including Child Caring Institutions and Supervised Independent Living

All firms must be located in Michigan. Firms headquartered or with operations outside Michigan may apply, but only for employees associated with facilities located in Michigan.

How are the awards calculated?

Award amount is set by a formula per patient/client-facing FTE, adjusted for the typical amount and type of PPE needed in that setting.

- Group 1 facilities receive \$1,000 per frontline FTE
- Group 2 facilities receive \$2,500 per frontline FTE

These amounts are based on expected PPE costs for 90 days per frontline FTE. Total award amounts are capped at \$250,000 per firm.

What employees should be included within frontline and total FTEs?

Total and frontline FTEs may include independent contractors as well as employees. However, independent contractors should only be included in the count if the organization provides PPE for them;

it should not include independent contractors that provide their own PPE. The number of frontline FTEs should include only employees and independent contractors required to wear full PPE provided by the organization to conduct close-contact, client-facing job functions. This number would not include employees such as receptionists who may wear a face mask to speak with members of the public, but are not in close contact with them.

What are Group 1 and Group 2 facilities?

Facilities are grouped together into categories based on the on typical acuity and number of clients or patients served, which affects the total amount of PPE needed daily, and the type of PPE needed (for example, whether N95 masks or surgical masks are used, and if gowns are required).

Group 1 settings:

- Dialysis facilities
- Other outpatient facilities
- Pharmacies
- Funeral directors and mortuary services
- Residential congregate facilities
- Child Caring Institutions
- Supervised Independent Living

Group 2 settings:

- Long-term care facilities
- Outpatient facilities collecting diagnostic respiratory specimens
- Dental facilities
- Home health care
- Long-term acute care hospitals
- Emergency medical service providers

Are payments made as a cash advance or a reimbursement?

Payments are made as a reimbursement to firms receiving awards, based on actual PPE purchasing costs incurred up to the award amount.

What is an eligible purchase?

Purchase must be for PPE to reduce the spread of COVID-19. Eligible products include: surgical masks, filtering facepiece respirators, gloves, gowns, and eye protection. Supplies to not need to be FDA-approved, as medical grade supplies are not mandatory in all scenarios. However, homemade PPE is not covered, and funds may not be used to purchase cleaning supplies or uniforms.

What time period must PPE have been purchased within?

PPE must have been purchased on or after March 1, 2020, and delivered before December 30, 2020. Proof of purchase and delivery will be required.

When is the application period?

The application period will be open until Tuesday, Sept. 8. Awardees will be notified by September 21.

Where do I go to apply?

Applications are available through the following online portal: https://is.gd/COVID_PPEApplication